We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I didn't know what to expect, but this hotel far exceeded my expectations. We had a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children). Our room was perfect for us. It was so peaceful and quiet. The kids and us especially enjoyed the hot springs. I could have eaten their breakfast (included) for 3 meals a day. So fresh! The staff welcomed the kids and even made them hot chocolate. I didn't want to leave and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haygirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with all of us based on your recent experience at El Silencio del Campo. Our staff is glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And glad to find out that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you very much for the nice comments on the hot springs and the breakfast you had every morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at Hotel El Silencio del Campo and were so impressed! Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and the in-room fridge was nice to have for storing drinks and snacks. All of the staff we encountered were really friendly, responsive and professional, and were glad to help us out with whatever we needed. The grounds are lush and beautiful, with a great view of the Arenal volcano. We very much enjoyed milking the cows, seeing all of the baby animals at the farm, watching all of the colorful birds feast on fruit put out by the staff, and sitting in the pools and hot springs. The free breakfast was excellent.

It was a serene and lovely place, and is ideal for those that are looking for a quieter, relaxing, family-friendly place to stay. Highly Recommend!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are pretty comparable. It's not a huge place, but The higher numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking some of your time to share your experience at El Silencio. We are happy to find out that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing us and giving us the opportunity to serve you and for the beautiful comments on the grounds, the hot springs, the farm and the service provided by our staff during your visit. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in May and couldn't have been happier. All the private cabina's were spacious and each came with a view of Arenal from the front patio. The grounds were lovely and the onsite animal farm was an extra bonus. The staff were awesome especially Jose at the hot springs bar. The breakfast was included with the room and was excellent and we had one of our best dinner's in Costa Rica at the hotel Restaurant. Overall this was one of the best hotels I've ever visited.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for the beautiful and helpful feedback based on your recent hotel experience.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the hot springs, the bartender treat. and we also appeciate your nice comments on the breakfast and the dinner. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve during your stay and for choosing us as one of your destinations in Costa Rica. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We wish that we could give this hotel more than 5 stars! We stayed here for 4 nights last week and our stay was absolutely phenomenal! The rooms are very private and well spaced so you are not close to any of your neighbors. The cabins with the private front patio are very private and provide fantastic views of the Arenal volcano. It rained almost every night that we were there, but the mornings were beautiful and we were fortunate to get some clear views of the Volcano. The rooms are very clean with comfortable beds and nice powerful air conditioners.

We loved to begin our days with the delicious breakfast and end the day in the absolutely stunning hot springs! Absolutely loved the Gallo Pinto here!!! Mucho gracias to the chef! :)..There are total of 6 hot springs in the property and we were always able to find a hot spring with no one else using it. It was like having our own private hot spring, and we absolutely did not feel the need to pay money and visit the more commercial hot springs around.

A big shout to Eliomar! He was amazing in helping us plan the trip through emails before we got there and was also able to help us in planning various tours after we got there. Wendy and Umberto at the front desk are great too! Wendy - We were not able to do the river drift tour this time but we will definitely save it for the next time! :)..We loved chatting with Jose at the bar as he prepared some delicious cocktails for us! Like many others here..we definitely recommend his pina colada!! You HAVE to try it!! He is great to talk to and we also ate a dinner by the bar. They were very quick in getting the food from the restaurant to the bar.

Last but not the least, you have to experience the SPA here. It is pricey, yes...but the location and the services are fantastic! My wife did the free volcanic mud facial that we were offered during check in. She loved it so much ..that she made me do it too..and yeah, It was amazing. We both loved it so much that we went back and got a full body swedish massage. The therapists, Jasmina and Yeraldine are very good and we loved the massage listening to the sounds of nice waterfalls and chirping birds. We also were offered wine after the massage and that was a very nice touch. The open-air spa is truly wonderful at this property and the beautiful gardens here cannot be beat! We loved watching the birds at the special fruit tree while eating breakfast and I got some amazing pictures on my camera.

We miss this place already..and cannot wait to plan our next trip here. We came back with some great memories of this place! The staff here is excellent and please keep continue doing the great job...! Pura Vida!! :)

Room Tip: Room #20 has an amazing view of the volcano when visible. The bed is very comfortable and the AC is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We enjoyed Reading your review based on your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you very much for your time in sharing with all of us such detailed comments.

We are happy to learn that you had a very pleasant stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Next time you come to Costa Rica, we are hoping you give us another oppprtunity to serve you and we will be pleased to help you book the sky river drift.

Thank you very much for your choosing us as one of your destinations during your visit to Costa Rica and for being part of El Silencio del Campo Family. Look forward to welcoming you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for 4 days in March 2014 - the cabina was perfect and spacious! The hotel grounds were absolutely gorgeous and well kept. We were in the hot springs a couple hours each day - they were never crowded - most of the time it was just us. Our stay came with a free volcanic mud facial which was superb. We were having issues getting ahold of the person who set up our activities. They were local and had a local Costa Rican phone # - we had to go to the front desk each time to call them - the man at the front desk who was our waiter the night before - seemed annoyed every time we needed to use the phone - we would have paid whatever amount it was - $ is not the issue. We were in another country and I found it quite rude that we were treated as if were bothering the front desk or asking them to go out of their way to do something which seemed so small. Thankfully the hotel grounds and hot springs made up for the way some of the staff acted. I would definitely stay here again - we travel to CR every March, but because of the customer service may look elsewhere if we return to this area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stenigmaphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments based on your recent stay at El Silencio. All the comments will help us mprove every day.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the hot springs and volcanic mud mask given by the hotel.

We appreciate very much your comment on the front desk person. We got surprised with it as our receptionists like to help our visitors and give them the better infrmation as posible but we apologize for this inconvenience you encountered.

We've addressed this complain not only to the receptionist in charge that day but also to the other ones so they pay more attention to the service which is something we work on every day.

Thank you again for the feedback and we are hoping this doesn't tarnish your wish to make it back one more time one day in the near future to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you don’t like big hotels and enjoy privacy in a beautiful setting, El Silencio is a great option. The rooms are really individual cabins with lots of space to relax. This hotel would be a great set-up for families.

Our room (#22) looked right up at the Arenal volcano and it looked as if all rooms were oriented for the same view. There’s even a small outside patio where you can enjoy the view…although we took full advantage of the air conditioning!

The complex has a series of small hot spring pools, which were delightful. We found this a great alternative to the crowded and expensive spas in the area.

The service in the bar was great and in the restaurant it was just okay. They seem best set up for breakfast (which is very good). The staff were polite but not terribly efficient. Music from the bar was a bit loud as we could hear it inside our room.

Overall, we’d likely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CK_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing with all of us your comments based on your recent stay at El Silencio.
We are glad to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable but we also thank you for feedback on the service and the music coming from the bar. Our apologies for the inconveniences you encountered.

We already took action on these issses so this doesn't get repeated again and we've shown your comments to our bartender and waiter at the restaurant so they can be aware of it as our main priority is our client's satisfaction.

Thank you very much for choosing us as one of your destinations during your visit to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience at the Hotel Silencio. It was definitely a great value. The hotel was located in the heart of the arenal area facing the volcano. The hotel was very private and quaint since each room was a stand alone cabin and there were no more than 30
Rooms. The hotel did not advertise that there is a farm on the premises with cattle, goats and chickens. It was a nice surprise. We were able to milk the cows and feed the goats which was a fun experience. In addition, the hotel offered me a complimentary facial at their spa which was a big plus.

The free breakfast was made to order and was delicious!

The staff was so friendly and helpful, especially Eliomar! We had such a pleasant stay and would definitely recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BYSuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your time in sharing your comments regarding your visit at El Silencio. Our hotel has a total of 23 villas and allf of them with a small patio right outside with a small table and chairs to talk, play or why not seeing the Arenal Volcano.

We are so pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and we are hoping you come visit us again next trip to Costa Rica. Thank you so much for choosing us one of your destinations during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,531 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £140 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing