We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base to do activities from.”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, BC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great base to do activities from.”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here the beginning of March and were very pleased. We did a lot of activities in the area such as canyoneering, whitewater rafting, going to the Baldi hot springs and the volcano hike, all of which we highly recommend. The hotel is several kilometers outside of La Fortuna so it is a $7 cab ride in. We heard some people complain that the cabs in town wouldn't bring them back to the hotel but we had our restaurant call a cab for us and didn't have a problem. As we were out of town we were usually the first picked up on an activity and the last dropped off. If your tour picks you up late it is likely not their fault as it seems that most tourists have an extreme lack of consideration for showing up on time for their pick up.
The staff was very helpful, especially when I asked for some old newspapers so I could dry out my shoes after river rafting. The maids left the towels in delightful shapes of elephants and swans, There is a breakfast buffet that is quite nice and the dinner was also nice. The grounds are quite large so there is a shuttle to drive you around which arrives very quickly after called.

Room Tip: We were in room 217 which had the advantage of being close to the restaurant and the pool but was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    517
    99
    23
    11
See reviews for
548
809
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We only had time to stay for 1 night. We flew into Liberia and drove to Quepos (5 hour drive with Sunday traffic near Punta Arenas). We were there for four days and decided to try something different for the last night so we got up early and drove to La Fortuna (4 hours). Arenol Manoa was a beautiful hotel and was very reasonably price. Our rooms had a spectacular view of Arenol Volcano and the grounds were spread out and lush. The rooms are duplex units spread out around the grounds providing a great deal of privacy. The beds were very comfortable and the wifi internet access was good. At one point the drain on our AC got clogged and leaked into the room, but we called the front desk and someone showed up in a half a heartbeat and quickly fixed the issue. They offered to send a cleaning crew but we said we had cleaned the spill with our pool towels. Dinner was spendy and just ok. The staff was very friendly, to be fair, everyone in the country was friendly. The country is immaculate, no trash anywhere. We checked out the next morning and made the beautiful drive around the lake and down to Liberia to catch our flight (3.5 hour drive with a stop for breakfast). Driving Tips: Don't speed, not because you will get a ticket, but because you never know what is or is not around the corner. The "is" being horses, cows, dogs, a flock of vultures, crocodiles, people and the "is not" being the road itself! Expect the unexpected, pay attention, relax, enjoy the drive and don't pass a slow moving dump truck if there is a left turnoff just ahead. Pura Vida.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We were traveling as a group of 2 couples and stayed for 3 nights on the second leg of our Costa Rica trip. David at reception was very friendly and welcoming. We were offered a free welcome drink upon our arrival - a fruit punch-y type concoction with a starfruit garnish. We were in the 200 room block near the back of the property - a few cows were grazing in the field across the road from our room when we pulled up.

The room was clean and comfortable - safe, large bathroom, patio with two chairs overlooking the volcano, pretty little garden walk up to the door. Free WiFi - there's also a computer you can use for free with internet in the hotel lobby. No iron or ironing board. The doors have a swipe type key card system, which was kind of cool, but they did not provide signs indicating "privacy", or "make up room", so we were awoken by housekeeping each morning before 9:00. They were very polite and came back later, but having some sort of indication for them would have been better.

The free breakfast buffet was included in the price and offered an omelette station, hot foods like gallo pinto, plantains, pancakes, potatoes, and sausage as well as cereals and fruit. Coffee and juice were provided also. It's only available until 9:30 - after that, you'll have to wait until 11:00 when they open for lunch. The view of Volcan Arenal from the restaurant is awesome and is a good place to take some pictures.

We booked white water rafting through the concierge with Desafio Adventures. They were a great group of guys and we had a really good time so props to them for associating with good adventure tourism businesses. They also helped us book dinner at The Springs resort.

We went to both pools - the hot springs and the regular pool. We preferred the service at the hot springs pool. Eddy was so nice - friendly and made good conversation. He was slow when we arrived on our second night and insisted he bring the drinks to us in our lounge chairs - great service. The view from the regular pool is great and it's got a cool setup - best for the hot daytime hours.

So from the comfortable rooms, to the included breakfast, great price, beautiful grounds and views of the volcano, and truly, noticeably friendly attitude and service of the staff we met, I thought Arenal Manoa was a great place to stay when visiting the La Fortuna area.

Room Tip: Stay in back - in the 200 block - if you have a car or don't mind doing some walking. The cows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolettesays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was lovely. The rooms were spacious and clean. Each one had a private patio. The restaurant was beautiful and the food was good (we only had breakfast) Location wasn't too far from Hot Springs or Zip Line.

Room Tip: Ask to have the view of the volcano and within walking distance to the restaurant and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed here with my dad and brother while they were visiting Costa Rica and we were extremely impressed with Arenal Manoa. The rooms are very spacious, have fridges, coffee makers, safes and patio with an excellent view of Volcan Arenal. The room was extremely clean and decorated nice. The breakfast buffet was a great way to start our days. We also enjoyed the hot springs pool everynight and took advantage of happy hour there! If you are staying here it is definitely helpful to have a car since the hotel is located outside of La Fortuna. We traveled in a car so I can't comment on transportation to and from the hotel but they did offer a shuttle service on the hotel grounds because it is so spacious. We actually liked that the rooms were not directly on top of eachother. They are setup with two rooms next to each other like mini townhouse.

This hotel was excellent for the price we paid. We stayed during green season and got a great deal on our room! Definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I ever return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed 4 nights with our two teenage sons. We arrived after midnight due to a flight delay and had a cold greeting. The rooms were okay but definitely could use some updating. The restaurant staff was very good but the front desk staff was not helpful (for example, when we asked about day passes to the hotels with springs they said they didn't know anything about it despite the fact that it was advertised everywhere -- understood if they can't book it but don't play dumb). Taxis were outrageously expensive and there's nothing really going on at the hotel...go to the bar and ask for a glass of wine and they give you half and measure like it's gold). Overall not a good fit for our needs.

Room Tip: We actually liked having a room close to the front of the property despite some saying they liked th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneilfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Beautiful grounds and very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were huge, with a great view of the volcano. We stayed in 208 which was perfect, very private with our patio facing beautiful grounds. Try to get a room with the patio away from the drive if you want more privacy. (Like 208). Rooms lacked storage for clothes (small closet and very few drawers) but otherwise it was ideal. Pool area was awesome -- so beautiful and pleasant. One pool is hot which is great for evenings. Only complaint was the restaurant was quite expensive for dinner and not all that good (with tip and tax expect $20 to $35 per person). Not bad, but not worth the money. Go into Fortuna for better food at better prices.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the patio away from the drive if you want more privacy. The back half of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,858 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,849 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing