We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Extremely Friendly and Helpful Management Team” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Extremely Friendly and Helpful Management Team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The rooms are simple, but well equiped. Our room was quiet and had everything we needed. My only complaint would be that I would have liked more light in the room at night. Most of the furniture in the room was made on site. We especially liked the dining area for breakfast. The food was good and the chef would often visit with guests. If you have a chance, join them for dinner. They do not serve every night, but if they do, the food is very good and quite a bargain.

If you have time for a nature walk, ask the management to contact Giovani to take you on a very reasonable and great tour of the area to see birds and frogs.

This hotel has a great staff. Get to know them on your visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimger90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ichamomdad, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear jimger90
TheTeam at Kokoro Hotel would like to thank you for the moment taken to share your experiences with the readers.

Our commitment is to our guests and we aim to excel in our standards for a unique hospitality experience. We listen carefully and understand your observations.

Your contributions help us to orient our staff, and improve the standards that we seek to improve in our daily operations.
We will be incorporating the new ideas with our team members,
We will incorporate better ligthning, and we will aproove our maintnance with this.

Thank you again for preferring us.
We value your contribution and we hope that in the near future we have the opportunity to welcome you again and share with your our new and improved facilities.

With our best and sincere regards, we thank you again.

Hotel Kokoro Team

Nathalie P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    188
    66
    25
    15
See reviews for
186
297
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Views were amazing, room was clean and breakfast and dinner were excellent. Friendly, helpful staff and nice open air lobby with WI-FI and complimentary coffee and tea. Beautiful grounds, close to activities but far enough away from town to create a peaceful surrounding. S. Mabery - Michigan

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smabery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ichamomdad, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear smabery

The Team at Kokoro Hotel would like to thank you for the moment taken to share your experiences with the readers.

It is a pleasure to hear that you were able to enjoy your vacation with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience in the near future.

Warmest greetings

Hotel Kokoro Team

Nathalie P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

A friend and I stayed here the first week of January. We stayed in one of the eco-cabins. It was huge for two people. The room was clean and the staff was welcoming and helpful. The food at breakfast was good and the grounds were beautiful and well tended. I would definitely stay here again. The hotel is a little ways out of town (10-15 minute drive) which wasn't a big deal as we had a rental. The only issue we had (which really wasn't a big deal) is that we couldn't get a wifi signal from our cottage. We had to sit in the lobby to get the signal. Like I said, not a big deal. The lobby was comfortable and open and the weather was lovely so being outside was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenSpen128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We rented one of the eco-cabins and really liked it. I have read numerous issues that people had with the hotel, and can't say that we experienced any of the same issues. You are out in the middle of no where, that is true. The location is a bit of a pain in the butt, however the hotel makes up for it with beautiful grounds and adorable, clean, and comfortable cabins. We didn't find ours musty at all. If you choose to stay at this hotel, know that you are communing with nature. It is likely that you will find a bug or two in your cabin. Get over it.

The staff were brilliant and helped us book our tours, provided information and were overall really lovely. The service we got was top notch.

I have seen plenty of comments about the pool. We used it and thought it was just fine. We laughed our butts off at the review that goes on and on about the pool "waterfall" that didn't work. It wasn't working while we there either but who would notice or care in such beautiful surroundings with an awesome volcano view?? We also used the hot springs every night. Not all the pools were full and the water was indeed a little murky looking (some just are - not the first time I have seen this), but they felt great. The hot spring pools are filled for 4 pm but don't attempt to get in until about 7pm - they are darn hot at 4!

Breakfast is included and we found it delicious. The only downfall of this place is that they are located so far from town so that meal planning is a bit of a pain. It would be nice if their restaurant was full service. We did take out and it was fine. In reflecting on our experience, we felt that in spite of the distance from town, we were happier to have stayed here. The town is just alright. I am happy we made the choice to stay in this beautiful location instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indigocat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I will start by saying that while I do appreciate the finer things in life, I am not a snob if I come across that way. This place is not what it's advertised to be, and maybe if you only sleep and eat there it's ok, but not what we were expecting AT ALL!!! The place is in need to some TLC.

We arrived late one night and were led to our casona, only to find that the latches on the windows had come off and the windows couldn't close... which would've been fine if there was a safe in the room (I had read that there had recently been some theft at Kokoro so we were concerned about our important belongings). While some may say that you shouldn't bring expensive things on vacation, when it comes to my camera and passport and cash... well.... Also, the room was in DIRE need of updating. It smells horribly of must, and then when looking aorund, I saw that the wood that was used to build it and decoration was covered in white mold. NOT OK. The shower doors fell apart and on me in the shower. NOT OK. 3 strikes in the first hour.

The next day we asked for another room and were upgraded to a cabina (at our expense), which would've been awesome if I didn't hear every move that the people in the next cabina made. It was a family with young children and I was traveling with my boyfriend. Not great, but better than before. Still, we weren't able to get a good night's sleep here because we were awoken by our neighbors.

Hot springs? No. Try a murky yellow opaque pool that is questionable to go in. The other pools were left empty. They pump it every day, but still... I would like to see my feet, or at least my hands. We went in the first night because we were so beat but upon looking at it the next day, we decided to go to Tabacon which cost us a pretty penny. Whatever made the pool yellow and murky also stained our bathing suits.

Hiking trails? Nope, try one trail that just goes alongside the main drive.

The only saving grace was breakfast every morning. It was fresh and typical tico fare: gallo pinto (rice and black beans), scrambled eggs, fresh fruit (YUM) and veggies. I'm gluten intolerant so I didn't try the pancakes but I was very happy with breakfast and there are a ton of birds that like to hand near the pavilion. Unfortunately they only serve breakfast, and don't tell you that if you order food to be delivered, you also have to pay for the cab driver to deliver it (which was like an additional $10).

Also, Natalie at the front desk was super kinda and helpful and understanding.

Room Tip: go somewhere else for this $
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSigal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

A lovely serene place efficient and great staff. Good local tours! Loved the hot springs. The gardens are excellent and beautiful a step back into the tropics! Food excellent! the cabins are comfortable if a little spartan! An oasis in its own right!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MickeyBoyWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Good base to visit the volcano, canyoning,etc,...but dont expect chilling in your room as the dampness in the area is very visible, in your room. You can smell damp everywhere, not nice.
I hear it is the same everywhere in the area, to be checked.
Service was friendly, dont get your expectations too high.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jean marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
4.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Property: Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Address: 500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km Northwest, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing