We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Manoa. I was able to get a rollaway to keep our family of 2 adults and 1 child together in the same room. We were met by Luis at the reception area and he gave us a tour of both the propety and the room before we committed to the stay.

All the people at Manoa we intereacted with were friendly and very helpful. The views from the restaurant and our room were amazing. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are spacious and well appointed. (And, in the morning, there was a monkey (mono-cappuccino) in the tree by our room!)

The restaurant was slighly overpriced for what you got, but ... it was only a 3 minute walk from the room. Breakfast was good Costa Rican fare.

The kids enjoyed both the hotspring pool and the cold pool. They were disappointed we were only staying one evening.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 200's (actually they were little cabins) seemed to be better situated for views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    507
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
536
791
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Great property, wonderful views from most of the rooms, cabanas are spacious, well appointed and clean, huge bathrooms with showers. EXCELLENT views of the volcano. Park like setting, good pool and thermal pools and Jacuzzi's. Staff are friendly and helpful and always polite. We booked 2 rooms and spent 3 nights. Two downsides to the property
1). please watch when you are walking from the pool to the hot-tub as the tiles are slippery
2). the restaurant menu is extensive, but there are MANY items that are never available, the menu should be revised. Breakfast was ok, but needs a bit more variety. Prices are a bit high, except for the sporadic buffets.

Room Tip: Try the 200s on the hill, especially 213-225, the views are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deuxvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I usually don't stay at "resorts" but this turned out to be a lovely unpretentious "resort" with all the amenities one would need. the grounds were well kept, the rooms clean with great windows and patios, the breakfast buffet was tasty and the hot springs and pool were great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGlobal-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

When we went into our room it was like looking out at paradise! There were two queen beds in the room with a large, floor to ceiling, glass door. In room 206 it looks out over a rushing stream to the south edge of the property and a wide valley back toward the front desk and the warm pool. There is a bridge across the dam that makes a small lagoon where 20 white Egrets roost every night across from the restaurant.

Other rooms have a view towards the road or another two room bungalow. Not rooms 200-210, they look out at the little valley garden. Get closer to the center numbered rooms if you can. The 100+ rooms look at roads or other bungalows. The 200's are a bit more money but if you want the best, that is the BEST rooms they have. Two rooms/bungalow.

Under the small waterfall is the Spa in the middle of a very well manicured garden and the rushing of the streams fills your ears. In the morning, the egrets all leave together in a swarm and circle within view of the gardens as they set out to begin their day around 7:00am, along with many other birds too. In the morning we could hear the birds and the Howler monkeys.

Staff was very friendly and attended to all your needs. They had a shuttle that would pick you up and take to front desk if needed. We set up our excursion with the front desk with no problem. The Happy Hour was wonderful they had a swim up bar but was too cold to use at the cold pool, but we didn't try the warm pool's bar this time. Hot tub was great.

Large Coy fish swim in the lagoon under the restaurant about 3 feet long. They have a flock of black birds with long yellow tails that roost over night at the corner of the restaurant. Look for them and the Egrets at sunset.

Breakfast was included and was a fabulous buffet with an omelet bar! Dinner menu was great too. We orders Ceviche, which is not on the menu but is a local favorite and out of this world! It had cold Talapia, Shrimp, and Calamari in lemon juice with ginger ale, salt, and parsley. It's served in 1/2 a raw coconut on a giant ring of pineapple. It includes 3 fried platen cakes for scooping. Don't be surprised if you and your spouse end up ordering two, we did!

Room Tip: The best rooms are across the bridge looking back at the front desk. Get a map and make sure your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddandMindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I felt I was truly in Costa Rica. The grounds were beautiful. We'd wake up to a symphony of birds. The view of the volcano was perfect. My only complaint would be that the restaurant food and service was sub-par.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Completely satisfied with this hotel. It is not pretentious, simple, clean, with great facilities and food. But most of all the staff are genuinely nice. The place is owned by a local family who also raise cows and have a local dairy farm. The cleanliness, the loyalty of the staff, the hospitality reflects the love these people pour into the place.

No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lokumos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We spent 3 nights here (early NOV) as we began our 2 week visit to Costa Rica. Waking up to the incredible view of the volcano was breathtaking. Breakfast was wonderful; eggs made to order, fresh fruit, assorted sides, delicious coffee, friendly wait staff. The grounds at Manoa are beautiful and worth walking to fully enjoy. The hot springs pool (pumped in from an outlying hot spring) was so relaxing and the cool pool refreshing on a hot day . I do not like piped in music and felt it was too loud but was able to tune it out so I could enjoy the view.

The rooms are quite large; include AC, a safe, TV, desk ,stool, and internet access. Queen bed ( 2 in our room, there are no kings here) was very comfortable and nice bedding The bathrooms are roomy with an easy access walk-in shower and small garden. Each porch has 2 comfortable rocking chairs and a small table. Daily maid service was very thorough. The grounds are very well cared for and each 2 room bungalow felt very private and safe.

We found the staff friendly, attentive and promptly responded to our requests ( with smiles). Front desk staff was very welcoming .

This hotel is located well off the main road thus it is very quiet. We had a car so going out to dinner was not an issue .We ate at Navilla (opposite direction of La Fortuna) and had a wonderful meal. The town of La Fortuna has a beautiful town square and there are many quaint places to grab lunch near the town center.

We would not hesitate to stay here again and felt it was an excellent value. We stayed in bungalows 216-217 and felt the view was one of the best ! Next time I will get a spa treatment as the spa setting is very tranquil and beckons a return trip !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganTeacherMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing