We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly an oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Truly an oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

These secluded cosy cottages nestled amongst a beautiful reserve truly lives up to its name.. an oasis. Our one bedroom cabin was spacious and spotless, furnished simply in creative rustic style..charming. It is a leisurely fifteen minute walk to the village backdropped by fabulous views of Arenal Volcano and past friendly village folks going about their daily lives. There is a large supermarket at the junction which stocks everything you could need and access to a number of shops, restaurants and sodas. The Bonilla family offer a list of tours which we did not need during our two nights there, but the prices seemed very reasonable. The family themselves are lovely and eager to please. Overall, great value for an intimate ecolodge experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomer-Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    70
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
134
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winchcombe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

As explained already, neither word nor pictures can capture this unique oasis. Owners really care about their environment and are eager to share it with their guests. Thank you for letting us share this.

Room Tip: All looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

A very cosy place, very clean and the grounds are amazing. Breakfast is served in the middle of a beautiful garden with amazing birds all over. The family who runs the place are exceptionally nice and do there best for there guests. I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Usually, a picture is better than words, but no picture can represent the colors, smells and sounds of the forest sorrounding the charming wooden cabins of Arenal Oasis ecolodge. Minutes from La fortuna, but hidden in the forest, the beautiful cabins are an excellent base for traveling in the Arenal area. The place is run by a very friendly family that wilingly adviced us about Arenal volcano, the area and everything we needed in town. Breakfast is served in an open garden, where the owners set fruits that attract so many kinds of colorful birds. Don't miss the night walk! We did it with the lodge's experienced guid who easily tracked many kinds of frogs, snakes, insects etc. and shared his wide knowledge with us.

Room Tip: A two-room family cabin was spacious and excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivki Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This place is breathtaking day and night! I was very pleased at every turn. The views, management, the nature trail, the food, simply everything is wonderful about this place. I really cant wait to return to Costa Rica and to this place:)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenmel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed here on my recent honeymoon. Location is great within the arrenal area to access all the local attractions. Grounds are a beautiful little nature preserve, and each room is its own little cabin with a private parking space-very nice if you want to time to feel alone with the sounds of the jungle. Service was excellent - the man running the place even took the time to draw us a map to rio Celeste national park for a day trip we were planning!

Be aware that it is an Eco-lodge concept place, which means no AC and rooms that are not completely bug-proof. Neither of these things became an issue during our stay.

Overall, a very pretty place to stay for a good value if you plan to be filling most of your day with adventures around the area!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmm5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We traveled to Arenal over Thanksgiving 2011, so the rainy season was just ending. The cabin we had was larger than we needed, we had the 2 bedroom with the tiny kitchenette, which we did not use, but nice to have the frig and counter to sit at. We loved being in the jungle, such a unique experience being able to hike on their trails at your leisure. We did the bird watch tour and the frog hike, loved the frog hike! The bird tour was fine, but we saw more birds eating breakfast sitting outside and others just on the grounds of the Oasis. Nice people and a fun experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsdmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge

Property: Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge
Address: PO Box 21, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful place is the results of several years of conservation, allowing to a different species of animal a new home; at the beginning of the 80's was a big cattle field and now it is a paradise for Sloths, Mexican Anteater, Gray Fox, Ocelots, howler Monkeys, Toucans, Manakines, Hummingbirds, Turkeys, Tree Frogs, Glass Frogs and Poison Dart Frogs, Snakes, Lizards and much more...Accomplishing this rich natural environment, the Rojas Bonilla family created some cabins out in the woods, restaurant and one thematic trail of a several stations all along the refuge, where the visitors get a speech about natural history of the species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Oasis Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing