We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch experience”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top notch experience”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week for 3 nights. The rooms are bungalows and we had 2 adjoining rooms making up the entire bungalow, we traveled with our 2 teenage girls. Rooms large and spacious with a big bathroom having a skylight and a small garden-very unique, we loved it. We had rooms 224 and 225, which were very private. Sitting on our lanai, we saw and heard no other guests- just a fabulous view of the volcano and the surrounding vegetation-it was stunning. Service was outstanding from everyone we came in contact with. Our bungalows were a bit near the back of the property so When it rained, we simply called the front desk to pick us up and they were quick to respond with a smile. You don't see that type of great service often these days, but they had it here. Servers at the restaurant also great. Overall the hotel is a great choice in the Arenal area to take in the beauty and hospitality of Costa Rica.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    512
    99
    22
    11
See reviews for
540
799
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Arenal Manoa was the first hotel we stayed at while at Arenal. Location wise, it is right in between downtown La Fortunate and the Arenal park which was quite convenient.

I like how they landscaped the grounds. The rooms have their own 'bungalow' and you can drive your car right in front of it which is efficient. I enjoyed walking around the area enjoying the different plants and flowers.

The check in process was quite smooth, we got a map of the area and welcome drinks. It was raining quite hard when we arrived and they mentioned the happy hour specials (2 for 1) a few times.

I didn't find the front desk to be super knowledgable about the area though. We asked about how we can go up the Cerro Chatto and the front desk lady told us told us to go up the La Fortuna route if we weren't going with a guide since it is an easier route, which was based on what I've read was a much more difficult route. We asked a couple other people after at the next hotel we stayed at and both suggested the Arenal lodge route. Anyways, lesson learned, always do your own research.

They have their hot spring, or should I say pool, with a beautiful view of the volcano. It is super peaceful and even better with the drizzling rain. We had the pool all to ourselves until the happy hour time and all of sudden quite a lot of people came. I guess the front desk marketing works.

The room/house is very nice, spacious and clean. We have a partial view of the volcano. The ac works quite well. The bathroom has a partial skylight.

We tried running around the grounds the next morning. It was tough and hilly but quite rewarding for the plentiful breakfast spread. Most of the breakfast items are Costa Rican style (rice and beans, plaintains) with an omelette station and lotsa fruits. It certainly more than fueled us for the day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Agustinkwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. My family stayed a few nights at the Arenal Manoa Hotel and loved it. The rooms are very comfortable and provided great views of the volcano (when the weather cooperated) The staff was very friendly and most of them were happy to chat in English when they realized the limitations of my Spainsh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jkeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This property was wonderful. Enjoyed the Thermal pools and swim up bar. They had many different happy hours. The food was good too. The only complaint is that the bar made weak drinks and had a hard time keeping track of who ordered what and what room to charge to. I'd visit again next time I'm in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H_Vandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I didn't know what to expect when I booked our stay at this property. The reviews were good, but I felt a little nervous about it. I will tell you that it was one of the most pleasant stays I have ever had. The facilities are absolutely beautiful, the service was impeccable, the location in terms of access to a variety of activities and sightseeing couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: See if you can get a volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

By far, this was the best place we stayed in Costa Rica. The views of Arenal Volcano from the individual casitas were spectacular. The dining room was picturesque. The pool area was beautiful. Everything was clean. Employees were friendly and knowledgeable, especially Natalia at the front desk. We absolutely loved staying here. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The first impression of the Manoa, it's staff and the grounds were fantastic. We had journeyed via ferry and shuttle from Paquera (Tambor - See Vista Las Islas review) with a dose of almost third-degree sunburn (Dormant ginger genes firing up) and so were delighted to be in such a beautiful location and hotel following on from our coast and beach experience.
Costa Rica has the most impressive and diverse landscape. When travelling from one side of the country to the centre, the climate and troposphere changes so much that the rainforest and their inhabitants change quite rapidly. We also noticed the decrease is mosquitos and other winged insects.
Once within the hotel we were ferried to the room/villa/cabin by a member of staff in a van (Excellent service and fantastic staff member - Always polite and courteous). This was the start of the fantastic attention to detail that the Manoa has developed. We had been given room 203, which was in a perfect location (I think most have a perfect view of the volcano). The room was spotless and extremely well appointed including digital safe, two beds, a stunning bathroom (Mini jungle area next to the shower - Fantastic!!!), cable TV, massive cupboard space, fridge and free WIFI. The beds faced out onto the view of the volcano and it felt amazingly private. I can only go onto state that we were very impressed with the initial start to our three night stay at the Manoa.
We then explored the vast grounds and soaked in the beauty of the surrounding forestry alongside familiarising ourselves with the facilities including the hot spring pool, restaurant and normal swimming pools. All of the facilities are facing the volcano and the level of detail gone into to ensure that this is the case is truly impressive.
As it was quite late in the day we opted to freshen up and go for dinner. On first arriving within the restaurant area we were greeted by Carlos, a gentleman that truly deserves a customer service distinction. He was friendly, kind and accommodating throughout our stay and assisted us with both dinner, drinks and our breakfast services.
The restaurant is huge is size and very impressive in structure. It embraces the geography of the hotel and has views onto the volcano as well as being situated by a lake and small jungle paradise.
The most telling part of any hotel is the pride it places into both its service and its standards around hygiene and food. The Manoa excelled in this area, as the restaurant was spotless and it's food delicious. The food was well priced in comparison with prices in the Tambor and San Jose areas and the quality was on par with it's neighbour hotel, The Springs Resort and Spa, whose prices were also in the same region. My wife and I had 2 courses each night (My wife had a couple of cocktails each night as well) and not once did it go past the equivalent of £40 ($70ish). As an individual who lives in London, I would be hard stretched to find a single course for myself in a mediocre eating establishment, never mind almost Michelin star quality food. To say that we were impressed with the catering at this hotel is an understatement to say the least.
The next day we woke refreshed and happy as the beds were perfectly comfortable and the blackout curtains provided a well needed departure from the early morning Costa Rican sun for the first time in our holiday. Once I arose from my slumber at approx 0600hrs, I saw the true magnificence of Arenal for the first time. It truly is a wonder to behold and as the clouds had dispersed, I had a completely unobstructed view of it. Stunning......
We then went to the restaurant for the breakfast, which was absolutely perfect. It included fruits, yogurts, cereal, Gallo Pinto, sausages and freshly cooked eggs and pancakes. I'm sure that there was more but I lapped up as much cereal, eggs, meat and yogurt as a man can handle. The service was impeccable once again and this continued throughout our stay.
The rest of our stay consisted of visiting the hot spring pool, which was fantastic and for some unknown reason, completely uninhabited but for me and the wife, and the traditional swimming pool area. The swimming pool had constant visitors, most of whom were propped up on the swim up bar stools. I much preferred the hot spring pool but that is a personal preference as many might not enjoy the warm, embracing water the way that I did.
We contemplated taking a tour but opted instead to visit the Arenal Hanging Bridges by ourselves. This saved us $50 by taking a cab and paying for entry ourselves rather than with the hotels tour of the site.
All in all what the Manoa does, it does extremely well and it has an eye for detail that is quite impressive.
I have given the Manoa a rating of 4 for the reasons as below. I feel that the following suggestions would make it the perfect venue for individuals seeking a top notch hotel within the Arenal area without having to pay the prices asked by 5-star venues nearby.

1) A general store on the grounds would be a godsend. Both myself and my wife needed topical suncreams and ointments to assist with our sunburnt plight alongside painkillers et al. Other general items such as sundries, food etc etc would have been fantastic and would have provided another diversion within the hotel apart from lazing and floating in the pool. La Fortuna can not be accessed via foot due to the roads in Costa Rica (No footpaths etc and hazardous roads - Although markedly safer than Puntarenas and Tambor areas) and so a pricey cab journey into town is the only realistic option for those that do not have access to a vehicle.

2) A gym / Fitness center - Although I was on holiday and obviously needed relaxation and a break, I needed my fitness fix. Having a gym would be the icing on the cake for this hotel and would definitely cement a revisit for myself and my family. The gym at the Springs resort and Spa was just about right, so maybe the owner could pop up there and do a bit of copy and paste into the Manoa.

I would like to say thank you very much to the Manoa for enhancing our Costa Rican experience from good to great.

Room Tip: Room 203 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,830 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing