We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if You Have a Car”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Hotel had a great first impression. The rooms where nice with a great view of the volcano and a private tropical patio with nice chairs. The springs (pool with spring water) was nice. It had a swim up bar and a nice happy hour. The restaurant was good. The biggest problem I think is that it is really for someone that has a car or planned activities everyday. We do like to walk but the grounds are really large to get from one place to another fast. You cannot walk to town and had to get a cab. I cannot remember the price. We walked to the farm they have but could not get a tour as we did not plan correctly on that one. My Ipad could not get the wifi for some reason. I iphone had no trouble. Other people with Ipads got the internet and believe me I tried for days. Just had to read my news when I got back to the City!!!

Room Tip: The Rooms in the 200 Block I believe to all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,863 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

The first impression at the drab lobby is not so good. However the rooms are much nicer. The one aspect to the rooms we did not like is that there is little privacy. The glass doors and windows are great for letting in light, but the way the buildings are positioned, you end up leaving your drapes closed all the time because people can see straight in.

Don't be fooled by the "junior suites" they do not even have a chair in them. Granted there are two wooden chairs outside (if you want to chase mosquitos). The WiFi service was completely unreliable (the front desk told us to try going outside with our laptops...at 10pm at nite!!!).

The bar and restaurant service was very unfriendly. We were the only customers at the swim up bar and the bartender seemed aggravated he had to wait on us. Waiters in the restaurant did not want to speak english even though the majority of patrons were english speaking.

The included breakfast is horrendous. Poor quality food, with cheap presentation and very limited choices. The dinner we had was better, but overpriced considering what it was. And they charged $9 for a meager 3 ounce glass of wine.

The place has potential, but the service issues and poor food make it a "do not recommend" as far as we are concerned.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't have windows facing the street or a sidewalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rm94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I would have given this a 5, but the selection and quality of food at the restaurant wasn't quite up-to-par for the pricing. This was only a minor annoyance though, and we really enjoyed a few days... honestly, it was actually pretty rough to force ourselves to leave the Arenal Manoa grounds, because of the tranquility, refreshing pools, and lush and colorful gardens throughout the property. If you don't have a vehicle, you will need to get a taxi to town - and the taxis we got in required a bit of bartering, unless you want to pay New York City fares!

Great place, would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a great view - not sure how you could go wrong at any of the ones we saw!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lobo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This hotel is really worth every penny. One of the most affordable hotels we stayed at.
Nice rooms with view over the volcano, exellent facilities with well kept pools.

The staff is fantastic!

But don´t book the tours here - if you get in to La Fortuna you will get muck better deals.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty_SWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We were fortunate enough to stay at Arenal Manoa Hotel in December, and enjoyed every moment. We had booked ahead for a trip to Tabacon Hotsprings, but think we could have easily foregone the experience. This hotel features a nice pool with natural hot spring water from the volcano, and one can view the volcano from the pool area.There was a swim up bar with an accomodating server who gladly served me a fresh cup of coffee in the afternoon instead of the normal libations. This pool area also features a hot tub covered by a gazebo during rain storms and a small wading pool. Our room had an unobstructed view of the volcano from our bed and deck. I laughed as my husband snapped pictures of the beautiful bathroom including a small flower garden in the center under a skylight and an open shower. Our maid took the time and effort to entertain us with towel displays of animals daily. Our room was also across from the restaurant.and the food was fresh and delicious at every meal, and unlike many resorts the prices were comparable to those at local restaurants in La Fortuna. Personalized omelets were available in the mornings. While the restaurant was next to another pool area, we could not tear ourselves from the hot spring pool to use it, eventhough it was quite a distance to walk. The staff was friendly and accomodating, making quick response for requests of transportation within the resort and for excursions. The landscaping is lush and birds plentiful. A hummingbird visited us every morning outside the open air restaurant.

Room Tip: We would request our room again. Specifially, because it was across from the restaurant and had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DurhamNCJande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The grounds are lovely, peaceful, and well maintained. I do wish that they left part of the property in it's natural state though. We heard frogs in the forest surrounding the property and it would have been great to be able to see them. The rooms are very clean, big and have everything you need. The rooms are in a duplex arrangement which makes for a very quiet and private space. The rooms really need to have screens and cross ventilation. There is no point in running a/c when the weather is so perfect outside. And what's up with having 2 outside chairs when the room is for 4 people? This is not unique to this hotel but it was driving me crazy throughout my trip. The pools are beautiful, super clean and not crowded. The service was adequate although nowhere near the level we got everywhere else in CR. The property is big but they do have golf carts and cars running all the time. The breakfasts were awesome.

The food is a big issue at this hotel because it is so remote. Definitely stock up on snacks and drinks before you get there.The food at the pool bar was not good and super expensive too. I read about the restaurant and the slow service so we did not bother. Other people confirmed that the service was very slow but the food was very good and worth the wait. We piggy backed of our tour transportation to get the meals. So, the afternoon tour guide dropped us off in town. We ate, shopped and then paid for taxi ride in one direction only.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face open space and some face other rooms or the roadway. Some rooms are closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TxAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This was a lovely hotel - beautiful grounds, rooms, pools etc.
Hotel staff seemed indifferent and were particularly unhelpful when we needed to exchange some money.
We got caught out waiting for the 'happy hour' at the poolside cocktail bar - suddenly all the declicious looking cocktails were removed from the menu and for the same price you could get two rather dull ones.
If you don't have your own transport, there is nothing within walking distance ( my family are not afraid of walking). The driveway alone is nearly 1km. A taxi to town is $10 (+ $10 back again!)
The view of the volcano would have been good if it had come out of the cloud - unfortunately, despite great weather, this didn't happen - apparently this is typical.
We would have appreciated it if some cheaper, snack food had been available at the hotel, either room service, or otherwise.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14jaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £87 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing