We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Believe the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Like so many others have already said, Silencio del Campo is a peaceful paradise. The rooms are clean and spacious (ours had 3 beds and still plenty of space). The gardens are beautiful with lots of wildlife (landscaping almost hides the monster hotel next door- you really don't notice it unless you're at the cold pool looking directly at it). The hot springs are awesome and we had them to ourselves most of the stay.

But what really made this stay special was the service. When we arrived we immediately wanted to try out the hot springs. We stepped out the door and it was raining (pretty typical). One of the staff was walking by with an umbrella and he just gave it to me and walked off into the rain! That night we made some cocktails in the room. We didn't have any ice and so I called the front desk to ask if there was an ice machine. A few minutes later the security guard showed up at our door with a bucket of ice!

If I make it to Arenal again the only thing I would change is add an extra day. Two nights was enough to see La Fortuna waterfall, spend the day at Tabacon, and relax at the hotel but I wish we had one more day to hike or horseback the trails at Arenal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,453
    297
    41
    5
    4
See reviews for
657
811
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had two nights in the Arenal area, and elected to stay at El Silencio del Campo, primarily because of the TA reviews, and also because of location. We wanted a place with hot springs, so we wouldn't have to go to the local public springs. We were not disappointed. The staff was so friendly; the "cooked to order" breakfast was a wonderful (fresh fruit, fresh eggs, fresh everything!) start to our days; and the hot springs were wonderful! Each room is an individual bungalow with a little porch - great for late nite wine! We had gorgeous views of the volcano from our front door (unit #14?). My regret? That we didn't have time tos take advantage of facials at the spa.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy_Did0960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights at El Silencio del Campo and could not have been more impressed. The villas are beautiful - we stayed in #20, which is towards the back of the property. It was very spacious, gorgeously decorated, impeccably clean, and so pleasant to come back to after a day of excursions. We were close to the spa and hot springs, and farther away from the main road, which was nice.
The free breakfasts were delicious - I have never liked corn tortillas, but the ones that came with my typical gallo pinto meal were absolutely wonderful.
The free facial was luxurious and so relaxing. I couldn't get over how beautiful and peaceful the spa area was. I wish we had had the time for full massages.
I was disappointed to not have the time to go milk the cows - I think it is incredible that the eggs, milk, and cheese you eat in their restaurant come from their own farm. Couldn't be fresher!
The springs were amazing and we had no problem getting one all to ourselves on the 2 nights we used them. So glad to not have to spend $$ going somewhere just for the springs.

All of that said, we were the most impressed with the staff.
Jose (the now famous bartender), is such a personable and great guy - we enjoyed chatting with him and sampling his creations. LOVED the virgin pina colada.
The reception staff are AMAZING. So helpful and friendly, and they remember everything! They would ask about our excursions at the end of the day - and even know where we went. How they keep track of that with all the guests, I don't know. Remarkable. The level of coordination and communication between the staff seemed flawless.
On our final day, our tour pick-up was at 5:30 am, before breakfast opened. Knowing this, they had fresh fruit and sandwiches sent to our room the night before so we could have breakfast.

We loved El Silencio del Campo and hope to return someday. Top Notch Hotel!

Room Tip: Lower numbers are closer to restaurant and reception, higher numbers are closer to springs and spa a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bekita21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We took this vacation while my wife was still studying and needed a break from all the stress. Costa Rica and El Silencio Del Campo proved to be a perfect choice.

“Welcome to El Silencio Del Campo. Please take your welcome drink and we are delighted to have you” were the first words with a smile from the staff when we checked in on the first day. The fresh “real” fruit juice was great and everything else following that was even better from the resort point of view.

All the cottages were rightly spaced to give privacy while not making them completely secluded from the others. The car parking and swimming pool were just a short walk from most of the rooms. The front porch of our cottage with patio furniture was great to just sit and relax while reading a book and watching the peak of the Arenal volcano (or YouTube videos on your tablet over the free Wi-Fi :-)). The room decor was in perfect harmony with the surroundings.

Following are some of the notable points about the resort
- Natural beauty within and surrounding the resort was gorgeous
- Our cottage had a direct view of Arenal volcano
- The whole resort was impeccably maintained
- The natural hot water spring in the resort premises was a great addition
- The staff was genuinely cordial and very helpful
- The food in the resort restaurant was fantastic
- A short drive or a decent walk to the town where one can shop and dine
- Possibility to book various tours right from the resort with the help of the friendly resort staff

Food:
The restaurant within the resort had great food with fresh fruit and fresh fruit juices (totally natural without any sugar added). The food was so good and fresh that we had our breakfast every single day in the restaurant without getting bored. For some of the lunches and dinners, we went into the town and tried different places. The people everywhere were ever friendly and nice.

Tours:
We did zip-lining, horseback riding to “Fortuna falls’ and went on a trip to “Cano Negro”. Zip-lining location in “Arenal Volcano National Park” was a short drive (less than 15 mins) from the resort. Cano Negro was a two hour bus ride from the resort. The bus picked us up from the town and provided a great opportunity to see the real countryside of Costa Rica. For the Fortuna Falls, trip, a van picked us up from the resort and took us to the horse stables. After a decent horseback riding from there, the falls were a trek into a deep valley.

Special Situation:
We initially booked the resort for 5 nights. On the 4th day of our stay (after 3 nights stay), my wife fell off the horse during the horseback riding I mentioned above and broke her arm. After promptly being treated at an Alajuela hospital, we requested the resort to cancel our last night stay as we wanted to go back to San Jose the next day (a day early) and check into a hotel close to the airport. The resort agreed to it without saying a word and refunded our money. They also contacted the horseback riding company and made sure they did not charge us for our trip. If not for this hiccup, our trip was perfect. But all things considered, the situation could have been a lot worse since we were away from a major city in a country where we could not speak the local language.

Bottom line:
In spite of how the trip ended, with my wife getting seriously injured, we still fondly remember our trip to Costa Rica and our stay at El Silencio Del Campo. This is definitely a resort worth considering if you have plans to visit Arenal.

Room Tip: Cottage No. 10 has a great direct view of the Arenal volcano (see photo) and a short walk to the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhaskar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

It took me such a long time to decide on which hotel to stay at, and I was so relieved I chose El Silencio del Campo once we arrived! We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. I wanted somewhere relaxing, beautiful, low-key (not fussy like some hotels), and with helpful, friendly staff. Perfect!

We were greeted with cold fruit smoothies upon arrival. The cabina (#14) was spacious for us and our 2 daughters (ages 10 & 14). Cabina #14 is located close to the middle of the complex, near the pool. It was easy to walk to the hot springs/bar area, spa, and the office/reception area. Yes, there is a big hotel next to El Silencio, but it didn't interfere with our stay at all (no additional noise). We were treated to a beautiful, clear view of the volcano on one of the days we were there--such a treat!

Besides having a spacious, clean room (with a/c--a must!), beautiful grounds, amazing hot springs (we never went to other hot springs...there were plenty at this location, which saved us a lot of money), and a nice cold pool, the real gem of this property is the staff. Everyone who helped us was so friendly and helpful. The employees at the front desk were great helping us decide which activities would be best for our family. They scheduled them at no additional charge. In one case, my daughter & I wanted to go to Proyecto Asis, but upon finding it was $40 each way for a taxi, they told me we could take the taxi to the bus & then the bus to the center for less than half the cost of a taxi.

Jose, the bartender & breakfast server, is a great guy. He helped our girls (and us!) learn a bit of Spanish and was so friendly. He also was very friendly and answered all of our tourist questions! Be sure to ask for him to make a "Natti Colada" for you. It is his special drink, and it's so delicious!

The breakfast that's included with the hotel price is delicious. I didn't think I'd like it, but I loved the typico gallo pinto breakfast. The fresh fruit & juice that comes with the meal are great, too.
Some nights, we ordered dinner from the bar area (we recommend the chicken quesadilla!) instead of going out. It was very low-key, good food, and relaxing.

Our girls also enjoyed milking the cow in the morning, and I enjoyed the free facial (from Jasmina) so much that I booked a massage later that week.

This is one of our favorite hotels of all time!

Room Tip: Like everyone else has said, ask for a room away from the road. We loved #14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was confident that after reading all of the wonderful reviews about Silencio del Campo on TripAdvisor our stay would be enjoyable and I am so glad that I followed the advice of the other reviewers and booked a room here.

The bungalows at Silencio del Campo are a great value. We were only 2 people sharing one, so there was plenty of space. I think 3 or 4 people in one room would still be enough space since the bungalows are actually quite large. Some reviewers have disagreed with this but I think it could be done comfortably.

The hot springs were a great way to unwind after activities or whenever there's a little bit of time to kill in between. For example, we enjoyed them in the morning prior to our flight at Fortuna airport and in between tours on another day. Their proximity to the bungalows made them very desirable to use whenever there was free time in our schedule.

Prior to our arrival, Eliomar was very prompt with emailing us back regarding our tour requests, and we ended up having a KILLER itinerary. For those looking to go to Fortuna and bring their senses of adventure, here's what we did

Day 1: La Fortuna Waterfall (took a cab there - 20 minute ride, then quick 15 minute hike)
Day 2: Sky Walk/Tram/Trek (Ziplining and nature walk in the jungle)
Day 3: Canyoning with Desafio Adventure company (AMAZING!); Arenal Volcano Tour with Canoa Aventura

The staff also recommended some great restaurants for us. We ate lunch on the property after arrival on our first day since we were starving and wanted to get to the waterfall quickly before the park closed. The food for lunch was OK... but the free breakfast was WONDERFUL! We both had the tipico gallo pinto each morning and they provide you with a fresh fruit plate and coffee as soon as you sit down.

On our last morning before our flight to Quepos, we went to the farm to learn how to milk cows, which was a lot of fun! The farmers were very friendly and answered all of our questions about the cows, farming in Costa Rica, etc. We even drank milk straight from the cow (which I know is kind of a health risk but we like to live a little)!

I will also add that we are a gay male couple in our mid-20s and felt that the staff was extremely warm and friendly throughout the duration of our stay. Sometimes this can be a concern in a foreign country (and in the US, too!) but we were very happy with the service of the hotel personnel throughout.

If we find ourselves in Fortuna again, we will absolutely stay here. For the money, Silencio del Campo is a fantastic value.

Room Tip: The lower numbered cabins are closer to the front of the property and the restaurant - higher number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest:
We appreciate very much such beautiful and detailed review. Thank you for your time to share with all of us how pleasant was stay at our hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed everything on the premises and that our staf was able to meet your expectations. We are happy, after reading the reviews, you gave us the opportunity to serve you and your companion. if one day you decide to return to Costa Rica, we will be glad to host you again in our property.
We appreciate the very nice words on the grounds, the hot springs, the food, the staff. Glad to know your tried several excursions and the farm which is something brand new in the hotel. It seems liks people enjoy it a lot. Some just like to go watch and others want to try.
Thank you very much for choosing us as one of your destinations during your stay in Costa Rica!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our family enjoyed our stay here, from the beautiful surroundings of the villas to the breakfast included in your rate. Each villa was offered a complimentary volcano mud facial and the spa was everything I hoped it would be. We saved money by using the hot springs on the property rather than going to a separate hot springs which charges admission. The taxi ride to town is under $10 if you want to have options for lunch or dinner. Villas were clean and beds were comfortable. The only cons I found were the rooms were dark due to all the brown decor and the ugly hotel next door didn't fit in with the beautiful views surrounding the property. Other than that I would recommend this hotel for families that want to stay near activities and restaurants near La Fortuna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friscotex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Your comment is very helpful for us. We are glad to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable. Thank you for the nice comments on the grounds, the hot springs and the breakfast. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We appreciate your suggestions in your feedback. We will take that into consideration. Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we are looking forward to seeing you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing