We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This place is just beautiful. Beautiful grounds and beautiful cabins. The staff here are welcoming friendly and go above and beyond expectations of good service. The pool and the hot springs are a great asset to this hotel and we also enjoyed the food in the restaurant. The owners of the hotel are great hosts noticing that we were enjoying the pool suggested that we should go to la fortunate waterfall... They even drove us there themselves. After our stay at in arenal we were going on to tortugero the hotel was concerned for our safety in getting public transport and the owners offered to drive us to the port to catch the boat (4 hour drive away) for a very reasonable price. Overall we were very impressed with the location our cabin and the service and would recommend anyone visiting arenal to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meelee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Visited this cute hideaway during low season for two nights. It is personal and we were welcomed by great service and sweet attention. The room was rustic and simple, but the view of vulcano Arenal from the door step was magnific. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant was closed for lunch and dinner, which we had not been informed of. However, staff was helpful in organizing for delivery service of food. Breakfast had all we could ask for and staff went out of their way in helping us with excursions and other transport arrangements. Nice garden with pool, hot springs and great view.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank CeciliaGruvberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great hospitiality of the staff, excellent varied breakfast, beautiful cabins with a lot of nature and wood used. We had a really great time. Nice view to the Arenal and good location from where to move about.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 856Vincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I and wifey stayed here for 3 nights, we had great time and were very happy. It's pretty close to downtown ($8 by taxi). Michael who works at the reception was very helpful and helped us arrange all the activities and got us a good discounts (Ask Michale for it). "Anita" who own the place was great, very friendly and an amazing cook. She cooked dinner for us one day since we missed breakfast, as we were out in the morning for an activity. Just the personal touch ! made us feel so special. I really enjoyed chilling in their lounge, Good book + nice view + cigar + good coffee...Life is Good ! The bathrooms were clean, but definitely need an upgrade, and they should include more choices in the breakfast. Overall Highly Recommend this place, if you are looking for friendly staff, location and value for money !

Room Tip: Name your price, they will work with you to accommodate you. Don't be shy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We booked for one night but immediatley when we arrived we booked more nights.
The welcome was very personal and warm. The location was beautiful and very relaxed. And it is so nearby everything you want to visit, see or do. But the stay is so relaxing. Thanks Kokoro for a super stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I spent three nights at Kokoro Arenal in September 2013 and loved the entire experience! The owners David and Anita are fantastic and really made you feel like family. On my first night there Anita cooked an exceptionally delicious meal for the guests herself, and really made an effort to get to know everyone. Natalie and Fernando at the front desk were amazing hosts and provided excellent service, in addition to being lovely to chat with. As a solo traveller I felt very welcome.

The property was also gorgeous. My cabina was well-appointed and spotlessly clean, and the hot springs and volcano views on the property were great. I wish I'd spent more of my vacation here and would recommend it to anyone visiting in the Arenal area!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingGirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My family (husband, children 4 & 8 years old) and I stayed at the Kokoro Hotel for 6 days in July. We had read the reviews on Tripadvisor and I really wanted to love this place. Unfortunately, I can say that we would not stay there again, and we were glad to leave at the end of our stay.
First impression: The first impression of the Kokoro is not the best: a huge container of insecticide sits right by the entrance of the property. Once on the grounds, the property is beautifully landscaped, and very well cared for. The reception was great and we felt welcome.
Our cabin was cabin #1, and again, the first impression was not so great. The cabin is so dark, even during the day with all lights switched on. It really felt like a bat’s cave. That said, the cabin was very clean, and the bed comfortable. Hot water was an issue, and made kids’ showers a nightmare: the water would go from FREEZING cold to BURNING hot every minute or so. We also had a problem with the air conditioning and it took three visits from the maintenance man, and three days to get it fixed. During that time, the cabin was very muggy and uncomfortable, and we were told that the AC unit was fine, and just to not use it.
Another issue was with breakfast. Breakfast is included, and quite tasty. The Koroko will actually even make you some items to order. The only problem is that breakfast is supposed to start at 7:00am, but rarely is ready until 7:15- 7:20. That would not be an issue normally, but most activities (ziplining, ATV, Canyoneering) pick you up at the hotel at around 7:10-7:30, and four days in a row, we could not eat our breakfast before we were picked up.
The pool is beautiful at the hotel. They have a waterfall coming into the water, but it was turned on only one day during our stay. The same applies to the thermal pools, the waterfalls were never turned on.
Overall, would we have stayed only a day or two, I think we would have loved our stay. Yes, the cabin feels like a hot, muggy grotto, but we could have lived with it, as the people working at the reception were so nice and helpful (minus the AC issue). One of the staff also has an ADORABLE puppy she brought to work and the kids loved it (we did too, what a nice dog, and we are cat people!). But all the little issues combined made it so we were actually happy to move on to our next hotel, and we would not recommend to family and friends to stay there, as the minuses outweighed the positives.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2013akelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.2 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
839 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,378 reviews
5.7 mi away
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Address: 500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £68 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing