We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villas Vista Arenal
Reviewed 28 July 2010

My husband and I landed in La Fortuna with nothing but our backpacks and knocked on doors asking for prices for various hotels and hostels. Out of all the places we went to, Villas Vista had the best rate (for cash), a pool, airconditioning, and was very clean. We loved having our own villa and no shared wall with neighbours. We liked it so much we decided to stay for 3 nights and booked tours with the owner. The people were friendly when we spoke in our broken spanish and we never had any problems.

The only downside was a tour of teenagers in the same complex, but that could happen anywhere.

Breakfast was traditional and we walked into town each day to explore and check things out, which was really easy. I would recommend this place to couples or families for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lapuravida7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

The hotel has great views and is walking distance from the town, which is great. The complimentary breakfast was not very good, unless you like rubbery ham and eggs and Tang instead of orange juice. The staff at the restaurant wasn't very approachable, so it felt like we were taking up their time instead of feeling like we were enjoying ours.
I was packi my stuff on Sunday to leave and noticed that a piece of my clothing was missing, so I went to the front desk and asked them of it got mixed up with the laundry. The guy said it was the maid's day off so he didn't know if she found anything and didn't seem concerned with finding the missing clothing so I had to check the laundry myself. It wasn't there. To make a long story short, I never found it and am convinced the maid took it. The guy at the front desk blamed me for losing it, which is why I will never recommend his hotel to anyone and will never go back. I didn't like it that they didn't even try to help me.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kpl1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

my friend and i stayed at villa vista for three nights and thought it was a good find. it was reasonably priced for a nice little cabin with a great garden and nice little pool. next to a field meant great unobstructed view of the volcano... not quite in town but a very reasonable walk, about 10 minutes, and en route to the volcano. make sure you get a cabin a little further away from the road as it can be a bit loud. good, standard breakfast included and friendly staff. would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

This place was amazing. The bungalows were so nice and private, with a cathedral ceiling and large shower with hot water. They were well kept and clean, and the outside offered beautiful flowers, hummingbirds, and a great view of the volcano and a nice pool. The owner spoke English well and was so nice and accomodating. He let us use his computer and phone to report our lost credit card and lent us his hair dryer to dry our shoes after canyoning. The price was great and even included a nice breakfast. If you do get the American breakfast and like crispy bacon make sure to order it that was as it was a little underdone for our taste. We would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tam0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

This place is GREAT! our cabin was spotless, the little restaurant out front was wonderful,food was excellant. The staff was very freindly and helpful with tours.
Nothing bad to say. I'll stay here again or sure.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We were intially quoted $55 for the room, then $50 if we paid cash. We went to see the room, and it was so great, we decided to stay for 2 nights, so we were charged $45/night. This included breakfast. Breakfast was good, but not spectacular.

We got our own cabana, which was huge. Two comfy beds, cable TV, A/C, a huge shower with hot water, and a mini-fridge (key for storing cheap beer).

There was a pool, with a great view of the volcano.

The hotel is about a 10-minute walk from downtown La Fortuna, and the cabanas aren't right on the road, so it's very quiet.

The staff was very helpful, booking tours and transport for us. There is laundry service too.

If you are used to the comforts of places like the Hilton, this place may not be for you. But if you're a backpacker, or happy with a Holiday Inn, this place is like paradise. Cheap, private, and lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OttawaClaireBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2006

If you are headed to the Arenal Volcano area and want to stay in a family run, low cost bungalow in a GREAT location....this is the perfect place. The Villas Vista Arenal has about 10-12 separate bungalows, a swimming pool and a clear view of the Arenal volcano. $40-$50/ night. We stayed in #4 The room is fairly large with a mini refridge, a/c, 2 queen size beds and cable TV. The shower is large with hot water. The sink does not have hot water. There is a small table with two chairs and a night table between the beds, but there is no dresser. There is a little welcome restaurant which serves modest meals, which is great for breakfast (maybe lunch), but there are too many nearby restaurants to hit for dinner. If you are looking for any luxury, keep looking, but if you want a no frills, low cost, clean, comfortable, local place to stay....you can't beat the location to the volcano, town, hot springs and all the adventure tours around the area.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mhrunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bijagua
Hotel Bijagua
#2 of 47 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
339 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,085 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,374 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Vista Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Vista Arenal

Address: San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 3345, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 81 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £51 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villas Vista Arenal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arenal! We have very naturistic log cabins that are private and in large open spaces. Beauty is all around us! Very close to the city center of fortuna, only 5 minute walk to the park. Very clean rooms that sleep 4 to 8 people people depending on size of the room you choose. Great American or Costa Rican breakfast included from 630am to 10am. Come experience Arenal with us and we can make your trip a great experience! See you soon.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villas Vista Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Vista Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing