We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando
1 review
“Rustic Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

I had a great time. Everyone was extremely friendly. Debbie and Steve went out of their way to accomodate us in any way to make sure we were able to explore and do as much as we can on our trip. Leaves and Lizzards have many contacts for travel guides that know the best places to go. They have experienced many obstacles, such as repelling down waterfalls to hiking around the volcano, themselves, which allows them to show us the places worth our time.
Waking up to freshly cooked breakfast and fresh squeezed juice was a treat we looked forward to every morning, while waking up to a gorgeous view of the volcano. In my opinion, Leaves and Lizzards is the only way to go in Costa Rica.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the rough roads leading up to Leaves and Lizzards... but its worth it!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank candycanemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    50
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
306
172
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2007

Our first stop on our two week trip in Costa Rica. This is a great place if you are looking for horseback riding and relaxation and you don't want to stay in La Fortuna. It is located approximately 40 minutes drive from La Fortuna in a town called Monterrey. Our hosts Debbie and Steve were very accomodating and the food was delicious and the cabins very clean. We enjoyed the Arenal area and stopped at Eco termales on our way to their house for hot springs and dinner which Debbie so kindly booked for us and it was amazing. Hiked Arenal
National Park and soaked at Tabacon the following day and had dinner with them that night and dinner was fantastic! If you are looking for a stay off the beaten path but is still fairly close to La Fortuna and the volcano than this is your destination. They also offer tours, reasonably priced massages on site and truly are great hosts. Just ensure you have a 4x4 vehicle as the gravel roads are crazy!!!.

  • Liked — remoteness and quiet
  • Disliked — bugs in the room at night if you have the light on but Debbie is buying netting so it should be fine for future visitors
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockinfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CostaRicaSteveandDeb, Owner at Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat, responded to this review, 29 April 2007
Hey, thanks for the advice! Most of our guests enjoy reading at night. The new mosquito netting over the beds adds romance and a barrier for the moths that are attracted to the reading light. -Steve and Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2007

The stay we had with Steve and Debbie was great. We had just come from the humid Pacific coast and the weather at their place was breezy, cool at night and in the 70's during the day.

The cabins were new with modern bathrooms, large tile shower and exotic wood floors and a huge picture window looking out over the porch and a great view of the volcano.

Debbie suggested several things for us to do including the zip lines. ( it did not cure my fear of heights).
I personally had more fun riding their horses and visiting the waterfalls and jungles on the farms of their neighbors.
I was amazed at the trail that Orlando, their neighbor had created through the rainforest jungle on his farm. It was a mile long engineering marvel and he apparantly had built it all himself. We got photos of a white faced monkey, sloth, leaf cutter ants, huge jungle trees, poison dart frogs and lots of volcano photos.

They catered to our schedule, nothing was set in stone, the meals were great and the only regret we had was having to leave. Pura Vida!

G. Cross
Georgia, USA

  • Liked — see review
  • Disliked — see review
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cherokee111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2007

We spent six nights at Steve and Deb's cabin retreat. The last 3km of
our journey was bumpy but soon forgotten once we arrived. Our cabin was perfect! Modern, but rustic, clean, comfortable, quiet, and peaceful. The views of Arenal, the valley, and surrounding countryside were spectacular. And, of course, we heard the howler monkeys each and every night. We ate our meals, family-style, at the
"gathering kitchen", just a 5 minute walk from our cabin. The food was fresh, authentic, and delicious, thanks to talented and beautiful
Mireya. She is pure gold, as far as we are concerned. Each and every day was packed with many tours, each one amazing and unforgettable. We had no worries with reservations or transportation. Steve and Deb took care of all details, making our stay completely stress free. We will never forget our time at Leaves and Lizards and we will definitely return.
Thanks, Steve and Deb. You two are awesome.
John and Sandy Owen
Duluth MN USA

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank sjoDuluthMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2007

Our trip to Costa Rica was amazing and one of the highlights was our stay at Leaves and Lizards. It is quiet, relaxing, beautiful cabins and Steve and Debbie made us and our children feel right at home. The service and food was personalized to our families needs and everyone was so welcoming and friendly. The horseback ride to a secluded waterfall with local guides was amazing - we had it all to ourselves! I would highly recommend this trip and Leaves and Lizards as a must on your Costa Rica holiday.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Canuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2007

We loved our stay with Debbie and Steve. They have a beautiful piece of property that they have done amazing work to. Their main building and cabins are very nice. The food and drinks are amazing as well. They provide chioces to what you eat and when. They are very hospitable and provide a home away from home! We will definately go back!

  • Liked — comfort
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RN4ever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2007

Debbie and Steve gave that personal touch to each one of our family members that included my 75 year old mother. They went out of their way to help us book the most fantastic and sensible tours. My mother enjoyed the tour of the primary forest. Our sons, who are 21 and 25 years old, had the experience of their lifetime zippying through the canopies on a tour recommended by Debbie and Steve. They also rode Debbie and Steve's horses on a wonderful trail. We all enjoyed the flavors of Costa Rican cooking from their fantastic cook. We were craving more of her delicious food which included fresh fruit and juices. (Star fruit is grown right on the property!) My husband's birthday was celebrated in such a family style that we will never forget the volcano cake! At night, we were able to view the lava flows glowing in the distance. Our cameras were set to the proper shutter speed and we got some fantastic pictures! It was so romantic and quite a site to behold. Accommodations included large spacious cabins and brand new facilities. The cabin we reserved had a wonderful mural that depicted a theme. It was great to come "home" to after a fun-filled day of sightseeing. Waking up in the morning to a spectacular view of the forest was awesome. We did not get to see all the places that were available on the tour packages so we are planning our next vacation to Debbie and Steve's to continue our quest for more nature, more food flavors, and more family fun! Compliments to Debbie and Steve! Thank you. Hope to see you next year!

  • Liked — Personal attention to our needs whatever they were!
  • Disliked — Small section of unpaved road to the cabin, soon to be paved!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tangerine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.2 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Property: Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Address: Meters South Of Super Kiki 500, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21012, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort is located on 26 acres with spectacular viewing of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna. Enjoy the panoramic vista of Arenal and Cerro Chato from a hammock on your porch or from your comfortable, orthopedic, queen sized beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Meals prepared using locally grown ingredients at the Lava Lizard on-site dining facility. Guests are invited to help with daily 'chores' on this working farm. Milk a cow, collect eggs for breakfast or groom a horse. Enjoy private horseback riding, professional guide service, on site spa and 2 km of on site nature trails. The vision at Leaves and Lizards is to create the perfect blend of adventure, discovery and tranquility for each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing