We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!!”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2009

This was an absolutely beautiful hotel! We went as a girls weekend, and we were amazed when we saw our room. There are numerous cottages with 2 rooms/suites per cottage, all facing the volcano. Very comfortable, the staff was very nice and accomodating. We enjoyed sitting at the bar at night and watching the lava flow from the volcano. The room had A/C, TV a small refrigerator, and a safe. parking was right outside the door. We enjoyed ourselves so much we're planning on bringing the husbands back in July!
I'm not too sure of the actual cost, as this was included in a package deal.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babycatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuenosHoteleros, Web Sites Coordinator at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel Arenal Manoa. We are very glad that you enjoyed staying at our property and you are thinking of coming back again. We look forward to have you and your husbands as guests in our hotel. Best regards! Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    507
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
536
791
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I stayed at this hotel from 5/16-5/19 and was very pleased. The staff was very helpful, friendly and acommodating from the front desk to the bell boys, restaurant staff and bartender. We checked in with no problems and were taken to our rooms by a golf cart. After a long day of travel we decided to stay in our hotel and dine in the hotel restaurant, we enjoyed our dinner which consisted of a typical Costa Rican dinner (casado). We had an awesome volcano view from our room. Booking excursions and transportation were very easy through the front desk. My friend and I had a little incident with a beetle in our hotel room and called the front desk for a bell boy to remove the beetle (we're girls and our squemish about bugs, I know it's the rainforest but it was our first night), the bellboy came and saw the beetle looked at us and smiled and took the beetle and thew it out the door, our hero. I was also impressed by the gift shop, I found that the prices in the gift shop were cheaper than the souveneirs in town and of better quality. Breakfast was also very good and filling. I thought it would be a buffet breakfast but we were able to pick between 3 options for breakfast, continental (fresh fruit), americano (eggs, bacon/ham) and the tipico (eggs, beans and rice, plaintains). All options came with toast, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee (some items by request only). I would say the only few things I didn't like was that although we did have a mini fridge, we had to request one, it wasn't automatically in the room. Happy hour consisted of pretty small drinks. That's about it, everything else was pretty great.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greengirl611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuenosHoteleros, Web Sites Coordinator at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for your comments on our hotel Arenal Manoa. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I guess you will also remember our property as the beetle hotel.

We are glad to hear you liked the gift shop, the food and the friendly staff.

Your opinion is very valuable to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Thanks again.

Best regards,

Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We recently stayed at the Arenal Manoa for 2 nights during our trip to Costa Rica. We enjoyed it very much. It was quiet, as there were not many other guests there during our stay. Breakfast was very good and the scenery/landscaping at the hotel was very pretty. It is back from the main road (down a small dirt road) and not in the middle of the hustle and bustle. Rooms were nice with a view of the Volcano. Hotel has 2 pools - one small one and a bigger one by the restaurant. It's a 5-10 minute drive into town (La Fortuna), where there are numerous restaurants and shopping. Staff was helpful and friendly. Room was clean and attractive. Bring a flashlight for additional light (pathways are lit but not brightly so) walking between the pool and your room at night.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4Fun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuenosHoteleros, Web Sites Administrator at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for your comments on our hotel Arenal Manoa. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The flashlight tip is a good one!

Your opinion is very valuable to us, and we appreciate your feedback.
Best regards,

Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

This was our favorite leg of our honeymoon. Even if we hadn't visited La Fortuna Waterfall or Tabacon Hot Springs, we would have had the best time just relaxing at this nearly private resort. We were one of maybe 6 couples that we ever saw hanging around this 100 acre property. It looked like a golf course resort without the golf course and sat less than 2 miles from the foot of the volcano (on the safe side). They recently added 20 new duplex style cabanas and a swim-up-bar pool and hot tub. Maybe it's the economy but the place seemed to be built just for us. Golf carts took us to and from the main entrance and our cabana whenever we were ready to head into town. The staff was helpful and friendly and the service was fast and precise. They have their own little private river that I chilled out with. If you're looking for relaxation and privacy, look no further. If you're looking for mobs and lots of kids head to Tabacon.

The sad morning we left we could hear the howler monkeys off in the distance!

My only critique would be that the walls were a little thin. We could hear a few people walking by one morning and a few other people hanging out on their patio one night. But for about $150 a night it was unbeatable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcdavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuenosHoteleros, Web Sites Administrator at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for your comments on our hotel Arenal Manoa. We are pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us.

We find your opinion very assertive on the type of property we are. We appreciate your comments.

Best regards,

Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2009

The staff was nice, although I wish we could have modified our reservations. Our plans changed a bit last minute and we didn't need the last room night. The hotel didn't allow us to check out early. Other than that, the staff was accommodating, the views of the volcano were nice, especially from the pool. I recommend it, but there are also hotels in La Fortuna that looked good too.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegirlandfig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

This place is unbelievable - our spacious room had a gorgeous view of the volcano, a patio and the biggest bathroom I've ever seen in a hotel. it was impeccably clean, the staff was top-notch and the grounds well-groomed. I would have loved to stay longer and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guidob663a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

My wife and I just returned from Costa Rica, during which we spent 3 nights at the Hotel Arenal Manoa. Our experience was fantastic. The room was large, clean, and had a fantastic view of the volcano. We actually did see a few lava rocks fall from our room during a break in the clouds, which was unexpected due to the recent flow direction change. The staff was courteous and went out of their way to assist us with an issue using the 199 calling cards to make a call to the US.

We did not eat at the restaurant with the exception of 1 lunch and all breakfasts as we had many activities planned and enjoyed eating in town. I found breakfast to be quite well done given its inclusion in the price of the room. The range of options was extensive comparatively, and tasted very good. Lunch and dinner prices seemed a bit high. The pool by the office was a bit cheesy with the fake rock waterfall, but the other (more recently completed) pool by the restaurant was very nice. The restaurant also had spectacular views and was very appealing visually. The hotel offered a nice, quiet atmosphere outside of town, while close enough to still make meals in town very feasible. Taxi rides to town cost around $7-$8. I felt that the quality of the hotel was very high compared to its price, a great value compared to some other locations.

We had a great time with adventures around the hotel. We used Desafio to coordinate the tours, and were pleased with that service. There are a number of similiar services around La Fortuna, and the other couples we met were usually pleased also. I especially enjoyed the Waterfall, Tabacon hot springs, and the Pure Trek zipline/tram tour.

I really have no complaints whatsoever about our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drsooner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing