We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place, Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2008

This place is gorgeous! We had a great stay there in late January 08. Beautiful landscaping and well-planned cabinas with great volcano views.

The front desk and other staff were the friendliest and most helpful we encountered in our stay in Costa Rica. Jesica was so helpful at the front desk. Her English is perfect for those of us who are Espanol-challenged.

The rooms accomodate 2-4 people. They are large, clean, and comfortable with A/C and plenty of hot water. This "hotel" is still fairly new and the rooms still look very nice, although they are best for sleeping, not for hanging out. Each has its own little porch area with table and chairs where you can sit with your coffee in the morning or a bottle of wine in the evening and view the volcano.

It was so pleasant to eat in the open-air restaurant. We enjoyed breakfast there every morning. They even served us breakfast there earlier than normal breakfast hours on a couple of days we had early tours. There is a cooler in the restaurant where you can obtain water, sports drinks, and beer pretty much anytime.

The new hot springs pool in the back of the property is a wonderful addition. Great for relaxing pre-dinner or late evening. We enjoyed watcing the volcano from there. There's usually a staff person out there to make drinks if you want them. When we were there they were still working on the permanent bar to serve the hot springs pool.

Tiki, the owner's black chihuahu, has the run of the place. He's very cute and friendly. He likes to chase and bark at little kids when they run. We had to "save' a little German boy from the ferocious Tiki one afternoon.

The new hotel monstrosity being built next door is an eyesore and a travesty, but other than that it did not bother us. It is STILL under construction so you will hear some construction noise.

We loved Silencio del Campo and highly reommend it!

  • Liked — Beautiful, well maintained property; great volcano view
  • Disliked — new hotel monstrosity next door
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,454
    297
    41
    5
    4
See reviews for
657
812
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2008

This place was amazing!.. We stayed here last after going to Montezuma and Monteverde.. and it was exactly what we needed.. the place is beautiful and has a really good restaurant on site with free breakfast.. The people at the reception desk are super nice and will call you a cab whenever you want.. The on-site hot springs are so relaxing.. there is some construction going on on the premises and next door at the horrible new hotel.. but it really didnt bother me...
Eco Thermales is definitely the hot springs to go to.. and is very close to Silencio..(5 min walk.. not even)

La Fortuna- the town- is not too great.. I really didn't like it.. The only good place we found to eat is "Lava Lounge".. (really good food).. You really don't need to go to town much.. I would love to go back and just sit in Silencio and in the hot springs..

  • Liked — Hot Springs
  • Disliked — Nothing!.. I guess the construction next door, which is not Silencio's fault
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank evolgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2008

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Silencio del Campo. The rooms were clean and good value for the money. The property itself was very nice. The garden was well manicured.
The food was excellent! the staff was very nice! They definitely added the personal touch to make us feel welcome. The new on-site hot springs were great. We would definitely go back here!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2008

We loved Silencio del Campo! We didn't want to leave. The staff is sweet and capable. They booked all of our tours and activities for us, were responsive over email, etc.

The on-site hot springs are simple, but terrific for a soak (and a drink) at night. They get the water from the same under ground source as Eco Termales. Our first night we went to Eco Termales, and it was just beautiful! Perfect after a long flight and drive. I have to say, Diego and his family have excellent taste. Everything at Silencio has amazing attention to detail. The soft little mushroom lights that light the trails, and the subtle Christmas lights on the roofs of the cottages give a nice ambiance at night.

The rooms were very clean, and the breakfasts were awesome - especially the Typico!

As for the construction - I was worried before we went. I only object to the hotel next door ethically. It did not effect my great stay at Silencio. Honestly, every morning of my stay in Costa Rica birds woke me up at dawn. The one morning we slept in a little at Silencio with no activities planned, I got up when the birds started chirping, closed the windows and turned on the a/c. I never heard any construction.

Silencio is a great experience. We stayed at fancier places in Costa Rica, but none left me smiling as much as Silencio.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newsconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2008

Everything about this place was very nice - great rooms, great price, awesome breakfast, convenient location and free use of thier hot springs too! very helpful staff !

we spent most of the day away doing activities - so didn't hear any constuction - but the new hotel next door isn't a pleasant site - but that doesnt take away from this hotel. We also spent a night at Lomas del Volcan - it was nice too - but this place was better.

  • Liked — Food, Hotsprings, cocktails at the hotsprings
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank let_jar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2008

Pros:
Very clean spacious bungalow
Cable TV with English stations
Very nice set of pools
Immaculate gardens and setting
Helpful staff
Easy parking

Cons:
Loud construction next door from a megahotel going up

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wewuzthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2008

My husband and I returned from a trip through Costa Rica and Silencio del Camp was one of our favorite places to stay. Beautiful grounds, cozy and spacious cabinas, and a lovely staff of individuals made all the difference at this one of a kind place. The place is like a mini paradise for those on a budget. Our cabina, number 8, had a great view of the volcano, which we did see in its entirety once the clouds cleared. The breakfast, which was included, was delicious and filling. You could choose between a typical breakfast of tortillas, rice and beans, eggs, coffee, juice, and fruit, or a more American breakfast with pancakes or french toast. Very tasty! The staff arranged wonderful tours for us, including Eco Termales, which of all the hot springs was the most natural and relaxing. Great dinner there too! We also did the Eco Glide, on the recommendation of the hotel and felt very safe on the ziplines. We had to cancel another tour the hotel arranged due to my husband being sick, but the hotel handled it graciously and for that we were very grateful. This area of Costa Rica is exquisitely beautiful and so unusual in that you get to see red lava flowing from a volcano at night. Incredible! We loved our stay at Silencio del Campo and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Liked — The location, staff, and beauty
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing