We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely beautiful”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
426 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This hotel is beautiful. The rooms are individual units, 2 rooms to a unit, and the units are separated by lush lawns, flowers, and trees. The rooms are wonderful. There are 2 pools, one of them fed by volcanic hot springs from Arenal Volcano. One pool has a bar, with a good happy hour every day. The restaurant is excellent. If it is raining, they provide golf carts to get you around. The front desk can arrange day trips such as river rafting, sky tram, canopy zip line, etc. This place would be wonderful for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room anywhere. Rooms with low numbers are closer to the pool with happy hour and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    507
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
536
791
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The place LOOKS great, but the duplexes are built very cheap. Once I woke up because of a funny noise - I heard the snoring from the other room of the duplex! :))))
Pretty view on the volcano - no doubts! Noce hot spring pool helped me to relex after the houseback riding. :)
The food is far away to be best for the price and the staff is not trained well. The waiter drop a glass of water on my lap - I had to sit on towel the rest of the evening... Well I would expect a discount if I were... in the USA. :) We decided to find a better place to eat in La Fortuna, but we had to pay $20 for a taxi (round trip) every time we go.
The place offers a lot of tours - we did as many as we could and the tours made the best memories about Arenal (not a hotel).
4 stars for look and opportunities and 3 stars for service and quality of the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elenasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This place is amazing! It was actually a little too nice for me. I booked this trip with a friend through a travel agency and this was the place we ended up with. I rather spend my money doing activities rather than on the place where I sleep. However, this place totally spoils you. Every room has a great view of the volocano, and so does every pool. The front desk staff is extremly nice and goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. Their English is amazing so there wasn't really an issue when requesting off the wall things. The only negative thing I could say about this place is the WiFi is a bit spotty, but we managed. It's a little bit of a drive to the middle of town from this hotel and if you're not driving each taxi ride is about $10. The hot spring pool at this place was amazing! After a long day of exploring the country a long soak in the pool was perfect! Not to mention Eddy, the poolside bartender kept you even more relaxed with a few drinks. This place was more than I would ever want, but now I don't think I could ever settle for less.
Dinged a little for sleep quality because of the metal roofs - when it rains it's pretty loud untill you get used to it. Birds tend to fly into the windows in the mornings, too.

Room Tip: You can almost get a full volcano view if you stay at the back end of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colo_mtn_surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here two nights during our trip around Costa Rica. The hotel is outside La Fortuna and is in a huge property with chalets, two pools (one fed from the hot springs - 40 deg. C when we were there), large lake (with singing frogs) and restaurant. For the tired and weary, you can be transported around the complex in a golf buggy. Our bedroom and bathroom were both huge and we had the most fantastic view of the volcano. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We were late (due to excursions) for dinner and for a lunch, but on both occasions the staff said they would cook something for us. The last morning we had the added bonus (fairly uncommon we found out later) of seeing the volcano in its entirety - but didn't get to see any pyrotechnics at night. Would definitely go back here. We did the SkyTram/SkyTrek tour from here and found the operation very competent and professional.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lysanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here the beginning of March and were very pleased. We did a lot of activities in the area such as canyoneering, whitewater rafting, going to the Baldi hot springs and the volcano hike, all of which we highly recommend. The hotel is several kilometers outside of La Fortuna so it is a $7 cab ride in. We heard some people complain that the cabs in town wouldn't bring them back to the hotel but we had our restaurant call a cab for us and didn't have a problem. As we were out of town we were usually the first picked up on an activity and the last dropped off. If your tour picks you up late it is likely not their fault as it seems that most tourists have an extreme lack of consideration for showing up on time for their pick up.
The staff was very helpful, especially when I asked for some old newspapers so I could dry out my shoes after river rafting. The maids left the towels in delightful shapes of elephants and swans, There is a breakfast buffet that is quite nice and the dinner was also nice. The grounds are quite large so there is a shuttle to drive you around which arrives very quickly after called.

Room Tip: We were in room 217 which had the advantage of being close to the restaurant and the pool but was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We only had time to stay for 1 night. We flew into Liberia and drove to Quepos (5 hour drive with Sunday traffic near Punta Arenas). We were there for four days and decided to try something different for the last night so we got up early and drove to La Fortuna (4 hours). Arenol Manoa was a beautiful hotel and was very reasonably price. Our rooms had a spectacular view of Arenol Volcano and the grounds were spread out and lush. The rooms are duplex units spread out around the grounds providing a great deal of privacy. The beds were very comfortable and the wifi internet access was good. At one point the drain on our AC got clogged and leaked into the room, but we called the front desk and someone showed up in a half a heartbeat and quickly fixed the issue. They offered to send a cleaning crew but we said we had cleaned the spill with our pool towels. Dinner was spendy and just ok. The staff was very friendly, to be fair, everyone in the country was friendly. The country is immaculate, no trash anywhere. We checked out the next morning and made the beautiful drive around the lake and down to Liberia to catch our flight (3.5 hour drive with a stop for breakfast). Driving Tips: Don't speed, not because you will get a ticket, but because you never know what is or is not around the corner. The "is" being horses, cows, dogs, a flock of vultures, crocodiles, people and the "is not" being the road itself! Expect the unexpected, pay attention, relax, enjoy the drive and don't pass a slow moving dump truck if there is a left turnoff just ahead. Pura Vida.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We were traveling as a group of 2 couples and stayed for 3 nights on the second leg of our Costa Rica trip. David at reception was very friendly and welcoming. We were offered a free welcome drink upon our arrival - a fruit punch-y type concoction with a starfruit garnish. We were in the 200 room block near the back of the property - a few cows were grazing in the field across the road from our room when we pulled up.

The room was clean and comfortable - safe, large bathroom, patio with two chairs overlooking the volcano, pretty little garden walk up to the door. Free WiFi - there's also a computer you can use for free with internet in the hotel lobby. No iron or ironing board. The doors have a swipe type key card system, which was kind of cool, but they did not provide signs indicating "privacy", or "make up room", so we were awoken by housekeeping each morning before 9:00. They were very polite and came back later, but having some sort of indication for them would have been better.

The free breakfast buffet was included in the price and offered an omelette station, hot foods like gallo pinto, plantains, pancakes, potatoes, and sausage as well as cereals and fruit. Coffee and juice were provided also. It's only available until 9:30 - after that, you'll have to wait until 11:00 when they open for lunch. The view of Volcan Arenal from the restaurant is awesome and is a good place to take some pictures.

We booked white water rafting through the concierge with Desafio Adventures. They were a great group of guys and we had a really good time so props to them for associating with good adventure tourism businesses. They also helped us book dinner at The Springs resort.

We went to both pools - the hot springs and the regular pool. We preferred the service at the hot springs pool. Eddy was so nice - friendly and made good conversation. He was slow when we arrived on our second night and insisted he bring the drinks to us in our lounge chairs - great service. The view from the regular pool is great and it's got a cool setup - best for the hot daytime hours.

So from the comfortable rooms, to the included breakfast, great price, beautiful grounds and views of the volcano, and truly, noticeably friendly attitude and service of the staff we met, I thought Arenal Manoa was a great place to stay when visiting the La Fortuna area.

Room Tip: Stay in back - in the 200 block - if you have a car or don't mind doing some walking. The cows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolettesays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing