We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to See Arenal Area”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel to See Arenal Area”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and had an excellent stay. The staff was very friendly and helped us book taxi's and excursions at good prices. The room was clean and comfortable. Note, depending on the time of year you go you may or may not get to see the volcano. We were lucky to see it come out of the clouds briefly on one of the days. When it did the view was incredible. Overall, Arenal Manoa Hotel is a great place to stay while touring the Arenal area. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puravida888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    517
    99
    23
    11
See reviews for
548
809
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My fiance and I loved this hotel for the start of our trip in Costa Rica. The only unfortunate part of the visit is that we never got to see the volcano because it was very cloudy and rainy. We didn't expect this because we were there in December, but everything else was a treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Positives: This is a stunning property with awesome views of the volcano. We booked through Gate 1 travel and were given a room with the perfect view. Staff was friendly and the place was clean.

Negatives: The walls of our cabin were pretty thin and we were able to hear a lot from the neighbors. The restaurant was not good at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Nice accommodation and helpful staff. A bit of a hike across the site to get to reception from some of the rooms and one that had to be done repeatedly (or drive) given heavy tropical rain.
The thermal pool is really just a hot swimming pool but has the benefit of a wet bar where u can get a cold beer.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This is a large property that requires walking or calling a courtesy van. There are one story units with 2 separate rooms. Sound does travel a bit from the 2 separate units where the bathrooms adjoin. The rooms were large and clean as was the bathroom. The beds were comfortable. There is a lovely open dining room with nice views. Breakfast included omelets and plenty of variety of things plus lots of fresh fruits. The only complaint was there was little drawer space. It was a five to ten minute drive to La Fortuna which was about $10 to 12 taxi eat way.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We spent 4 nights here as part of a package which included 4 breakfasts and 3 dinners. The front desk staff were very nice throughout our stay. Always greeted us and usually by name whenever we entered the lobby. When the volcano comes out from her cloud cover shawl it is amazing. You have front row seats. No matter how many time you see her she makes you stop in awe. The grounds were gorgeous. All the rooms are set up in double bungalows with covered little patios for each room. It has been landscaped in such a way as to give you a bit of privacy while you sit outside and you will want to sit outside and enjoy the local wildlife especially the birds. The restaurant is open aired and has a spectacular view of the volcano. Breakfast is great! Dinner is limited on selections. Tip on the food through out Costa Rica - go for the seafood or chicken. Steak or pork is hit or miss. Be sure to check out BOTH pool areas. Its a little walk but that's Costa Rica and we should all get use to that. Besides its a lovely walk - especially at night when the stars just shine because of the low outdoor lighting the hotel uses. It's magical! Bring a flashlight just for shining down on the pavers which are used through out the grounds and also for spotting the wildlife. The spa was nice. I had a massage combine with a reflexology which should have been 90 min on the table but ended only with an hour but I was still charged for both. That was disappointing but I will not let that reflect on the great time I had there. In other reviews it was mention some water issues in the bathrooms. We did hear drain noises especially at night which we thought were the result of no "stink " pipes (those are the small black pipes up on your roof that no smoke comes out of). The sounds were easily alleviated by simply closing the bathroom door. Remember you are staying in a room which is nicer than most of the homes of the people who work there. Go with the flow, Pura Vida!

Room Tip: The views are best in the 200's especially the beginning and the very beginning of the 100's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hullonain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with family of 4. Nice 2 room units, all angled for privacy and view of volanco. Great base for adventures in the region. Enjoyed evening happy hour in the thermal pool after exploring during the day. Breakfast buffet, especially the fruit/veg smoothies, was good. Dinner not so interesting, bland.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,859 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,852 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing