We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We LOVED Leaves & Lizards!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We LOVED Leaves & Lizards!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Leaves & Lizards was such an incredible treat and a definite highlight in our trip to CR. We arrived in the rain and Steve took us to our cabin -- Monkey (we think this one was the best -- most secluded, fantastic view of Arenal) - and we sat on the big covered porch and enjoyed the sounds of the rain. It cleared up eventually and we had fantastic views of Arenal. The cabin was lovely, with hardwood floors, huge picture windows, whimsical paintings on the wall by the owner, Steve, and really comfortable beds.

The food was excellent and the view from the open air dining room was stunning, with humming birds and views of the volcano. One morning, we went down to the farm with the kids and milked the cows, gathered the eggs and said hello to the pigs. Leaves and Lizards is committed to sustainability -- the eggs and cream and milk from the farm are served in the meals and the leftovers are fed to the pigs. We all thought the butter tasted amazing!

Leaves and Lizards is like family camp -- we stayed in our cabin and walked to the dining hall. It's not for you if you want to lie by a pool. But, if you want to stay in a pristine patch of CR that Debbie and Steve are trying to reforest, and enjoy the birds and sights and sounds of landscape with no development, the this place is for you. We absolutely loved it!

Debbie helped out with activities, too -- her recommendations were excellent. We ziplined with Aventuro Mundo (total blast!) and went horseback riding to a waterfall on the Leaves and Lizards horses -- our guide was fantastic and we saw lots of birds.

If we were to go back to CR, we'd stay at Leaves and Lizards for sure! It's a bit out of the way and you need 4-wheel drive, but you pretty much need that every where in CR. It's also nice to be out of the hustle and bustle of La Fortuna. Leaves & Lizards is a farm, 20 minutes from La Fortuna and it is breathtakingly beautiful. Debbie and Steve have created a very special place.

Room Tip: Monkey Cabin has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    52
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
316
176
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We chose this hotel based on TA reviews, so we felt like we knew what to expect. If you are looking for a fairly remote (but a short drive to nearby town and activities), beautiful area and a hotel that couldn't do more to make their guests enjoy their stay, LL is for you.

The owners were out of the country during our visit, but I can't imagine service, food quality, etc. Could have been any better than what we received. They must treat their employees well, and carefully select the tour guides they recommend, because everyone was great.

We loved LL (monkey cabin - what a view) and costa rica!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is an amazing, beautiful place where you could easily spend a week or more. There were 5 of us, 3 kids ages 10-16 and we stayed in the Heliconia House. The lodgings are beautiful and spotless with a gorgeous view of Arenal volcano on the front porch and an astonishing array of tropical gardens off the back porch, where we sat in the rocking chairs and hammocks and watched the hummingbirds, parrots and toucans fly around. We also watched Sophie the sloth, who lives in a tree right next to the house. Our kids helped milk the cows in the morning and watched the new piglets battle it out for breakfast. And speaking of breakfast, the meals here are amazing. Virtually everything you eat or drink comes from the farm. While there are plenty of places to eat in town, you'd be crazy not to eat dinner here. The homemade pizzas were wonderful also. The nature walk with Oscar is fascinating. Debbie, Steve and the entire staff could not be more warm, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homer036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I've been meaning to write this for a long time, but Leaves and Lizards was a wonderful experience. The room was comfy and clean. What makes it great though is the people- we showed up a day early and they were able to accommodate us, and the tours are spectacular! Definitely take some hikes with Giovanni if you're there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citycook2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We went with a group of 6 adults and 4 children as a family vacation. We had an amazing time. The children ages ranged 3.5-8 enjoyed the hikes, the horses and waking up every morning to milk the cows and collect the eggs. We did lots of physical activities including zip lining, a water park, a guided tour of cano negro and a trip to a tico farm. It was always wonderful after a hard and muddy day exploring to come home to a hot shower and a hot meal. The whole experience felt like staying on a farm to then return to the luxury of your cabin at night. Definately hope to return again. I recommend good sneakers and a flashlight while staying here.

Room Tip: stayed in monkey cabin but they were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naomibanaszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed in June at the Heliconia house. The great thing about the Heliconia House is that you get a whole 2 bedroom apartment with spacious living area and a fully equipped kitchen. The two porches are also great with a great view of the volcano and tropical plants and birds in the rear. Both equipped with hammocks of course. We did not need the A/C but it was there if we did. The whole place is very quiet and beautiful. There is a lot to do at L&L for a family vacation. It is quite a ways out of La Fortuna, although that can be either a plus or a minus depending on your method of travel and priorities. Breakfast was great, and we regret missing dinner during our 4 day stay (we were too busy). The staff is extremely accommodating and helpful.This is not a luxury hotel. It is a great place for nature lovers, and for families.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etzlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We travelled to Leaves and Lizards June 28, 2011, staying for a week. We went solely on Trip Advisor's reviews as Costa Rica Tourism sites did not list it. Leaves and Lizards is an amazing place with great ownership. We fell in love with the staff. Fabulous views and excellent food. Wished we stayed for more than a week!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMAS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Property: Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Address: Meters South Of Super Kiki 500, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21012, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort is located on 26 acres with spectacular viewing of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna. Enjoy the panoramic vista of Arenal and Cerro Chato from a hammock on your porch or from your comfortable, orthopedic, queen sized beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Meals prepared using locally grown ingredients at the Lava Lizard on-site dining facility. Guests are invited to help with daily 'chores' on this working farm. Milk a cow, collect eggs for breakfast or groom a horse. Enjoy private horseback riding, professional guide service, on site spa and 2 km of on site nature trails. The vision at Leaves and Lizards is to create the perfect blend of adventure, discovery and tranquility for each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing