We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Beautiful than Its Pictures”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More Beautiful than Its Pictures”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel exceeded our honeymoon expectations. The website's pictures do not do this property any justice. The grounds are so much more beautiful than the pictures could ever convey. And everything is so clean. The complimentary breakfast every morning was delicious as well. We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Arenal region. The location is great too! We were just minutes from the La Fortuna waterfall, the downtown area, and the Tabacon hot springs.
The only criticism we have is that there are no rooms with single king sized beds, which would have made our stay only slightly more romantic. It is a fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 229 and had a fabulous view of the volcano from our bed as well as a semi-private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DFHealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    520
    100
    23
    11
See reviews for
556
815
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Perfect Hotel, excelent service, location... The SPA was out of this world.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We recently stayed three nights at the Arenal Manoa. There is so much to like about this place:

1. The rooms are charmingly decorated with giant windows/sliding glass doors, and include a porch with rocking chairs and a view of the volcano. The bathrooms are spacious with a giant walk-in shower.
2. The pools. There is a "cold" pool and a "warm" pool, each with a swim-up bar and splendid views of the volcano. There are also multiple hot tubs.
3. Breakfast. Every morning there is a complimentary breakfast buffet that includes Costa Rican fare (rice & beans, plantains, exotic fruits), an omelette station, cereal bar, yogurt smoothies, fresh fruit juices, and, of course, delicious Costa Rican coffee.
4. Service. Mario, Eddy, Giovanny, and Yuluiana in particular provided excellent service to us at the pool, dining areas, and reception. They were so gracious, courteous, friendly, and went out of their way to ensure that we had a pleasant stay.

This was easily the best place we stayed during our week in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Johns, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2012

It literally takes your breath away when you open the curtains to your room and see that beautiful volcano. My husband and I went for our 10 year anniversary and we were not let down. Based on online research and TripAdvisor, we settled on Arenal Manoa. Through emails, I set up transportation from the airport and activities with the front desk. We flew into San Jose and our driver was waiting for us. It is about a 2 1/2 hour drive. When we arrived at the hotel, we were given a yummy tropical drink and our schedule of activities. Sylvia was very nice and very helpful in answering all of our questions about the area. The property the hotel sits on is gorgeous and tranquil. The pool is very nice and Mario the bartender was also very helpful. You can order food at the swim up bar. The breakfast buffet is very tasty offering a break from normal American food. Instead there was a typical Costa Rican spread of rice, beans, many types of fruit and pastries. There is an omelette station as well. Kenneth was there everyday we were there with a smile and fresh coffee for us. The front desk set up a taxi for us to take us to Arenal National Park and into La Fortuna. We were in room 236 and it backed up to pasture. It was very quiet and I loved waking up and grabbing my book to sit on the front porch. We were never let down and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Great find for the money!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the 200's are at the top of the property. Great views and away from the more crowde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJBJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed 3 nights at the property. The rooms were fine . They are like duplexes with two rooms to a building. We were located at the back of the property near the restaurant and pool with a stunning view of the volcano out our HUGE glass doors. This was our first time in Costa Rica and all the staff were proficient in English for those that are not bilingual. The restaurant is adequet and the location is great , not in town but not to far out. Only complaint is that it's a big property and a good walk from back of propert to front desk. They offer a cart to come get you for those that don't want to walk. All in all a very good property

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBD87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

When you reach there the lobby makes you feel oh man .. 2 star motel... but then as you move around and see the cute lil 'cabins' and the gorgeous view you see what a great deal it is. The staff and service was the best i have seen .. we had a flat tire and the staff proactively not only helped us change it but went through the trouble of sending it out and getting it repaired. Miguel and Shirlsey (staff at the front desk) are what every hotel should have - knowledgable, friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast was great, althoughwe didnt eat any other meals there based on the bfast i assume all food is good . We used the spa which was also great and a great experience as its situated by a creek between plants and a mini waterfall.

The road to the hotel is unpaved..so that would be the only negative..

Overall all 7 out of 5 rating!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is an amazing, large property with beautiful views of the volcano.
Each room seems to be quite private and HUGE. There are two queen beds in each room (we wanted one king, but each room is identical), and a large balcony.
The room is not 'luxurious' but it is very comfortable and we really liked that it was so huge.
The view from our bed through the sliding glass doors leading to our private balcony was incredible- Arenal volcano.
The dining room is quite nice with excellent service and good food.
The pool area is wonderful with a complete bar- but way too many kids while we were there.
The bartender- Mario- is exceptional and has great information about the area and restaurants.
We enjoyed this hotel more than even nicer/luxury brand ones that we've stayed at because of the quietness and privacy around our room. Really a great place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,435 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing