We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$99
View Deal
Free cancellation until 18/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$97
View Deal
Free cancellation until 18/03/21
Expedia.com
US$97
View Deal
Free cancellation until 18/03/21
eDreamsUS$99
TravelocityUS$97
CheapTicketsUS$97
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
472
234
76
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
472
234
76
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs costa rica reception area beautiful grounds surrounded by nature every morning reception desk low season volcano view pura vida rental car thermal pools hanging bridges kokomo cabin arenal birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2019

Very lovely grounds and peaceful and serene. This is very secluded which was great for us as we had tours arranged that picked us up at the hotel. The rooms were very large and clean. If you did not have a car or transportation arranged it could be a problem. We had one room with a king sized bed and massive shower and another room with a king and twin. This was perfect for our family of 5. Loved the patio area each room had. The tropical decor was very nice. Food was good but fairly average hotel food for dinner. I would plan to go elsewhere for dinner. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Very enjoyable two night stay.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GratefulGeorgiaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2019

We stayed here in Dec over Christmas break. It was a lovely grounds and it was very quiet and peaceful. The staff were all fantastic and helpful. The hotel even organized a Christmas Eve buffet dinner, which was very nice and a lot of fun. Our room was clean and had a great view. I think we had a 'standard' view room, but our porch looked straight at the volcano. There were two queen beds and a twin bed, so plenty of space for our family of four.
The hot springs onsite were a really nice bonus since it is included in the room price. The other hot springs nearby are quite pricey. The temperature was just perfect to sit and soak in for long periods. We used the springs every night of our stay, it was always a nice way to end a great day of exploring.
The location was just perfect for us. It was between town and the activities like Sky Adventure and Arenal national park. We had a rental car and so had no problems getting around to our locations.
Breakfast was always tasty and usually included eggs, gallo pinto (rice/beans), plantains, fresh fruit, along with some items that they alternated daily. We also ate dinner here two evenings and always had a good meal.
The grounds were very peaceful to walk, they have a variety of decorative tropical plants on well groomed grounds. You can also take a walk down their 'jungle path' which is a longer path than I thought it would be. The path winds down by a small creek and you feel like you are in the middle of the forest, while you are still on the hotel property.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the area.

Room tip: Standard view rooms do view the volcano, the 'volcano view' rooms have a better view with glass doors on the cabins.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

Peggy was very welcoming and offered suggestions for us to do while in la Fortuna. She set up our tours without hesitation and very quickly. The grounds are very well kept and the pool and restaurant on site wwere quaint. Staff very friendly. A bit far from town and requires taking a taxi to any activity in the surrounding area. However if you want to see birds, since you are so far from the town you will feel a part of nature. Overall great experience.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018

My daughter & I stayed there for 2 nights last week. Great bungalow, spacious, lg bathroom, nice shower; wonderful breakfast that was included.
Great AC & hot water.
Staff was very courteous & friendly.
We also had a massage. One of the best I’ve ever had.
C. White
San Antonio, Tx

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clw81810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Hotel Kokoro offers a very relaxing environment where you can feel part of the nature. Surrounded by trees, little animals, birds(sucks as woodpeckers), and even monkeys. Had the opportunity to see a sloth near the hotel.

At the time of my stay, the hot springs were fully functioning. As soon as you get in, you can see that its mineral water. After 2 minutes inside the spring, your body will start feeling relaxed.

I booked a superior room, which had majestic view of the Arenal Volcano right in the front(see pictures). In general the room was very clean! Had a problem with the hot water in the bathroom, however as soon as we notified them about the issue, they came right away to fix it.

The staff is very friend and the manager seems to be very nice person. Couldn't talk much to her since we were in a rush to be on time for the chocolate tour. Yes, they can help you schedule tours around the area.

The hotel does have a restaurant, in case you are tired and do not want to travel to downtown Fortuna to have lunch or dinner. The food variety is okay and the prices were in our budget.

Overall our experience was as wanted, being part and surrounded by nature, to get away from the view of the city.

Room tip: Offers a wonderful view of the Arenal Volcano-Try to book a Superior Room
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongF k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews