We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2010

What more can I say that EVERYONE else hasn't already said? Perfect place, perfect stay, excellent staff, beautiful grounds, great food.

Eliomar is tremendous from the time you arrive to the moments after checkout. He is willing to do anything and advise on anything in the area and beyond. No request or change was too small or too large and he did it making you feel like it was minor and his greatest pleasure to help you - like you were their only guest. Humberto was equally as pleasant and willing to assist, we just dealt with Eliomar a bit more on this trip. The food was terrific - I recommend the casados and the pork chops (you could share the pork plate, trust me). The cabin/casita was very comfortable, very quiet. The bird tree is great to watch them feast on bananas and mangos and papaya. We did not get to enjoy the hot springs as much as we wanted to due to we were both burned from our stay in Papagayo, but we did get in it for a little and we were also able to enjoy some pina coladas there as well (they make one of the best I have ever had).

We have kids but did not take them but would recommend you take them here if considering the area. There were a few couples with children and there is plenty to do on the grounds with the dogs and resident parrot as well as beside it with horses and cows. They seemed to really enjoy it as well but most of the time you are wiped out from daily adventures so rest and sleep are in order.

Bottom line: go, stay, and enjoy the time, rest and quiet. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatechfan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,882)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Silencio del Campo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,413 - 1,419 of 1,882 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2010

Though this review is long overdue, I would not be able to plan my next vacatioin without giving El SIlencio del Campo and Eliomar the utmost praise. Not only did this hotel have some of the most amazing grounds, including its own magnificent hot springs, but also the nicest, friendliest, most acommodating staff, including the owner and young woman at the front whose name is escaping me at this moment. We arrived a day late due to some flight difficulties and instead of charging us for a missed day, they offered us the opportunity to stay an extra day. This was such a gracious gesture and was extremely appreciated. The villas were extremely spacious and the breakfast in the morning could not be beat. NO need to visit the other hot springs as they have their own. The waterfall repelling expedition that we biiked with them was also unbelievable. The repelling was one of my favorite activites and proved to be an unforgetable experience (P.S. I am not the most adventurous person out there). I would also recommend the local nightclub which we visited one evening if your in the mood for some dancing. Again, I can not stress how much my boyfriend and I LOVED El Silencio and their staff. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillian08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Great views of Arenal from hotel; hot springs, hot tub, and pool on site; very nice landscaping; easy access to many surrounding sites with short drives; extremely helpful staff; breakfast included and food at restaurant has great local cuisine; offsite Ecoglide zipline was loads of fun (whole family did it and loved it with 6yo and 8yo); 1968 Lava hike nice as well and better than Arenal Hanging Bridges (also nice too); La Fortuna about 1-2 miles away and Catarata (waterfall) La Fortuna was nice hike with fun swimming area; very nice overall; incredible value!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

(4/13 - 16) Hotel Silencio del Campo (SDC) is what Costa Rica is all about. This was the 2nd of the 4 hotels we stayed in during our CR honeymoon and we absolutely loved it. The staff was very friendly - front desk, spa, restaurant they all treat you like family! We were instantly greeted with a smile and received complimentary smoothies upon arrival. Our private cabin was very roomy, high ceilings, King bed, AC, cable tv (no reason to be watching TV but just in case), a romantic closed-in rear porch with Jacuzzi tub, and a spacious shower - great for 2 people :)

The day we arrived we got a couples massage which was incredibly relaxing and very reasonably priced. The staff also helped us book tours, call taxis, confirm interbus reservations etc. You can book all of the tours for less if you do it on your own, but the rooms don't have phones and it's not worth the hassle. If you do take a taxi, make sure to negotiate the price before you get in, they should not charge you more than $6 - 8 to get to most places in Arenal or La Fortuna.

The location is perfect, great view of the volcano (when it's not covered by clouds) and equal distance from the "downtown" and the majority of volcano-related activities. We were annoyed by the obstructed views from the Hotel Royal Corin which is next door. Not a big deal but couldn't they have just built it a few thousand feet to the left? Ok, done whining. At night you will hear all kinds of crazy-*ss birds and frogs that aren't on the standard 'sounds of the amazon' album. It takes time to get used to if you usually fall asleep to passing cars and barking dogs like we do, but it's a welcome change.

SDC has its own mini-hot spring (and a regular pool) which is a great way to start or end any day. You pay at least $50 to even look at a hot spring anywhere else in La Fortuna so it's a nice plus. The rooms, spa, and pools were all very clean. The grounds were carefully manicured, and the way things grow in this area I swear they cut the grass twice a day.

Our favorite part of SDC was the effort they made to use all local ingredients in the restaurant. By local I mean they grow fruits, vegetables and raise Tilapia on the hotel grounds. The breakfast is awesome (and included), lunch and dinner are decent. Menu is not extensive so you may decide to head elsewhere for a little variety.

There is a pond with the aforementioned Tilapia and Costa Rican ducks (If the Turducken was a real animal this is what they would look like). Next to the pond is a pen with two mini-crocodiles. As the story goes when they were building the Royal View Blocker next door, the construction workers found the crocs and wanted to eat them. SDC heard the croc's cry and rescued the twins, built a home for them, and they've lived happily ever after.

SDC is a magical place that allows you to enjoy your natural sorroundings without missing modern conveniences. More importantly you are able to experience everything that Costa Rica has to offer, unlike many of the mega-resorts (see Tabacon, Royal Corin) that are as unique as a trip to McDonald's. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We got to stay 2 nights here. The place is very cute. You have little individual cabins. This place is owned by a costa rican that lives nearby, not a huge corporation, so don't expect branded anything. I think that was what was so refreshing. I have been at dives, 5 star resorts and everything in between. It rained the majority of the time we were there, but it was nice just to sit and listen to the rain, it was light most of the time and would occassionally stop so you can still walk around, go down to the hot spring that is relaxing or just sit on your porch and read.
The place was very clean, the food was delicious and the staff friendly. I even got a free mini facial at night in their little spa tent because we stayed 2 nights. So divine, looked just like a movie set with the candles at night.
We were not able to see the volacano when we stayed because of the cloud cover the entire time, but you can't fault the place for mother nature.
I did see a review were someone complained about the cleanliness of the hot spring. It was surrounded by lush landscaping, and was made to look as natural as possible but still made like a pool. The stones are gray and blue, don't expect it to look like a pool, although they had one of those too and it looked very clean.
We were not able to see the volacano when we stayed because of the cloud cover the entire time, but you can't fault the place for mother nature.
One thing I didn't like is there is a huge hotel that was built right next door that you can see towers over the place. I was going to stay to get away, didn't like looking at something that looked so out of place on one side because everything else was so cute and refreshing and simple.
I would recommend this place anyday to a couple or a family

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole2338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Stayed here two nights in April, 2010. Wish we could have stayed longer; this place was fantastic. The grounds were beautifully manicured. The staff were friendly and helpful. The included breakfast at the onsite restaurant was excellent and really a terrific value for an included meal. The staff said that the hotel was very full while we were there but nothing ever seemed crowded or busy. It was very quiet at night and we slept really well. The room was great and we never saw a single bug inside our room, which is surprising for the tropics. Overall very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mach22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We are a married couple with two children—aged 9 and 6. We stayed at El Silencio Del Campo for a couple of days in the first week of April, 2010. We were received in the cute and quaint outdoor lobby with welcome drinks. The concierge/receptionist offered me a free facial in their open air spa that evening. I jumped on the offer of course. The spa was beautiful, and the facial was the best I’ve ever ha, so I did tip the aesthetician well. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well-kept. They have homegrown papayas, guavas, bananas, pineapple…you name it. They are all organic, hand-picked and served fresh in the sumptuous breakfast that is included in the room price. The cabin was clean and airy, and the outdoor patio, beautifully landscaped. They have parrots, blue jays, hummingbirds, butterflies, lizards, frogs, and alligators (caged) on their grounds. The grounds are beautiful, with a great volcano view. The front desk is helpful and courteous, and confirmed our tour arrangements. The hotel has a kiddie pool, adult pool and its own hot spring next to the outdoor spa. We had dinner at the on-site restaurant—limited selection, but great tasting food, and some awesome coconut flan. The restaurant is manned by just two people, so service is a bit slow, but the staff is friendly and goes out of their way to make you feel at home. They do also have a kids' play area on site—our little one enjoyed that. Our daughters played with the two pet Chihuahuas on site—Tiki and Amaretto…and loved loved loved them! On our second night there, we went out into town (La Fortuna) for dinner to Las Brasitas recommended by the front desk. The children made some good friends at the hotel, and were together on the excursions and at the restaurants. Hi to Rand, Amy, and the girls if you are reading this.
What can I say? It’s a no frills, family friendly place. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it for honeymooners or couples though. Our children fell in love with this place, and didn’t want to leave. The hotel proudly displays its 2009 and 2010 #1 rated Tripadvisor hotel plaques on the front desk. And why not? They deserve every bit of it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,530 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £121 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing