We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon retreat!”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
“Great honeymoon retreat!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I spent the first two nights of our honeymoon at this beautiful hotel. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The room we were is was very private. The only note that my husband would like to make is that the beds are extremely firm. I was fine with it but he found them slightly uncomfortable. We both highly recommend the hotel and will be going back if we have a chance!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    512
    99
    22
    11
See reviews for
540
799
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed three nights at Arenal Manoa. From our room we had a spectacular view of the Arenal Volcano. They grounds are fabulous and are easy to walk. There are birds everywhere. Great for bird lovers. We enjoyed their regular beautiful pool and their hot springs pool. The room was spacious and the bathroom even has live plants in it. Our room was quiet and comfortable. The free wifi was hit or miss. Breakfast was included in our price. The food was just okay. There are a lot of fun activities in the area and Arenal Manoa is a perfect home base. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krestita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Heights, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Arenal Manoa Hotel and Hotsprings is located 10-15 min out of La Fortuna town by car. It is a beautiful and spaced out resort which had suites that were separated and private. The view was amazing in suite #23. The happy hours in the pool and hot springs were great. The restaurant staff was welcoming and super helpful. Be aware that without your own car it will cost 10-15 $ one way trip to town. The hotel is ideally located close to many of the trips and activities we did for the 4 days we were there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel was our first stop in Costa Rica and was fantastic!! The bungalow we stayed in was perfect size for our family and we enjoyed having the balcony so we could sit outside and watch the volcano. The food was good, rooms were clean and the grounds were beautiful!!
The staff were very friendly and informative and recommended an unbelievable white water rafting tour. However, the walls are thin the second night we had a family next to our bungalow and they were our wake up call.
This place is a gem and very reasonable I would recommend it to anyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 03Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I enjoyed my 2-night stay at Manoa on June 21 & 22. The rooms were very private and ours (206) had a great view of Arenal. The landscaping around the property is very well done, and was lit well enough to walk to and from the room to other parts of the property at night (they also have a van to transport you around the property). Aside from the awesome view, the hot spring fed pool with swim up bar was the best part. The free breakfast was a nice touch, as was the job the staff did in booking excursions and transportation. This hotel was very affordable too. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel if visiting Arenal. Here are some specifics:

- We booked a private transport from the San Jose airport through the Manoa, which they outsourced to a local tour company, Jacamar. Our ride was waiting for us on time with a well marked sign, the van was clean, and the driver was very friendly. It took about 3 hours from San Jose stopping once at a gift shop for coffee and a bathroom.
- The property is spread out with bungalows, with only one neighboring room connected to each room. Prior to arrival I read that the walls are thin and you can hear the neighbors. We didn't have this problem.
- I ate dinner at the hotel the first night, and had breakfast both days. Dinner was just okay (I ordered the cosada, but eventually had better at Lava Lounge), but the breakfasts were great. Breakfast is a buffet, but they serve omelets, pancakes, fried plantains, sausage, beans & rice, fresh fruit, etc. The restaurant staff in general was very friendly, but a little slow.
- The property has two pool areas including one "normal" pool and another that is fed by the hot springs with a swim up bar. We only tried the hot spring pool, which was perfect temperature and the bartender, Eddie, provided great service. Each pool area has a different happy hour, and the one we tried offered good pricing.
- We tried the spa, each getting a 30 minute back and neck massage. It was good but not great, and we were charged $5 more per massage than advertised. Even with the extra charge, the value was still worth it though.
- The staff in general spoke good English and communication was not a problem for someone who speaks very little Spanish.

Arenal in general was a great destination, and Manoa provided excellent value. It was the rainy season, and yes it rained both days sporadically. The nights in particular it rained hard. That said, hiking Cerra Chato in the rain the first day was an awesome experience, and the second morning was very clear with a nearly perfect view of the volcano.

Room Tip: Room 206 has 2 double beds but the view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We visited june 19-22 ,the pools, the restaurant, the rooms all top notch, clean, new. The gardens are incredible nice, birds all day everywhere, Natalia at front desk super nice, Carlos and Hilda from the restaurant are both wonderful, but the best keept secret is the secluded SPA, OMG please make time to visit it as often as you could. ..Marcia at the SPA will give you a five start treatment, all natural organic and custom mix products, chocolate, volcanic mud and aloe tratments that rinse off in a private hot spring pool are some of the extraordinary services to try, (leave the regular massages for home) while birds are all around and the sound of the river fills the open air concept treatment room you will not regret it! !!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Best part about this resort is that the rooms are bungalow's surrounded by beautiful grounds. We arrived Tuesday June 8th and were received with welcome drinks. The grounds are pretty big so walking to and from the front desk was a bit of a walk but nothing we couldn't handle plus we loved the scenery of the well kept grounds. If walking is a problem for you, you can always call the front desk and they'll send a van or golf cart for you, no problem! We had breakfast included with our stay we ate both days we stayed there and it was average. We ate dinner at the hot springs bar and that was tasty definitely something you should do if you want to spend a little more on dinner than just going to a soda in town. Taxi ride to and from town will cost you about $12 US. On our last day we had one last excursion and the front desk staff had no problem holding our luggage until we got back that afternoon. Great place to stay in Arenal!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,831 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing