We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is truly one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen! Leaves & Lizards is somewhat tucked away but it's worth the little extra drive. I would strongly suggest a 4 wheel drive to handle the rugged gravel roads. We stayed in the Tucan cabin and the accomodations were absolutely fabulous; we even found fresh milk from their cows in the fridge! The view of Arenal from the cabin will take your breath away! The daily breakfasts are amazing; it's the best $4 you will ever spend! We had dinner at the restaurant as well since we didn't want to handle the roads after dark and really enjoyed the food and chatting with the other guests. Kudos to Debbie, Steve and the entire staff at Leaves & Lizards. They go out of their way to make your stay memorable. This place is such a treasure in La Fortuna!!!

Room Tip: Several cabins offer a breathtaking view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in Leaves and Lizards with our 2 adult children after reading the reviews from trip advisor. The road to the retreat is an adventure in itself but after 3 days there sort of adds to the charm. Deb and Steve have done a great job of integrating farm, jungle and vacation life. The Monkey cabin was very nice with a beautiful balcony looking out over the forest and the volcano. The food was some of the best we had in our 2 weeks in Costa Rica and the breakfast with the birds and dogs was a great way to start our day. We own horses so riding horses was not new but riding in the rainforest ending at a magnificent water hole was unforgettable. We ate a termite, saw a bullet ant and had a conversation with a howler monkey. The tours and the guides that were set up for us were all great including the bridge tour with Leo and canyoneering . I would highly recommend Leaves and Lizards and when we return to Costa Rica we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at Leaves and Lizards in March 2010 and I have recommended these accommodations to so many I felt compelled to incorporate my comments on Trip Advisor. For those who are looking to experience nature, see and hear the Volcano, while staying in comfortable accommdations with their family...This is IT! We stayed in the Monkey Cabin, with amazing, uninterrupted views of the rain forest and the volcano directly ahead of us. The outdoor balcony was spacious and comfortable with its authentic wood furnishings. Steve and Debbie were friendly and on a very rainy day which we had planned to go horseback riding on, they rearranged all of our plans to ensure a great experience and sent us on a guided river tour, in a sunny area, in which we saw the most wildlife, up close, we possibly could have seen. Our 12 and 14 year old kids loved it as well! Highly recommended! (I would go back and stay longer than 3 days!)

Room Tip: Monkey Cabin was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had only 4 days here with our 2 young boys ( 5 & 7), yet it felt we had stayed much longer. Despite a long drive up from Montezuma, and arriving afeter dark having managed to get lost Debbie was stil around to greet us.
We seemed to do so much in such a short time, Do go horse riding with them. It was the highlight for the whole family of our 4 week trip to costa rica. I have never ridden such beautiful well mannered horses. All the guides are fantastic, be that for the horses, kayaking, or hanging bridges, all made the experiences fun and interesting for all the family - our boys are still talking about this now. Everyone at lizards and leaves was great. Debbie and Steve manage to blend hospitality and friendliness alongside efficiency, it's not an easy task we know! The food was also really good, the bird life brilliant, and the fact we never saw the top of the volcano really didn't matter.
We all hope we will get to return, there was stil so much we would have liked to have done. This must be one of the very best experiences of a place to stay that all members of the family have been able to enjoy. Thank you to Debbie, Steve and all those working at lizards and leaves that made everything work so well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marbleandfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just came home from a nine day trip with a friend. We spent 4 nights at Leaves and Lizards in the Congo Cabin with a beautiful window wall view of Arenal Volcano which was completely visible on our first morning (what a treat) We had a wonderful time overall. Steve and Debbie (the owners) were hospitable, gracious and incredibly helpful in organizing our excursions (Rio Celeste, Cano Negro, horseback riding, canyoning); and even helped quickly change a tire on our rental car which had a slow puncture overnight! The day trips were great and the guides used by L&L were really knowledgeable. We enjoyed eating in the dining room in the evenings; however food is served at 7 pm and you have to decide in the morning whether you want to dine and order ahead. It worked well for us; but was a bit limiting in terms of making a spontaneous last minute decision. The breakfasts were fantastic and the small dining room enabled interesting conversations with other travelers about their trips and excursions. This is a really special spot - refreshingly different from big commercial hotels; and I know I will want to return with my children when I have an opportunity for a family vacation in Costa Rica. Debbie and Steve's commitment to reforesting the rainforest and giving back to the community they live in was apparent and lovely to see.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelAA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here with our 9 year old for three days. It was beyond our expectations even after reading all the great reviews. I have traveled a lot in my life and have to say this is one of the best places and value I have come across in Avery long time. First of all the cabins - we stayed in the coco cabin was magnificent! The way the cabins are constructed goes to show the thought and care they have put into creating an amazing place. You feel you are submerged into the land and environment. At the time of our stay there was also a sloth hanging out in a tree above the reception cabin!!

As hosts they are incredibly caring, thoughtful and warm. You will discover they are as proud of the land and appreciative of its gifts and it's reflected in the way they work and value the community they are nestled in. Simply stated they are humble but with large hearts and we were touched by them during our stay. The food was delicious at the restaurant and the portions large and fresh. We did the horseback ride to the waterfall and it was crazy beautiful. Deb took time with our 9 year old son to give him a good introduction to horses and how to ride. Under her care he was quickly comfortable and learned more than just how to ride a horse. He learned how to respect them. We were all saddled up with horses appropriate for our individual experiences. Our guides took us into the forest and we saw a small group of toucans, dart frogs and other birds. It was truly the highlight of our trip.

We can't recommend this place enough! It was peaceful, quiet, and full of opportunities to explore or sit and just enjoy the view. I say hurry up, they could easily charge double for the rooms as they are that great . You won't be disappointed. Only disappointed you didn't stay longer!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 120goworldgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We just got back from 10 days in Costa Rica with our 5 and 2 years old boys.

We spent the last 3 nights at Leaves and Lizards and it was truly a beautiful way to end our vacation.

This hotel is so unique and sooo beautiful, the rooms are specious, very clean and the view from them is spectacular. We stayed at the Toucan room.

Debbie, Steve and the team really take care of everything you need and pay attention to the little details. Each room has a mini refrigerator, and they out there fresh juice and fresh milk every day. You also have coffee machine, plates, wine glasses, and other little things needed, including some books and games.

Oscar who works there offers free tours a few times a week in one of the trials around the place.

Getting to Leaves and Lizards is not the easiest, when you get to the area of Arenal and La Fortuna you have another few miles to drive up to the mountains, but the road is beautiful and it makes all the difference...you get to this heaven and enjoy every minute if it.

Breakfasts were great, dinner was wonderful one night and just ok second night, but truly it is very convenient to stay and eat there.

Our kids really enjoyed milking the cows and picking eggs in the morning, and we really enjoyed meeting the other guests, as this is a small hotel and the atmosphere is very homey.

I would love to have the chance to go back to Leave and Lizards, even if its only for seating out in my balcony and enjoying the spectacular view.

I'm so happy I learned about Leaves and Lizards through Trip Advisor and truly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ifatb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,332 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
844 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,318 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,428 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Address: Meters South Of Super Kiki 500, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21012, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £126 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort is located on 26 acres with spectacular viewing of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna. Enjoy the panoramic vista of Arenal and Cerro Chato from a hammock on your porch or from your comfortable, orthopedic, queen sized beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Meals prepared using locally grown ingredients at the Lava Lizard on-site dining facility. Guests are invited to help with daily 'chores' on this working farm. Milk a cow, collect eggs for breakfast or groom a horse. Enjoy private horseback riding, professional guide service, on site spa and 2 km of on site nature trails. The vision at Leaves and Lizards is to create the perfect blend of adventure, discovery and tranquility for each guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing