We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2008

This was the first place my husband and I stayed on our vacation in CR and we really enjoyed it. The views are amazing. The breakfast was really good. The pool was nice and very relaxing. The road to the hotel was crazy-bad, very bumpy.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shiny-shiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 1,943 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2008

After failed attempts to contact the hotel directly by phone and email, we ended up booking a room through expedia. The room (for 3 nights) was all paid ahead of time. When we arrived at the hotel, they couldn't find our reservation. We had brought all of our confirmation numbers/etc, but still they had zero record of us. Funny, since we had already paid them! Finally, the manager came out and said that they were overbooked with a big tour and that he had booked us into another hotel at no charge to us. Although we appreciated having a place to stay, we didn't like that it was done without consulting us at all. When we told him that we had booked through expedia, he said "oh yes, we have had problems with that. If you look it will say we have a room for tonight, but we are full." When I told him that we had booked more than 5 months in advance, he didn't really have a response. If there truly was a problem with the online reserve system, and they knew about it, why didn't they fix it?

As it turned out, we liked the place we ended up better than the Arenal Manoa. However, the cost of the stay there was less than what we had paid for our original reservation. All we were given in compensation was dinner at the Arenal Manoa (which was definitely sub-par compared to the rest of the food we had in Costa Rica; if you stay please don't eat there!) and a discount off of a tour that we had to book through the hotel. All in all, we were very disappointed with the Arenal Manoa, and were glad that we didn't end up staying there. If you want a generic hotel with bland food and hordes of "tour-bus tourists", then stay here. If not, please go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
5  Thank saskgreenbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We stayed four nights at the hotel in early November. The facility wasn't very crowded as it is a little "pre-season". As a result the staff was very attentive to our needs. The facility is beautiful and very clean. They appear to be in the process of building some new units on hill on the back side of the present property. Since the construction is on the back side you would really never even notice it from the other rooms. We stayed in room 101 which was very nice as it is the closet to the pool and restaurant area. The only drawback is that being that close to the pool you can hear the music from the pool bar from your room. So if you are into going to bed early stay in one of the rooms away from the pool. Other than that it is a great place to stay. You are a little bit away from the downtown area, which from our persepctive was nice as it was very relaxing at the hotel. A really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CFtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

This is a nice hotel, very typical for the area, and seems to have prices that are slightly below the area average.

I'm very mixed on whether it was a good place to stay or not... First (and most importantly), the lava flow from the volcano has shifted to the opposite side of the volcano recently. Some of the other reviews for places in the area probably mention this. This has completely changed the dynamic of all the resorts on this side (the majority). Even if the cloud cover does lift (which it does every once in a while), don't expect to spend any evenings lounging in the pool watching the lava flow.

Second, it's on a dirt road about 1/2 km or so from the main road. Cab rides are EXPENSIVE. I think it was $15 whenever we wanted to leave the resort. Almost makes me feel that staying in town would've been a better option. Either in town or at a place within walking distance of the park / springs.

Keep those two things in mind if you decide to stay here. Otherwise, it has all the amenities you would expect. Beautiful rooms with towel animals and large window-doors to see the volcano. Really quite nice.

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank PolyAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

This hotel was rated #1 for Arenal on trip advisor so I guess I expected more. The rooms were spacious and clean but not particularly pretty. There are great views of the volcano, but be aware that the side the lava flows on shifts so we could not see the volcano erupting when we were there. The staff in the restaurant is lovely and the breakfasts are great, esp the omelettes, but the front desk could use some help. We asked to go on a volcano hike and they booked us on a trip through the national park that did not include the volcano. My parents wanted to go birdwatching but had not brought binoculars. They were told this was not a problem, but when they woke up at 5:30 AM and went to the front desk the guide told them binoculars were required and he did not supply them. After that, the desk still wanted to charge my parents for 1/2 of the tour! The hotel is very convenient to all the sites of Arenal, but there are many choices in Arenal, and I'm not convinced this is the best.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AtlantaJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Very clean, new hotel. Rooms are spacious and neat (ours held 5 easily with a single bed that rolled out underneath one of the doubles). Bathroom was delux. Breakfast was uninspired but edible. Staff was helpful and responsive. Overall, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mjgd307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We stayed here for two nights August 2008. Rooms were large and very clean, great showers. The view would have been great but the volcano remained shrouded in mist all the time we were there. Also if you travel in the green season, the rain on the roof was very noisy at night. La Fortuna is a great little town and we had a fantastic meal at Don Ruffinos.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Judy1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,943 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,650 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £101 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing