We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This resort is quite beautiful. The bungalow rooms are comfortable, the service is extraordinary, and the location is great. It has two pools, both with swim up bars. Mario, bartender extraordinaire at the Piscina, makes a mean drink and provides quite pleasant conversation, teaching us a lot about Costa Rica since this was our first visit. It won't be our last visit and I'll make it a point to stay at this gorgeous resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow near the back of the property for privacy and the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

712 - 718 of 1,905 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

All of the rooms feel quite private because of the beautiful landscaping. We had a view of the volcano from our room. The pools were so much fun. 3 different happy hours at 3 separate bars. Swim up bars, hot tubs and hot spring pool. The staff made us feel at home and very patient with our language difficulty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzma16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here last week for 3 nights. The rooms are bungalows and we had 2 adjoining rooms making up the entire bungalow, we traveled with our 2 teenage girls. Rooms large and spacious with a big bathroom having a skylight and a small garden-very unique, we loved it. We had rooms 224 and 225, which were very private. Sitting on our lanai, we saw and heard no other guests- just a fabulous view of the volcano and the surrounding vegetation-it was stunning. Service was outstanding from everyone we came in contact with. Our bungalows were a bit near the back of the property so When it rained, we simply called the front desk to pick us up and they were quick to respond with a smile. You don't see that type of great service often these days, but they had it here. Servers at the restaurant also great. Overall the hotel is a great choice in the Arenal area to take in the beauty and hospitality of Costa Rica.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Arenal Manoa was the first hotel we stayed at while at Arenal. Location wise, it is right in between downtown La Fortunate and the Arenal park which was quite convenient.

I like how they landscaped the grounds. The rooms have their own 'bungalow' and you can drive your car right in front of it which is efficient. I enjoyed walking around the area enjoying the different plants and flowers.

The check in process was quite smooth, we got a map of the area and welcome drinks. It was raining quite hard when we arrived and they mentioned the happy hour specials (2 for 1) a few times.

I didn't find the front desk to be super knowledgable about the area though. We asked about how we can go up the Cerro Chatto and the front desk lady told us told us to go up the La Fortuna route if we weren't going with a guide since it is an easier route, which was based on what I've read was a much more difficult route. We asked a couple other people after at the next hotel we stayed at and both suggested the Arenal lodge route. Anyways, lesson learned, always do your own research.

They have their hot spring, or should I say pool, with a beautiful view of the volcano. It is super peaceful and even better with the drizzling rain. We had the pool all to ourselves until the happy hour time and all of sudden quite a lot of people came. I guess the front desk marketing works.

The room/house is very nice, spacious and clean. We have a partial view of the volcano. The ac works quite well. The bathroom has a partial skylight.

We tried running around the grounds the next morning. It was tough and hilly but quite rewarding for the plentiful breakfast spread. Most of the breakfast items are Costa Rican style (rice and beans, plaintains) with an omelette station and lotsa fruits. It certainly more than fueled us for the day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Agustinkwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. My family stayed a few nights at the Arenal Manoa Hotel and loved it. The rooms are very comfortable and provided great views of the volcano (when the weather cooperated) The staff was very friendly and most of them were happy to chat in English when they realized the limitations of my Spainsh.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jkeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This property was wonderful. Enjoyed the Thermal pools and swim up bar. They had many different happy hours. The food was good too. The only complaint is that the bar made weak drinks and had a hard time keeping track of who ordered what and what room to charge to. I'd visit again next time I'm in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H_Vandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I didn't know what to expect when I booked our stay at this property. The reviews were good, but I felt a little nervous about it. I will tell you that it was one of the most pleasant stays I have ever had. The facilities are absolutely beautiful, the service was impeccable, the location in terms of access to a variety of activities and sightseeing couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: See if you can get a volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,087 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,578 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £105 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing