We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$99
View Deal
Free cancellation until 18/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$94
View Deal
Free cancellation until 18/03/21
Expedia.com
US$94
View Deal
Free cancellation until 18/03/21
eDreamsUS$99
CheapTicketsUS$94
ZenHotels.comUS$104
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
472
234
76
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
472
234
76
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs costa rica reception area beautiful grounds surrounded by nature every morning reception desk low season volcano view pura vida rental car thermal pools hanging bridges kokomo cabin arenal birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2019

Lovely oriental family from Hong Kong own and manage the lodge. Everything is clean and tidy. The grounds are gorgeous. Our cabin was huge (sleeps 5) with a large bathroom. Relaxing porch to enjoy and view the volcano. There is AC if needed, but the weather was spring like so we used it rarely. Breakfast (included) was delicious and the staff made sure or vegan needs were met. There is a small, hot mineral spring right on the property as well as a large pool. Hot tea and coffee are available in the open lobby on a continuous basis - self-serve. Easy to travel to the lake and also into La Fortuna to dine. Fridge in the room.

Room tip: We loved #5 facing the volcano but I think most have a great view.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliginn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay and just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

Recently stayed for a couple of nights. As others have said the accommodation is lodge style, fits in with the local environment and appears to try to be as eco friendly as possible.
The accommodation itself is a five minute drive out of town, no issue if you have a car. We found our volcano view lodge to be very basic, no frills but ok to spend a couple of nights. Broken shower fixture that hadn’t been fixed so had to have a handheld shower, only one small towel provided for each guest in the room.
Pool looked ok, didn’t use. Hot springs in hotel grounds, didn’t use as we went to some in town.
The grounds are beautiful. Loads of birds and wildlife around the grounds, having breakfast is like sitting in an aviary, so many birds to watch over a leisurely breakfast. Breakfast was ok, had the staples but not a huge choice.
WiFi was pretty poor but to be expected given the location.
Just a word of caution, we had a plastic bag with a banana in it on a spare bed, something came into the room and ate half of the banana overnight....probably a lizard or similar. It didn’t bother us but we were careful not to have any food in the room the second night. Wildlife noises did tend to keep us awake most of the night too, constantly sounded like something was running around in your room, but again given the location this was to be expected.
Probably wouldn’t stay here again, I think there is probably nicer accommodation in the area.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stalig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear Traveler. . I appreciate your positive and constructive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. We will put all issue to the related dept. and I apologise that we did not exceed the standard you have received during previous stays. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2019

From the moment we stepped onto this property we were in awe on how gorgeous the layout is. We loved the very personal feel Kokoro offers and the hospitable ambiance of the staff. Kathy was who checked us in, and huge shout out to her and all the other hard workers there!! It was a surprise trip for my spouses 30th birthday and our anniversary and they gave us a complimentary upgrade to the Volcano view room. It was absolutely gorgeous. On the last day the volcano peeked out right as we were walking back with coffee, and it made a perfect ending to our trip.

The hotel is more of a lodge style and very eco-friendly. It is very clean and a great place to feel apart of the community. The food is also very good. If you are there when it is off season they prepare items for you at breakfast- it is not the buffet style. The arroz y pinto desayuno was muy bien! And the staff was also a delight. I cannot really say enough about how great the people are who work here, they are just amazing.

There are hot springs at this hotel as well, so it was very quiet and nice to be able to walk outside to the springs and back to the hotel. The views are also amazing everywhere and and they have a yoga/hammock area!! It was perfect to lounge and drink coffee while listening to the birds.

Overall this hotel was a great stay. It felt cozy and had the local lodge feel. There are animals all over property and it was amazing to feel apart of the nature. I am so happy we stayed here and very thankful for all of the amazing hospitality. Thank you so much!!!

Room tip: volcano view!
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

We spent a wonderful few days at this lovely hotel. We stayed in rustic log cabins and enjoyed delicious breakfasts in the restaurant overlooking the swimming pool. The natural spa pools were a real treat at the end of a busy day and Peggy and her family who run Hotel Kokoro were delightful and couldn't do enough to help us. A real gem.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ali_chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019

Very lovely grounds and peaceful and serene. This is very secluded which was great for us as we had tours arranged that picked us up at the hotel. The rooms were very large and clean. If you did not have a car or transportation arranged it could be a problem. We had one room with a king sized bed and massive shower and another room with a king and twin. This was perfect for our family of 5. Loved the patio area each room had. The tropical decor was very nice. Food was good but fairly average hotel food for dinner. I would plan to go elsewhere for dinner. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Very enjoyable two night stay.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GratefulGeorgiaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews