We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$200
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$531
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$499
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lavas del Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$127
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$554
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$123
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveller rating
631
53
13
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
53
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate waterfallhorseback ride to the waterfallhobbit houselava lizardheliconia housefarm choressteve and debzip liningfresh milkcosta ricacollecting eggsarenal volcanomilking cowsgathering eggsevery morningriding horsesfarm to table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 700 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We were slightly taken aback when we realised quite how far L&L is from Fortuna - without your own transport it's definitely pushing it, at $25 each way taxi fare from Fortuna. However, with a sturdy 4x4 it's easily reachable and quite an adventure!
It's really more about the whole "experience" than just a room at a hotel - each cabin is placed in its own setting, most have perfect views of the volcano and a deck, and they're surrounded by acres of carefully reforested land populated by hummingbirds, sloth, etc etc. Some could do with more curtains, perhaps, but I guess it's just part of the experience.
Nothing's too much hassle for Debbie and Steve - they'll help find you a guide for a hike, teach you to ride a horse cross-country, help book a transfer, excursion etc. And they have a great team cooking, cleaning and teaching you to milk a cow if you want!
This is a really popular place with American families, and you can see why, but everyone's friendly at the communal mealtimes, so it's very welcoming. In short, its location and price may mean it's somewhere you think twice about, but we found Leaves and Lizards really to be worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teenytroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My wife and I have just returned from honeymoon in Costa Rica. We travelled independently and without car and so had to take a taxi from La Fortuna to the Leaves and Lizards resort. The journey takes around 20-25 minutes (and costs $25) and we were initially concerned that we were being driven into the middle of nowhere. But, as soon as we arrived, we absolutely loved the place and realised that the trip was unquestionably worth it.

Here are the reasons for this:
- Excellent hosts - Debbie and Steve are great, kind people and strike the right balance between friendliness and giving guests space
- Cabins are amazing - very clean, excellent quality, tastefully, uniquely and artistically furnished, lovely balconies with hammocks - listen to the sounds of the rainforest right on your doorstep (e.g. hummingbirds 2 metres from your front door), amazing flora and fauna etc.
- Brilliant tours - horseriding is a must and you are only 7 miles away from the hot springs plus 20-30 mins from Volcano national park and Rainforest ziplining
- Excellent food and great social opportunities with other guests
- An educational experience, learn about the rainforest rebuilding program, take part in the morning farm chores (optional) - like milking the cows and gathering eggs
- Evening talks on volcanoes and other topical themes
- Amazing views of Arenal volcano (no lava in April 2011, but this won't last forever)

If you are visiting the Arenal / La Fortuna area, Leaves and Lizards is a must

Room Tip: The rooms all looked great - just book!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisandsarah_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I chose Leaves and Lizards after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and I was not disappointed. Each cabin offers a wonderful view of the volcano as well as privacy. Our room (Volcano) was just perfect – it was equipped with all the modern conveniences. The food was spectacular. All of it is either grown or prepared on site – even the butter, cheese and ice cream. We enjoyed dining with the other guests and we made a few friends along the way. Steve and Debbie are the best hosts. They are so helpful and caring – they truly make your trip special. If you drive in from Liberia, take the route that goes around Lake Arenal, the views are spectacular. Just keep in mind that the roads are windy. Also do the horseback tour to the waterfall – it was the best part of our entire trip! We spent one day hiking at a neighboring volcano near Rio Celeste. This is a little known gem in the area that features a huge waterfall, pristine blue water, and El Arbol de Paz – the largest tree in Costa Rica. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Travelled from Scotland to Costa Rica in March 2011 with our two children. Had the holiday of a lifetime and we would all love to return. Stayed at Leaves and Lizards for 4 nights and wish it could've been longer.

We stayed in the beautiful Monkey Cabin and were amazed by the views of the volcano and the hummingbirds in the trees just beyond the porch. The cabin was really spacious and spotless with excellent beds and a fridge, restocked daily with fresh milk.

Our "two monkeys" loved everything about it! They helped to milk a cow and feed the horses and the highlights for us all were, the horseback ride to the waterfall, ziplining and the kayac trip. We spotted howler and spider monkeys, sloths, caymen, Jesus Christ lizards, fresh water turtles and many species of birds.

Debbie and Steve are fantastic, laid back and so helpful and their staff are equally amazing, from the guides, to the ladies prepairing delicious, home made, fresh food every day. The breakfasts are wonderful with fresh fruit, pancakes and coffee.

In addition to cows and horses, there is a resident parrot, lovely dogs, chickens, pigs, goats and a sloth who resides in the tree beside reception.

If you and your family love nature, visit Costa Rica and stay at Leaves and Lizards. The people are warm and kind and proud of their country. Justifiably so. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Beautiful cabins with amazing views.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Where-now-guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

This was a trip of a lifetime and Leaves and Lizards far exceeded our expectations. Our Hummingbird Hacienda was gorgeous and immaculate. Steve and Debbie are beyond wonderful. They are the epitome of perfect hosts. Their team of helpers all made our stay unforgettable. The surprising part was how much of a healing adventure this turned out to be for me. Their spa is a hidden jewel with incredible women offering a variety of very unique, healing services and massages. Some of the best I've ever had! The food is part of the healthy delight. Fresh, homegrown everything. Real, whole food, all prepared with love and talent. The entire atmosphere is conducive to healing. The beauty, the peace, the kindness and smiles surrounding you,the horseback riding, the animals and sounds of nature, all the movement and exercise you get, the pristine, fresh air... it's an unforgettable, healing retreat hidden away from the hectic drain so many of us live in. Thank you, dear Steve and Debbie. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmkcjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews