We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Getaway in Arenal Volcano, Its right in front of you!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We got here and spent 4 beautiful days, despite the afternoon rains. The rooms were very spacious and the beds were quite big. The hotel even offered our grandchildren some single beds in the rooms. The staff was great as they took their time and sat down with us and helped us plan out our tours. The view from each of the rooms was spectacular as we could see the volcano right from our terrace. We were able to catch some lava on the first night, the other nights were cloudy. Breakfast was good, with lots of fruits, but the best part was having breakfast with all the birds. The hotel also has some trails which were great morning exercises. All in all, it was great. We were not able to use the jacuzzi however because it was being remodeled, but for sure next time we come. Great great place

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIPAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2009

My friends and I were looking to find a cheap place and we stumbled on Kokoro. We didnt know what to expect , but wow! The entrance looks shady, but once you are in, you will be blown away. It set off the main street so its really quite and you have the volcano right in front of you. We were able to catch the volcano in our rooms, of which are huge by the way. breakfast was good, lots of fresh fruit and lots of birds around the area, we even saw 3 different types of toucans and a crested guan. The owners are really nice, they are very very helpful as we didnt know the roads and they showed us some really neat places. Make sure you ask them if they have specials, but the owners gave us a discount right away, without us even asking. Wish we would ahve stayed more nights. The cabins are great, all wood, and the BEDS were the highlight! My girlfriend even did yoga at their resting ranch! all in all a great place! would definately go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We arrived at Kokoro the first day of our arrival in Costa Rica, what a great place! We stayed there for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The setting is secluded and beautiful and a real paradise for those interested in bird watching. We were hardly there for 10 min that we saw a toucan, a crested guan and green parrots perched right outside of our room! You can also take a small trail that goes inside the forest on the property. The room was clean, comfortable and very large, with a great view of the the forest. Breakfast was nice with beautiful view of volcan Arenal.
The service was exceptional, the family who owns the place, in particular David and his mother, are the nicest people we have ever met! we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We traveled with our kids and parents and stayed at Kokoro for 3 nights. The service was exceptional - Ileana and Anita made us feel very comfortable and at home and were always willing to help. The setting was very beautiful and secluded and it's a very small property which makes it very quaint. Breakfast was good, not anything extraordinary, but nice. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, but we thought they could be just a bit cleaner. There isn't a lot to do on site, but we just used it as a place to sleep and stop in between our excursions. Overall, we would recommend it and would go back to the hotel in the future, especially since they are adding to the hotel soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We enjoyed our stay in Kokoro Lodge in La Fortuna for 3 nights. The hotel staff was friendly and the breakfast was amazing. When we visited, they were just constructing the swimming pool, so we missed out. But, they have nice backyard and an in-house trail. It was magical to get up early at 6am watching clouds go past Arenal. The staff was friendly although the A/C broke. They moved us to another room closer to the lobby and we could enjoy the wi-fi connection. Also, the interior road is not paved, so its a big hassle to get-in and out of the hotel. You would find even better value for money at Las Lagos 5mins from this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YngCplSantaClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

It would have been both tempting and easy for the La Selva folks to jump on the kitsch bandwagon in Arenal. Tourists flock no matter what. But this hotel provides a very personal experience: the cabins are large, well insulated (no bugs, air con), with two spacious double beds in the large cabins that was more than comfortable for 4 girlfriends. The porch was perfect for drinks and snacks with the rain pouring down. When one friend's husband popped in last minute, another room was freed up with no hassle. The food is simple and fresh, flowers and hummingbirds abound, the pool is clean, and the volcano provides a lovely backdrop. Yes, you have to drive a bit to get to the volcano, but it's more than worth it to have the view and be separated from the hordes of tourists obsessed with being right on top of it. The staff of La Selva give you space but make sure your room is spotless.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darfuronvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Kokoro La Selva Resort in Costa Rica
This was an amazing place to stay. Beautiful cabins, Room is big, clean, comfy, and beautiful with large windows and huge bathroom, and an outside porch.

Enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal Volcano right in front you door.

Cabins surrounding by beautiful tropic plants and the grounds are lush.

It’s a convenience location to do hose back riding, night tours, mountain bike and many other activity.

The location is perfect just few miles outside of the town city of La Fortuna.
Stayed only one night but wish we can stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverTravelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.2 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
842 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,585 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,379 reviews
5.7 mi away
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Address: 500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £68 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing