We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Fortuna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,472
    298
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
666
819
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2007

This place was truly perfect. I am so glad we chose to stay here as a second half to our honeymoon. The rooms are clean the owner is wonderful; the view of the volcano is perfect.
They have wonderful little personal cottages that are in amazing condition. The air conditioners are silent so you can still hear the volcano rumbling in the distance.
The food in the restaurant is all homemade and so good, not to mention flexible timing. It is such a charming place in a great location. They really used the grounds well and made sure everyone had a great view from their patio.
It is about a 5 minute drive to town but still seems like a remote setting.
The only complaint is the horribly huge resort that someone is putting up next door. Hopefully more won't go up around it.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brklynites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

This hotel was the highlight of our trip. The hotel is actualy 15 lovely cabins set on a beautifully landscaped property - the cabins a brand new, clean, spacious with lovely views of the volcano (when the clouds part - which they did for only 10 minutes over 3 days - oh well!). The owners are amazing - incredibly gracious and welcoming - they gave us a lift back from Eco-thermales one night and showed us how they cook the terrific rice and beans one morning. There is construction going on next door, but it didn't bother us in the room and we would definately come back any time!

  • Liked — the owners hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonLuckydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philly
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

I booked this hotel for 2 nights based on trip advisor recommendations. It was a great way to end the vacation. The cabins are new and in wonderful condition. The staff is friendly and very accomidating and the owner and his family go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

We did not have a car and took advantage of taxi service and the canapy tour (they pick you up and drop you off) A car would have been helpful i think.
The included breakfast is very good and the menu for lunch and dinner is fairly priced.

The owner helped to make all the reservations for tours/van service.
Def go to the hot springs next door.

The ONLY downfall is the huge construction project going on next door. There is noise pretty much all day. But, the general consensus among the hotel visitors is that the place is so nice and the owner is so accomidating- you don't even mind.
This area is not for staying at the hotel!
Def not a reason not to stay

  • Liked — the cabins
  • Disliked — construction
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank afs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

We selected Hotel Silencio del Campo because it was the closest resort to La Fortuna. We did not have a car, but we wanted to go into La Fortuna a couple of times, and it took only a few minutes by taxi.
The grounds were beautiful, the cabins were large and clean, and the staff was attentive. Breakfast of fruit and hot fare cooked to your specifications is included.

Overall we were very satisfied with our stay at Hotel Silencio Del Campo.

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds, convenient to La Fortuna
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watsup1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
115 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel in early March. We had the cabin nearest to the front of the property; hence closest to the road (more road noise) but had the best view of the volcano. We spent a lazy afternoon after our tour sitting at the table and chairs right outside our cabin admiring the volcano and enjoying the beautiful ground. Although the hotel does not face the side where people see the most lava, if you are lucky, like us, you might still see a little bit of flow. But then again, if you are unlucky, you might not see the volcano at all no matter where you are as was the case for 2 weeks before we arrived. The staff was wonderful, Luis, Alex, Phillipe and a few others truly add to the experience.

The hotel is walking distance from Baldi Hot Spring. Other than that, there is really nothing around. It is about a $4 taxi ride from town (La Fortuna). where tour companies, restaurants and shops may be found. All the tour companies pick up from the hotel anyway so it is really not that big of a deal. All the nice hotels are out of town.

The hotel is affiliated with Eco-Termales hot spring but they are really two different entities. Eco-Termales is walking distance from the hotel (no sidewalk) but the property is set back from the main road through what seems to be a very very long unlighted driveway - walkable during daylight hours but very scary at night. We made the mistake of walking there for the night session but was reluctant to walk back esp with a small blister on my foot. One of the staff at Eco-T actually drove us back to the hotel. Wow! Tico hospitality.....

There is a small swimming pool on the hotel ground. The restaurant serves very good breakfast, lunch and dinner. During our stay, construction was going gangbuster right next door so there was construction related noise from early morning until late. However, it really did not take anything away from this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,241 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,802 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,367 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing