We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We spent 3 nights in room 130, which is located on the front portion of the property. The room was fabulous, great views of the volcano from our patio/room. Spacious rooms with large, open showers. If I were to complain at all, it would be with the beds and the TV. The beds could be a bit better and updating the TVs in the rooms to flat panel would be a bonus (not a big concern since you're hardly ever watching anything anyway). The property was immaculately maintained, the natural hot spring pool/jacuzzi was our favorite place. We spent most evenings sitting at the swim-up bar and ordered meals from the bar menu. The staff was great and wonderfully helpful. We also utilized their spa services which was a great experience (especially after an all-day mountain bike excursion!). Overall I would say our experience at the Manoa was Top-rate and I would (and have) recommended this hotel to others!

Room Tip: Careful what you talk about in your room as you can hear loud conversations between the walls of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    520
    100
    23
    11
See reviews for
556
815
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Arenal Manoa was our first hotel while traveling through Costa Rica. The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained. The view of the volcano is just as portrayed in the pictures and you can view it from most any room. The rooms were very spacious, but the bedding could use some updating. The bedspreads were slightly stained and the sheets and pillowcases are showing their age. The food was pretty good.

If you are travelling to other locations and need to book transportation, Anywhere Costa Rica is the best and most affordable way to get there, just look on line. You will likely be riding in a clean 3 seat van.

Book your adventures through Desafio, they are really top notch!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed 4 nights in room #102 and had an absolutely fabulous time. We watched the birds every morning. 102 is close to the check in area and a hike to the pool and restaurant. It was great for bird watching.

Room Tip: 102 has a great view and is very private. It's a ways from the pool but a very nice walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlbaker7ukr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had a great family vacation at Arenal Manoa hotel. Rooms are very spacious and clean and all seem to have a good view of the volocano. There are lots of day trips in area We recommend the sky train zip lines Breakfast also very good, Staff are extremely helpful and pleasant

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmorgan112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We had such a wonderful time here. The staff was so helpful and friendly with everything. We were in room 230, which had an awesome view, was right near the pool and resturant. The rooms were clean and the A / C a plus. The breakfast was soooooo good with lots of choices, plus an omelet bar. It was also great that if you didn't feel like walking they would come pick you up. We ordered delivery one night from Que Rico , great pizza! We didn't have a rental car, but the resort was so nice we didn't want to leave. nice pools, happy hour, etc.
P.s. We made our reservation online a week before the trip and got 50% off.

Room Tip: We liked room 230, unobstrucred view, close to resturant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dnsutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, mum, dad and an 8 year old boy. We did a lot of activities and spent little time in the hotel other than late in the afternoon by the swimming pool. The hotel is made up of semi-detached bungalows set in well maintained gardens,spaced out over a very large area, and has a slight feel of a retirement home. Without a car one would feel quite isolated in the rooms furthest from the reception. We ate in the restaurant once - the food was ok but over priced. The service was average. Breakfast buffet was disappointing: plenty of variety but clear that an over zealous accountant had been put in charge of procurement - the cereal, breads, butter, jams, coffee were cheap and tasteless, and what I imagine you'd find in a one star hotel. Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a huge patio door that gave us a speactacular view onto the volcano. The lighting in the room was very poor and it was impossible to read a book at night. We found the staff friendly and helpful, particularly the reception girls. We did not try the spa or the hot springs. Overall, the hotel was OK but if we went again we would choose something else, closer to La Fortuna

Room Tip: Some rooms lack privacy; ask for one where the patio is on the back side from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I admit that my expectations might be a little much when I'm in a foreign country. Especially if you're not paying 4 Seasons prices. That's why I was so happy about the Manoa. It's a true resort with outdoor cabanas for massages, happy hour in the pool with swim-up bar, and close proximity to the adventure sports. The free breakfast was delicious and the rooms were very nice with a view of the volcano. You felt like you had your own villa. Unfortunately, the WiFi is not good outside of the reception center. Also be wary of the tours that the hotel wants to book for you. If you don't like the tour, you'll have to deal with the hotel to try to get a refund. Besides that, a very good place and we'd probably stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcusohicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing