We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mountain Paradise(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Volcano Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kokoro Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,013)
Filter reviews
2,013 results
Traveller rating
1,319
553
106
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,319
553
106
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaspring poolhot springsswim up barrocking chairsregular poolbeautiful groundsgreat view of the volcanocold poolrooms are largeprivate patiobreakfast buffethotel restaurantshuttle servicemain poolwonderful hotelhotel grounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
785 - 790 of 2,013 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel Arenal Manoa is a beautiful hotel among the many in the Arenal Volcano area. Our visit was brief and rain soaked, so I don't feel we had a full experience but will share some potentially helpful feedback.

Rooms are laid out in small buildings, with clean and basic furnishings including a patio with rockers. There is a pool and a hot springs, each with a swim up bar and the front desk staff is friendly and welcoming.

The hotel is about 15 minutes from the center of town; we did not have an opportunity to visit the Volcano or any of the plethora of outdoor adventures conspicuously advertised.

Best to skip meals here as the food is unremarkable and there are genuinely delicious options not far away.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank FourDayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexCedeno, Public Relations Manager at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments and we glad to you enjoyed the hotel and the Arenal Area .. Thanks for visit us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My family stayed at the Arenal Manoa for 3 days the last week of July 2014. Since it was the rainy season, we only saw the volcano a couple of times- once at 5:50AM and once in the afternoon. We did not like the restaurant at the hotel although it was convenient. The staff spoke little English, and it was expensive for the food you received. The reception staff went out of their way to help us when we had 2 excursions planned at the same time. Marco at the front desk called both companies and straightened out the "snafu" while we went to grab some lunch. We had been a little early arriving, but he got our room ready for us to freshen up before we left for the excursion. The laundry service was expensive at $3.00 per shirt and $3.50 for shorts, but it was necessary to get the "ziplining dirt" out of my white shirt before it set in. The shirt came back looking new. The grounds are spread out, but the landscape is lush. Anyone can call for a ride to get around the property if desired. The wait is only a couple of minutes, and this really helps in the rain!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem private. We had a view of the volcano from our bed (when the volcano could be seen) due to the weather.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexCedeno, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Guest

It was a pleasure meet your travel expectations thansk for visit us ... Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed the Last June 2014, and I was really surprised about the Hotel.
The complex is surrounded by the nature and the view of the Volcano Arenal is incredible.
Hotel staff is very kind and they always find the best way to help when you need something.
Food at the Restaurant is really good and very tasting. The Hotel has its own Hot Springs, and these are great to enjoy during the night if you are busy during the day. Hotel is very large and you need to walk a little from your room to get to the restaurant, but hotel staff can take you there if its raining or if you ask them to take you there. The complex is really beautiful, very peaceful and the views are amazing. Rooms are super big and super clean. This is really nice to enjoy the nature.

Room Tip: Rooms are very large and beautiful. Ask for the ones with a good view of the Volcano.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The grounds of the Arenal Manoa are filled with lovingly maintained vegetation. If only the visitors, would receive even part of this care and attention. The staff generally seemed indifferent to my need for say water to drink or decent food. On my anniversary, we made a reservation at the restaurant, there were only two diners in the whole place. My husband's steak looked like a hamburger patty. My fish was not cooked as described on the menu. When I asked questions, the waiter did not know enough English to answer them. I got sick from the food. The breakfast buffet featured runny eggs and greasy sausage. The room didn't have an alarm clock, which made being timely for tours challenging. The drinks at the bar were full of artificial drink mix, which is strange considering how much delicious fruit is grown right there.
I would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jenniferslewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The view of the volcano is amazing from any terrace of the hotel. Rooms are set cabin type so there is a lot of space in between rooms, there is a nice terrace with huge windows facing the volcano so you can see it all day long if you want.
The rooms are basic but very spacious, super clean and sorrounded by beautiful and well cared gardens. There is a fridge that comes very handy for water bottles and sodas (get your water The restaurant was decent, a little overpriced to be in Costa Rica ( entrees 20- 25 dollars) but food is good. During dinner time when the restaurant is crowded may take a while to get served.
Staff is extremely nice, they are happy all the time and willing to help. It has different pools so it never gets really crowded when you are swimming, has hot tubs which are great and relaxing.
Town is 10 mins away with a taxi toll of 15 to 20 dls each way but is worth going out for dinner. There is a frog garden walking distance from the hotel and they offer night walks through the rainforest to see frogs, that was super cool, same ticket is good for morning walks as well.
We were a group of 10 and we all enjoyed our stay there. Please consider that July is rainy season and by that i mean you will be wet no matter what. Excursions dont stop, be sure you are prepared with boots, raincoat and set your expectations to have fun despite the rain.
Note that 10% gratuity is already included in every meal ticket.

Room Tip: Rooms 235, 234, 236 and 237 are the furthest away from front desk. They are very quiet and nobody other than the guests on those rooms go there so you can enjoy a peaceful afternoon at the terrace just watching birds or the volcano. Pool and restaurant are 2 min walk from them, to go to front desk you just need to call the shuttle. We realized that most of the hotel roofs are zinc sheets, during rainy season it pours down and can get very very noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews