We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay, a little away from the hubub of downtown”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay, a little away from the hubub of downtown”
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We stayed four nights at the hotel in early November. The facility wasn't very crowded as it is a little "pre-season". As a result the staff was very attentive to our needs. The facility is beautiful and very clean. They appear to be in the process of building some new units on hill on the back side of the present property. Since the construction is on the back side you would really never even notice it from the other rooms. We stayed in room 101 which was very nice as it is the closet to the pool and restaurant area. The only drawback is that being that close to the pool you can hear the music from the pool bar from your room. So if you are into going to bed early stay in one of the rooms away from the pool. Other than that it is a great place to stay. You are a little bit away from the downtown area, which from our persepctive was nice as it was very relaxing at the hotel. A really nice place to stay.

  • Liked — The location, the view of the volcano.
  • Disliked — Not very well identfied with signs on the main road coming into town, easy to miss the first time.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CFtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    520
    100
    23
    11
See reviews for
556
815
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

This is a nice hotel, very typical for the area, and seems to have prices that are slightly below the area average.

I'm very mixed on whether it was a good place to stay or not... First (and most importantly), the lava flow from the volcano has shifted to the opposite side of the volcano recently. Some of the other reviews for places in the area probably mention this. This has completely changed the dynamic of all the resorts on this side (the majority). Even if the cloud cover does lift (which it does every once in a while), don't expect to spend any evenings lounging in the pool watching the lava flow.

Second, it's on a dirt road about 1/2 km or so from the main road. Cab rides are EXPENSIVE. I think it was $15 whenever we wanted to leave the resort. Almost makes me feel that staying in town would've been a better option. Either in town or at a place within walking distance of the park / springs.

Keep those two things in mind if you decide to stay here. Otherwise, it has all the amenities you would expect. Beautiful rooms with towel animals and large window-doors to see the volcano. Really quite nice.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank PolyAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

This hotel was rated #1 for Arenal on trip advisor so I guess I expected more. The rooms were spacious and clean but not particularly pretty. There are great views of the volcano, but be aware that the side the lava flows on shifts so we could not see the volcano erupting when we were there. The staff in the restaurant is lovely and the breakfasts are great, esp the omelettes, but the front desk could use some help. We asked to go on a volcano hike and they booked us on a trip through the national park that did not include the volcano. My parents wanted to go birdwatching but had not brought binoculars. They were told this was not a problem, but when they woke up at 5:30 AM and went to the front desk the guide told them binoculars were required and he did not supply them. After that, the desk still wanted to charge my parents for 1/2 of the tour! The hotel is very convenient to all the sites of Arenal, but there are many choices in Arenal, and I'm not convinced this is the best.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Very clean, new hotel. Rooms are spacious and neat (ours held 5 easily with a single bed that rolled out underneath one of the doubles). Bathroom was delux. Breakfast was uninspired but edible. Staff was helpful and responsive. Overall, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mjgd307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We stayed here for two nights August 2008. Rooms were large and very clean, great showers. The view would have been great but the volcano remained shrouded in mist all the time we were there. Also if you travel in the green season, the rain on the roof was very noisy at night. La Fortuna is a great little town and we had a fantastic meal at Don Ruffinos.

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Nice place. Beautiful grounds. Fantastic view. Beds comfy. HUGE bathroom. But we hated the gravel road in (some might call it rock!) The breakfast was nice but otherwise skip it for lunch and dinner. Limited menu and way too expensive. When it rained (like it does in the Greeen season!) it can be terribly loud in the room. Also got tired of hearing the shuttle bus zoom back and forth at night when I was trying to sleep. AC loud too so room was hot and stuffy at night since no window with screens or ceiling fan.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Absolutely loved the place! Will go back no question about it. My family and I are Costa Ricans, so their discount when paying using a certain brand of credit cards was excellent. We were a party of 3 adults, and 1 child.

The place is simply awesome... beautiful grounds, the landscaping is spectacular. Great views of the volcano. Amazing Hot Water Jacuzzi- you may not even have to visit the hot springs...hahaha. A large swimming pool, and one for children. Beautiful rooms. Lots of privacy. Peaceful, serene setting. Great staff. Delicious breakfast. Nice restaurant -albeit pricey (so pricy we never ate there except for breakfast -because it was included), but lots of restaurants in La Fortuna, the neighboring town. Apparently the place only opened 4 months ago, but already they are GROWING. An excellent destination. Close to everything around. Be sure to take their free tour to their dairy farms. Kids will LOVE IT, and you will too. Rooms were very clean - everything is brand new it seems. Water pressure is great in the bathroom, and excellent temperature too!

Awesome place for a honey moon for sure! It tends to rain a lot in this area, but hit the hot water jacuzzi and you will want it to rain forever. Weather typically is sunny and beautifil till about 2pm, then it rains for 30 minutes or so, then clears up again, and rains again in the evening.

Attractions in the area include the Arenal Volcano, the hot spings, and Lake Arenal.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Restaurant was too pricey
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ticojulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,435 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing