We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I ended up booking this hotel b/c of the location but I didn't think i would enjoy it very much b/c I didn't like the look of the hotel room. However after staying there, the hotel amenities and the layout of the facilities were top notch and made me completely forget about the room itself.

First, the hot springs pool at the front was convenient and always perfect for unwinding after a day full of local tours/adventures.

Second, the grounds/facilities were very nicely laid out, well kept, and the staff was friendly and attentive. Everyone was helpful and the view of the volcano from the porch was wonderful!

The beds were clean and comfortable. The only recommendation I have is that they need to change the lighting from the bright white light to a softer, warmer light.

Btw, the walls are thin. Be ready for it.

Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhu_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,905 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

Our room here was great. Spacious, with an incredible view of the Arenal Volcano. At least for our first day. The second day the volcano was hidden by clouds. But our stay here was still wonderful. The food was good, and the dining room had great views of the surrounding forest. I really enjoyed the way the hotel was organized. Rooms were scattered in pairs along a main road. It was a very peaceful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nphipps76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in our recent visit to Costa Rica and the hotel overall was really nice. I like the staff which was really friendly and helpful, loved the decoration in the room and the uniqueness of the bathroom design (it has a real tree in there!), but there are some things they need to improve.

We had dinner in the restaurant twice and the food was great, but we all noticed that the portions were kind of small for a regular adult. I'm a small girl and I don't eat a lot, but the amount of skirt steak in my sandwich was not even 2 ounzes, that doesn't compensate paying about $20 per person. In the other hand, the breakfast is complementary and very good.

The other thing that we noticed is that they have to work on the entrance, you have to drive about half a mile away from the main road to get to the hotel entrance, but the road is not paved, which makes it really hard if you're driving a small car like the one we rented for the trip. Also the rooms are individually located, like cabins, but the lighting outdoors is a little poor at night, which might be a little dangerous because there are snakes and frogs in the are. A good thing is that they offer free transportation inside the hotel facilities (the place is huge!)

Overall is a great hotel, very clean and with a wonderful view to the volcano, the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because of the things I pointed out in this review

Room Tip: Choosing a room near the restaurant is convenient if you don't like walking long distances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YAMILE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is a beautiful hotel, and all the rooms have a view of Arenal Volcano - or they would, if the clouds would clear and the rain would stop! November is supposed to be dry season, but it was late coming this year, as we had torrential downpours several of our 11 days. We saw only clouds the first afternoon, but at breakfast the next morning the clouds cleared for a few minutes, and we could see the top of Mt. Arenal. We had hoped to see the eruptions at night, but no luck. Our room was very nice - 2 queen beds, very spacious and clean, and one of the most elegant bathrooms we've ever seen. We would definitely recommend this hotel, but not in November!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bojean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Staff was very friendly. Hotel was very nice with Valcano view. We spend 4 night. Bathroom was vey nice.

Room Tip: all the room have valcano view. open porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine91013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Though our stay was at the end of the Rainy season we were fortunate enough to enjoy 1 morning of clear skies and AMAZING volcano views right from our bed. In all our travels we have rarely found a hotel with so many employees so focused on service and making you feel welcome (a bellman remembered our entire family by name after the first day and our house keeper upon taking notice of my son's toys in the room) made him and elephant laying on a rock with the towel and a brown blanket! To return to the room and see that with a few of his animal toys positioned around it made his ENTIRE DAY!!!!! Clean hotel, loved the little garden in the bathroom, nice complimentary breakfast ---LOVE The cheese and fresh yogurt daily, hot springs pool was nice after a long day as well. 5 STARS---esp for the PRICE!

Room Tip: If travelling with a family I would recommend getting a junior suite! So much more space and huge ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuarttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

When driving down the unpaved road leading to the hotel I was very skeptical about what I would find. I am so pleasantly surprised by my stay at Arenal Manoa. The staff is incredible and extremely friendly. We got to know all of the waiters and bartenders through daily interactions and pleasantries. Our room had a perfect view of the volcano and we even had monkeys playing in the backyard! The food at the restaurant was very good and the breakfast buffet had a lot of options. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimlp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,085 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,578 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £106 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing