We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent and relaxing hotel”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent and relaxing hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Arenal Manoa Hotel.
The rooms were very good and clean. The restaurant has a nice balcony with an excellent view to the volcano. The staff was very friendly.
A good place to go and to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexCedeno, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Pedro

Thank you very much for your comments

For Manoa's Staff was a pleasure to assist you
We hope to see you soon

Best Regards
Hotel Arenal Manoa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    508
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
537
791
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 teenage sons and had connecting rooms. The bungalows face the volcano for an impressive view as long as there are no clouds. Overall the food is very good with many options but above average in cost. The poolside sushi was excellent and the bartenders as well. The staff was always friendly and helpful. All our activities were coordinated thru the hotel which made our trip easy. We will definitely return here the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Recommend selecting a room at the end of a road or along the farm on the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManofWood66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexCedeno, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments

We appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards
Hotel Arenal Manoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was really a great place in many ways. The room was large, luxury, clean with all the little goodies like shampoos, soaps, soft towals, large beds, etc. The view of the volcano was, well "wow"

I saw some complaints of the distance and shuttles, etc. The shuttles came really fast for us, but we only used them for checkin/checkout, as its really not that far to walk....don't be lazy, its such a beatiful place, with all kinds of flowers and trees, its great to walk around and just see/smell nature.

The pools are great. there was a cold one, for our kids to have fun with a swimin bar (hey i had to do something while watching the kids play). the other pool is a hot springs, nice and hot from the volcano, very relaxing to stay in there for a while, even the kids like getting in for a bit.

the front desk was very nice and helpful. Laundry was very expensive ($36) but all places are like that i guess.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexCedeno, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your comments


we are glad that your stay was incredible , it was a pleasure assist you

Best Regards
Hotel Arenal Manoa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for six nights, at the beginning of a three week, tour of Costa Rica and loved it. Great location, about 10 mins taxi ride from La Fortuna, which has lots of restaurants, a bank, gift shops and a beautiful little main square where the locals meet at night. We had a junior suite for two adults and three children, which turned out to be one large room with two double beds and a single - not ideal. However, the hotel was able to rent us the room next door to our original accommodation which made life far easier. Arenal hotel is really a little complex of houses in beautifully tended tropical gardens, clustered around two swimming pool areas, which both have hot tubs and bar services. All rooms seem to have a great view of the volcano (when it finally breaks through the cloud) and the main restaurant is a fantastic vantage point too. Food was high quality and plentiful, although the buffet worked out to be the most expensive option. This is an excellent base for exploring the Volcano and surrounding area and seems to suit families and couples alike.

Room Tip: The in room coffee provided is wonderful and the tap water completely safe to drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perpetuallyjetlagged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexCedeno, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest
thanks for your comments we appreciate your comments .. thanks for visit us you are welcome anytime... Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POTOMAC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were here for 5 nights. The hotel is very nice; rooms and bathrooms were spacious and clean, the grounds are beautiful. There is a regular pool, but we spent most of our time in the thermal pool with a swimup bar and hot tub. The restaurant was ok; the buffet breakfast was adequate, but a bit unexciting. There were always very good plantains and fresh fruit, but otherwise mediocre rice and beans, bread, and over cooked sausages. The dinner menu was a little monotonous, so we alternated dinners there with eating in la Fortuna for a change. The best thing about Arenal Manoa is it's location. We did great trips, very easily organized by the front desk staff. We did a rafting trip, a motorboat ride where we saw monkeys, iguanas, birds, and caimen. Both were great! We also did a half-day Arenal hike, and a walk through the hanging bridges. We enjoyed every single activity and would have loved to have one more day to explore a little bit more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexCedeno, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments and gland to meet with your travel expectation
we are working in your constructive criticisms .. greetings thanks for visit us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is hours away from the airport. It has great pools, great dining and great rooms. We did see the volcano from our room which was really cool. also the view in the dining room is beautiful It is fun to swim up to the bar. I would definitely recommend this hotel to do all the adventurous activities in the surrounding area and come back for a great place to chillax.

Room Tip: we took advantage of the spa and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janemc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexCedeno, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments and we glad to know that you enjoy your stay .. thanks for visit us you are welcome anytime... greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights in July. The entrance to the hotel is unpaved and I was a bit apprehensive about how the hotel would be while driving in. All our fears were laid to rest when we reached my room. The room was spacious and beautiful as expected but the view of the Arenal volcano from the room was mind blowing. I have never had such a beautiful view straight from my room in any hotel ever.

The breakfast is complimentary and is very good. Parking is plentiful and you can pretty much park anywhere you want. We enjoyed the hot spring pool and the normal pool that the hotel has to offer. The hotel is quite large and there is a small river/stream that flows nearby. We saw plenty of wildlife in the hotel itself. I wish I could have stayed for a few more days here. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piyush C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexCedeno, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments and we glad to know that you you enjoyed your stay ... you are welcome anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing