We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to stay in Arenal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Travelled to CR with our two boys 10 and 12 - they loved this place especially the horseback trip to the falls - hosts are fantastic as are the views from the cabins and the cabins - we stayed in monkey cabin after debating between cabin and Hacienda House - great decision - cabins are incredible! Don't stay anywhere else but L&L in Arenal! It may be a little out of the way but roads are very scenic and fine to drive.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StollM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed in the Monkey Cabin at L&L. Steve and Debbie have developed a wonderful retreat.
Yes, the roads to L&L are terrible but once we arrived, it was obviously well worth the trip.
Beautiful surroundings, reasonable, delicious and home-cooked meals. Friendly and helpful staff.
Stay here if you into: horseback riding, birding, tropical landscapes, hiking, volcano views, fresh, organic food and meeting kind and considerate people.

Room Tip: Monkey cabin has a great wrap-around deck with excellent volcano views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lidobraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My family stayed here in the Hummingbird Hacienda and we loved everything about it. It was remote and peaceful, yet you could socialize with other guests in the beautiful open-air dining room (the food was fantastic!). It was out in the middle of nowhere, yet there was so much to do AND we didn't need to rent a car to do any of it! Debbie arranged for a van pick us up at San Jose Airport, which was a long (three hour) but beautiful drive. She also helped arrange other tours and we enjoyed them all. We went on ziplines, hiked in the Arenal park, went in the hot springs, took the horseback ride to the waterfall. We got back three weeks ago and I am already looking into another trip next year. Vacations are usually difficult for us because we have two kids and we all want to do different things, we are vegetarian, we don't drive....we couldn't believe that NONE of this was a problem here. I have never bothered writing a review for anything but I felt compelled to put in a word how happy we were here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SniceDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Can't recommend this place highly enough. The owners and staff do everything in their power to give you a great stay. We stayed in the Heliconia House and loved it. We had our own personal rainforest haven in the back garden--we had to dart around hummingbirds to make our way across the porch! And we were perfectly located for easy walks to the barn for the morning activities and to the dining hall for meals.

Room Tip: Heliconia House is a bit older in styling than the other cabins on offer within Leaves & Lizards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_travelforthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My family and I recently stayed at this resort. What a beautiful place to visit. The owners did everything to make our stay wonderful. The resort is located miles off the main highway making it a peaceful resort surrounded in tropical lush and birds. The staff was so accommodating and friendly to all. The food was always fresh and top notch. All the butter, milk, eggs, cheeses are made on site. The horse trails were just enough to give you a real taste of the beautiful countryside of Costa Rica.
The rooms were so nice and comfortable.
All in all it made for a great vacation and we hated to leave. When you visit be sure to get one of the best massages I have had.

Thanks Debbie and Steve.

Room Tip: My wife and I opted for air conditioned room. Some are not a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were traveling with two children (3.5 and 5) and Deb was great finding activities that would be fun for adults and kids. The kids got a chance to collect eggs, milk cows, feed pigs, and socialize with the horses (the girls just weren't old enough to go on a ride...maybe next time). We headed to Eco Thermales for our day in the hot springs, and went to Proyecto Asis (a must if you have kids interested in animals). We also participated in a cultural exchange with a local tico family; my husband became a farm hand, innoculating cows and digging ditches, the girls played with the family's children, and I worked on my language and culinary skills.
The cabins are very comfortable with great views. We stayed in the Monkey cabin (I thin the best view) and the Mariposa cabin (great garden for hummingbird viewing). The Lava Lizard restaurant offers HUGE breakfasts that you don't think you could possibly finish, but you need that energy boost to get you through the day of activities. The dinners are really tasty too. They have kids' meal options, but also allow you to split portions.
We could have stayed an entire week (and I wish we had), but the minimum of 3 nights really is appropriate. There is a lot to do, and you really will want to do it all. I wish we had taken a morning hike with Oscar, people were raving about it. But we did have breakfast with the Loritta (the parrot).
Enrique was an excellent guide for the Tico farm tour...he has a great sense of humor and attitude. My husband knows no Spanish, and he really made him feel like he was included throughout the day.
A spa service is available and I got a pretty good massage one evening. Nice, expecially after the bumpy roads (you will need a 4 wheel drive). The maps that are provided may not make sense when you first see them, but they are dead-on. We never got lost (and if we had followed our GPS we would have been hopelessly lost).
I really can't say enough good things about Leaves and Lizards, Deb and Steve, and all the staff. A great base for exploring Costa Rica.

Room Tip: All the cabins have good views, but the Monkey cabin has a panormaic view of the volcano that was am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed a Leaves and Lizards for the first 4 days of our Costa Rica trip. We had great food, good sleeps, fabulous fellowship with other guests, etc. Steve, Debbie and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieH1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.7 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
861 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,897 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Address: Meters South Of Super Kiki 500, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21012, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £114 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort is located on 26 acres with spectacular viewing of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna. Enjoy the panoramic vista of Arenal and Cerro Chato from a hammock on your porch or from your comfortable, orthopedic, queen sized beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Meals prepared using locally grown ingredients at the Lava Lizard on-site dining facility. Guests are invited to help with daily 'chores' on this working farm. Milk a cow, collect eggs for breakfast or groom a horse. Enjoy private horseback riding, professional guide service, on site spa and 2 km of on site nature trails. The vision at Leaves and Lizards is to create the perfect blend of adventure, discovery and tranquility for each guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing