We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we stayed in the congo cabin which had an amazing view of arenal volcano which we never tired of looking at while swinging in the hammock. it had two double beds, a lovely bathroom, large balcony area and a fridge. it was a short walk to the lava lizard for breakfast and dinner which were delicious, we loved the costa rican specialities while the children enjoyed the pizza!
the highlight of our stay was the horseback ride to the private waterfall. even my 5 year old managed to do the ride on his own because the horses are so well trained and we had a fantastic lesson from debbie before we even got on the horse.
our kids also enjoyed collecting eggs and milking the cows in the morning. debbie also arranged for us to have a guide for a day (Mariela) who was wonderful and definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susannah365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

This far exceeded all our expectations.
We spent three nights over our spring break and wished we had stayed longer.
The cabins are wonderful. We stayed in the monkey cabin with a postcard view of the volcano.
We ate at the restaurant every breakfast and dinner. The food was delicious, and we are pretty picky, even consider ourselves mild foodies. Fresh chicken and garden vegetables were awesome.
We took a horseback ride to the waterfall our first day. That was a highlight of our week. Guides were very knowledgable and they really taught us about the horses.
The staff were all very nice and helpful.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, but especially families with kids.

Room Tip: Monkey cabin was awesome. Great view of volcano from the rocking chairs and hammocks on the front p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were in the Hummingbird cabin that had a direct view of the Arenal Volcano. It didn't erupt while we were there, but it was still a great front row seat. We felt we were in the jungle. The plants in front of our porch attracted several different kinds of hummingbirds which we were happy to watch. Early in the morning we were treated to toucans in one of the tall trees behind our cabin. We felt that we were far away from civilization with all the modern conveniences...stove, refrigerator, running water, lovely bathrooms and ceiling fans. It was truly one of the most relaxing 3 days I've ever spent.
We were close enough to La Fortuna that we could visit hot springs and other attractions, but we came back to peace and quiet.
The restaurant was very nice and very convenient. There was a meat selection and a vegetarian selection and you could always get pizza if neither of those appealed to you. I found the meals tasty, but the vegetarian dishes were underdone.
The owner was more than happy to share his story and it was fun getting to know him.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueFieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We've traveled quite a bit around the world and our trip to Leaves and Lizards surpassed all expectations. I could write many chapters, and here are just a few highlights: Our casita, Mariposa, was quite a trek to and from the dining room - excellent exercise! - and we so enjoyed watching the hummingbirds and butterflies from the hand-woven hammock. I treated myself to a massage - right at the casita! - and was taken care of by loving and experienced hands. We had a couple of beers and homemade fruit juice in the fridge when we arrived (refreshed daily), the casita was spotless with robes and plenty of towels and a very large shower/toilet room just off the kitchenette area with coffee/tea maker, plates, microwave and utensils. We'd awaken after a deep deep sleep to the dawn light on the volcano in the distance and take an outside shower a few steps off the porch, one day with the neighbors' gentle cows visiting. No AC, no internet, no TV - thank heavens! And if we wanted we could always plug in with the dining hall's wifi. Food was homemade, plentiful and individually prepared, served by such lovely locals who delighted in teaching us Spanish words for each dish. We had never ridden horses before, and as members of the Eat Pray Ride workshop at Leaves and Lizards, we are experienced novice equestrians now! Our last full day was spent at Hanging Bridges (fabulous) and a little tourista shopping with a driver and guide arranged through Steve and Debbie, who really know how to take care of their guests. Private transfers to and from San Jose were also arranged by L&L, with safe, courteous and friendly drivers. We will be back!

Room Tip: Mariposa is a great casita choice for people who enjoy a short but steep hill up and down to the din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheilagh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Our 13 and 10 year old loved Leaves and Lizards from the moment we arrived. The Toucan room has amazing views and the sounds of nature are spectacular. The horse back riding was very special. It was so good we booked a second tour to the river. The second time it was just our family and two guides. The horses were amazing and the guides extremely friendly and accommodating.

We enjoyed having meals at Leaves and Lizards and using this time to meet other families staying there.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank NormaSD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in the Congo cabin for 5 nights. Our stay couldn't have been better -- the view was amazing, the food terrific and the staff incredible. We were busy from morning to night -- horseback riding to a private waterfall, guide for a day, hanging bridges and we even were "city "slickers" and herded cows for 11 miles another day! The cabins are private and the beds so comfortable. L&L is a fantastic place for our family, but also couples and older people. Yes, it is off the beaten path but well worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knittytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in the monkey cabin for 4 nights during our first trip to Costa Rica. All the folks at Leaves and Lizards are super friendly and helpful - as other reviewers have noted. The cabins are right in the rain forest which is very beautiful. Our neighbors in the cabin next door had a mother and baby sloth hanging out right by their porch. Make sure you go by horseback to the private waterfall. It is a very special place. L&L was our home base to go ziplining, hiking and going to the hot springs. The only thing we said we wouldn't do again was the hike to the volcano at the National Park. You get amazing views right from your front porch. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Monkey cabin was perfect for our family of 4 (kids aged 8 and 10)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMF3448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,332 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
843 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,317 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,428 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Address: Meters South Of Super Kiki 500, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21012, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £126 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort is located on 26 acres with spectacular viewing of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna. Enjoy the panoramic vista of Arenal and Cerro Chato from a hammock on your porch or from your comfortable, orthopedic, queen sized beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Meals prepared using locally grown ingredients at the Lava Lizard on-site dining facility. Guests are invited to help with daily 'chores' on this working farm. Milk a cow, collect eggs for breakfast or groom a horse. Enjoy private horseback riding, professional guide service, on site spa and 2 km of on site nature trails. The vision at Leaves and Lizards is to create the perfect blend of adventure, discovery and tranquility for each guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing