We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newtonville, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed three nights in the Hobbit House at Leaves and Lizards. I highly recommend this room. The view is amazing, it is very private but is also located close to the main office and dining room.
Steve was an excellent host helping us with any questions we had. The staff are all very friendly and set us up with some amazing tours. We highly recommend seeing the waterfall on horse back ride.
There are lots of trails around the property which are nice to check out. The food is very good as well.
Highly recommend going here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms like nice, but the Hobbit House is amazing. Highly recommend spending a little ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    52
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
321
178
33
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, Ny
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My only regret about our 2 week trip to Costa Rica is that we only spent 3 nights at this wonderful retreat. It was hands down our kids' favorite part of the trip, too. The hospitality was wonderful, and I mean every single employee we encountered as well as the owners. It was wonderful to get up in the morning to milk the cows and collect eggs, which then turned up in your breakfast. The horseback riding excursion to the waterfall was preceded by a long, leisurely lesson on communicating with your horse, which made my anxious 10-year-old (and her 13- and 14-year-old siblings) so much more comfortable about the experience. My only caution would be that the dinners weren't my favorite and were rather expensive compared to local Tico restaurants, so you might want to explore other options. On the other hand, the food is plentiful and the dining hall is fabulous, full of beautiful murals and opening onto a spectacular view of the volcano. Overall, truly the best part of our vacation!

Room Tip: We were in Heliconia, which is the oldest cabin and the only one with air conditioning. Theoretical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to spend 3 nights in the Hobbit House, which is a beautiful room built into the hillside, with a sumptuous bed looking out a spectacular view of the volcano. The owners, Debbie and Steve, are very hospitable, and helpful in booking up guided trips. The food is beautiful. Eating breakfast whilst watching a vast array of birds feed was especially memorable. Plan your time to include plenty of time to kick back and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I can not express in words how remarkable this place is! you are surrounded by beautiful costa Rican wild life while staying in a rustic yet incredibly stunning room with views of Arenal witch you are blessed to wake up to every morning. ok so the cabin is great most places you stay have nice rooms what sets this place apart from every other hotel in the world is the feel! I first stayed at Leaves and Lizards with my family in the end of july, i feel in love with it the the people the views and most of all the horses! Debbie who co runs the place with her husband took time out of her busy schedule and spent hours with me and the horses! I had not been so happy in years! when it was time for me to leave Debbie mentioned that they will be having an Epona workshop in about a mouth. So i by myself traveled back to Leaves and Lizards to find that the retreat had only grown with new items on the menu and more horses in the barn! over all if you are planing a family trip to Costa Rica and want it personalized this is the place to go! i feel so blessed to have found this spot it truly changed my life for the better! Steve and Debbie thank you for being who you are so so so amazing!! oh and the guides and staff are not so bad ether intact they are remarkable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I believe this is the fourth vacation to Leaves and Lizards! Every time I go I'm more and more excited to go back. They have a new menu, the food is even better then last time! A beautiful new cabin called the Hobbit house! The view from each cabin is spectacular. From the hobbit house you can see the horses grazing at night. Steve and Debbie do everything they can to make you feel like your on a vacation with so much adventure and still so much time to reflect. Truly you must make this a destination.

Room Tip: My choices are the Hobbit House, the Monkey Cabin, or the Hummingbird. Realize every cabin has a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Leaves and Lizards is set in beautiful surroundings facing out towards the Arenal volcano. The cabins are beautifully built and maintained - ours with choice of indoor or outdoor shower! Debbie and Steve are amazing hosts who have built great links with their local neighbours. I had the joy of riding the horses on an Eponaquest week and it was truly amazing passing through rainforest, grass fields, crossing rivers and swimming in the pond and at the waterfall! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were on our honeymoon in Costa Rica and after spending a week in other areas doing the lying around the pool thing and hotel excursions, I had booked a week at Leaves and Lizards as a surprise for my new bride as she loves horses and never gets to ride them back home in Oregon. I really didn't know what to expect and had never ridden horses myself at all. We were attending an Eponaquest workshop (google it) which was basically hands on horse riding in a group setting. I won't go into the actual workshop itself as there's too much to explain and I wouldn't do it justice, but I will say that everyone came out of this better off in many aspects. The accommodations are wonderful, we were lucky enough to stay in the "Hobbit House", food great, and views amazing, but above all it was the real Costa Rica with real people. Debbie and her husband Steve are so warm and caring. Vacation of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Hobbit House :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarenB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,255 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,851 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
793 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Property: Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Address: Meters South Of Super Kiki 500, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21012, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort is located on 26 acres with spectacular viewing of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna. Enjoy the panoramic vista of Arenal and Cerro Chato from a hammock on your porch or from your comfortable, orthopedic, queen sized beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Meals prepared using locally grown ingredients at the Lava Lizard on-site dining facility. Guests are invited to help with daily 'chores' on this working farm. Milk a cow, collect eggs for breakfast or groom a horse. Enjoy private horseback riding, professional guide service, on site spa and 2 km of on site nature trails. The vision at Leaves and Lizards is to create the perfect blend of adventure, discovery and tranquility for each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing