We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaves and Lizards Epona Quest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Leaves and Lizards Epona Quest”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I just returned from an Epona Trek at Leaves and Lizards and I must say, this more than a destination vacation was beyond fabulous. The facility was beautiful and the cabin was first rate, the presentation of the towels on the bed was an added touch that I had never seen. Debbie and Steve and their staff were a pleasure to be around. The food was freshly prepared with many of the items grown there. The Costa Rican horses were so brave, sure footed, and gentle. The entire scenery during the trek was the most beautiful and the guides made everyone feel safe and gave us information on the region and the culture. I will definitely be going back.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank equine365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    52
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
316
176
33
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Seven day horse trek, with the Epona approach to riding. We seven of us had the most amazing trip of a life time! The culture, horses, guides, volcano, earthquake, hot springs, zip line, kayak. Everyday was a new adventure. This trek is fine for beginners, because the horses are so well trained. So exciting one day after another. The water fall the first day of the trek was breath taking. We went swimming under the falls diving off rocks into deep clear pools of fresh water.
We had three different stops for the trek before we got back to Leaves and Lizards. Each nights stop the facility's were clean fresh and most of all wonderful family's. Debbie and Steve put this trek together along with the local people. It could not have been better. I will be back again in January! Thank you so much for everything Debbie and Steve.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

What an unbelieveable location! I would have simply stayed at L&L all week, except I had signed on for a multi-day horse trek. The beds are comfty, the views are unbelievable, and the meals are great. What more can I say? Well, alot. The people, wildlife and culture are wonderful. I joined a group of seven other women for a trek through the mountians/hills/valleys/forests and ranches. During our trek, we stayed with two other families and had lunch with a third. Everyone was warm, welcoming and generous with their time and stories. We didn't miss a meal...and I do mean "meal", I gained nearly 5 pounds.
During our rides we saw spider monkeys, holler monkeys, a sloth, red-legged frogs, tons of birds and many familes/children. We had three guides with us at all times to share the history, culture, habitat and point out the wildlife we would have missed given the beautiful scenery. Debbie and Steve are wonderful hosts and care deeply about the country they call home. I will definitely return soon, and will bring my non-riding husband along. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I stayed in both the Volcano room and the Tucan room. Both have fantastic views of the Volcano (be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Leaves and Lizards hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's not the average hotel of which you have so many around the Arenal volcano. Our room, the coco cabin, was big and had a big-size balcony / patio from which we could see the Arenal volcano. Lots of birds accompanied us throughout the whole hotel. A little booklet in the room informed us that over 170 different species of birds have been spotted in the hotel! The patio was equipped with 2 rocking chairs, a hammock and 2 hammock kind of seats.

The dinners and breakfasts were very nice and literally all the staff, we had different people every day, was happy, helpful and to pleasure to have around.

We did the horseback riding tour together with a guide called Enrique and his son Steven. This tour is highly recommended! Beautiful nature, very nice horses and a waterfall that looks like you are the first one ever to visit it. The guides knew a lot about the area and answered all our questions. They brought a lunch with them for us to eat at the waterfall.

Steve and Debbie, the owners, are very nice people that blend in with the visitors. They talk to you in the morning, during the day or in the evening and are more than happy to explain what animal you just noticed, what you can do that day, et cetera.

One details that we personally loved was that there was no TV around anywhere. Some hotels and restaurants in Costa Rica place huge TV screens almost everywhere. It was a pleasure NOT to see TV during our stay.

Room Tip: We had the coco cabin and it was wonderful. It has a full view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w00t-sjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Recently returned from a great 4 night stay at Leaves and Lizards. We were a group of 7 and stayed in the Hummingbird, Coco, and Congo cabins. Accomodations were spotless and meals
were wonderful. Debbie and Steve are hands-on owners and have done a wonderful job
transforming this former cattle ranch into an amazing tropical paradise. The highlights of our
adventure holiday included hot air balooning over the Costa Rican countryside with Estaban, zip lining, and horeback riding to a gorgeous waterfall. We will definetly go back to L & L! Thanks again, Debbie and Steve.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdmmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My family had such a wonderful experience at Leaves and Lizards. We awoke each morning to an amazing view of the volcano and then ate fresh fruit with medicinal juices, coffee, and a delicious breakfast to start the day. We then embarked on a different adventure each day. We went horseback riding on two days to the waterfall and also for a walk in Orlando's Rain forest. We all fell in love with the horses who were gentle and incredibly well trained. Our guides, in particular Enrique, were incredibly knowledgable and we all felt so safe when they were by our side. Enrique taught us so much about nature, the wildlife in Costa Rica, the medicinal uses of plants in the Rainforest, the beauty of nature. We found a mommy sloth and baby in a tree on one of our horseback rides and Enrique taught us so much about these wonderful creatures. We also spent a day at Proyecto Asis where we toured and then feed animals IN THE CAGE including hand feeding papaya to baby monkeys as they jumped on us and allowed us to stroke their little hands. After 4 days we left for Nayara, a 5 star boutique hotel, close by which is number one in the area on Trip Advisor. While a lovely hotel, beautiful with great staff, it really did not compare to our adventure at Leaves and Lizards. Thank you Debbie and Steve.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailch37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We booked L&L after seeing reviews here on TripAdvisor, having previously stayed at the Observatory Lodge when in Arenal. What a find!!!!

We were traveling as 2 couples, and stayed in Congo and Coco cabins for 3 nights - and we did not want to leave! The cabins are beautiful, well appointed, with incredible views, and have so many thoughtful touches - milk in the fridge (very important for a Brit who drinks a LOT of tea!), books by the bed, and even a bird guide. Meals were served in the lovely Lava Lizard restaurant, with amazing views, and lovely people - special hello to Dora! - and you get to hang out with the hotel parrot, and watch the numerous birds coming to the feeders.

We went on the horse ride to the waterfall - this was really special, the guides take the greatest care of everyone, and although we didn't travel with kids, it was especially nice to see how they looked after other peoples children - have no qualms if you want to bring your kids here. The horses are very well cared for, and a great deal of effort was made to ensure we all knew what we were doing before the ride started.

I also had a massage which was great, and we spent an evening at nearby hot springs.

It was lovely to talk to Steve and Debbie, and understand their vision for the place - they have planted 1000's of trees on what used to be a dairy farm, and I hope we can come back to see how things develop in the years to come.

We had a 2 wheel drive vehicle (despite booking 4WD - another story!) and followed the supplied directions to the letter, and made it up the 'red route' with no problems.

We loved the 'real' Costa Rican feeling we experienced here, and it has stayed with us long after we had to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Property: Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Address: Meters South Of Super Kiki 500, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21012, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort is located on 26 acres with spectacular viewing of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna. Enjoy the panoramic vista of Arenal and Cerro Chato from a hammock on your porch or from your comfortable, orthopedic, queen sized beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Meals prepared using locally grown ingredients at the Lava Lizard on-site dining facility. Guests are invited to help with daily 'chores' on this working farm. Milk a cow, collect eggs for breakfast or groom a horse. Enjoy private horseback riding, professional guide service, on site spa and 2 km of on site nature trails. The vision at Leaves and Lizards is to create the perfect blend of adventure, discovery and tranquility for each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing