We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, decent rooms, so-so front desk staff”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice view, decent rooms, so-so front desk staff”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

The rooms, view, main pool, garden areas are all outstanding. The hot springs are very "basic" with 1 wading pool, 1 SMALL pool w/ bar and a "jacuzzi" style pool. The main pool area, located by the restaurant, with regular, not hot springs water, is of decent size with a good size Jacuzzi at the side. The swim up bar at the main pool makes the best Pina Coladas (you gotta try it!). The main restaurant serves average to below average food. Overpriced in my opinion, but probably comparable to prices in "hotel restaurants" in the area.

Now for the not so good. Front desk staff is indifferent at best. We asked for a room that would have Wi-Fi access as friends who had stayed before had warned us that Wi-Fi is NOT available in all the rooms. To make a long story short they "guaranteed" us a room with Wi-Fi and guess what? Yup, no Wi-Fi access in the room. The main pool however has tables where you can get pretty decent Wi-Fi reception. Not too good if it's raining cats and dogs outside!!! Also friendliness is apparently not considered a good trait by the front desk staff as I think they assume that they are doing you a favor when checking in/out. If anyone from Manoas management happens to read this please retrain your front desk staff to be more service oriented as it spoils the first impression of such a wonderful thing that you have going over there. Cheers!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    520
    100
    23
    11
See reviews for
556
815
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

-the folks at checkout are less than helpful, pretending to not understand English when it suits them, they mis-organized transportation for us, a party of 12, they got us a transport for 10 asked us to have our kids sit on our laps, not something I would do under the best of circumstances, mush less on long, steep, unpaved mountain road.
-the breakfast buffet was sometimes skimpy on the fruit. the food was acceptable.
-Rooms are bare, but worth the view. Pool is so so. Hot springs are not the best either.

THE GOOD STUFF:
-Great for runners, lots of trails.
-the hotel has gorgeous views,
-cleaning and transportation staff are all very obliging and wonderful. They brought us sandwiches when we missed meals, carted us when and where we needed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kavitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Widely spaced duplexes allow for privacy and quiet. Nice pools. Breakfast buffet is good. Dinner was wierd! Dozens of waiters hovering around our family, pan-flute music playing over and over, dissappointing food for the price. Go into town instead for better quality, less expensive, much less pretentious dinner.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiftyishDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Excellent value, private quiet location, convenient to whole Arenal area - recommend highly!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank openfacesandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2010

On my Central American trip I made a stop by Arena, and luckily found Hotel Arenal, a real jewel in this area. The landscaping is breathtaking, I found myself stumbling as I watched with amazement the Arenal Volcano and the surrounding forests. The people working there were always smiling and always recommended great hiking trails and awesome spots. If you are looking for something really comfortable and first class in a remote setting then this is your place. Definitely one of the best places to stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

The resort is very attractive. We stayed at the beginning of rainy season and had the place to ourselves. We had an incredible view of the volcano sitting on the patio outside our room. Room is a misnomer as it is more like a small duplex cottage. The pool and hot tub were dazzlingly clean with magnificent views and swim up bar. We had room 201-perfect view of the volcano and steps to the pool/restaurant. Ask for it! THE only drawback is the food. We had seen that in earlier reviews but weer tired and ate in the restaurant one night. Bland, bland food, very poor. It's a shame as the restaurant itself is again beautiful and well maintained. We would definitely stay again-just avoid the restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillhiker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2010

From the first moment at Arenal, it was perfect bliss. Truely serene. One of the most thoughtful designs for a hotel I have ever seen. Clever landscaping makes every room very private - your own little oasis. Hotel is not only stunningly beautiful, but impeccably kept, & from every vantage point - the most amazing view! Staff is kind, helpful, and prompt. Food is outrageously delicious, fresh and healthy, with a fine presentation too - well worth any small premium. What made this visit so special is that it was not another crowded resort, but one that we felt catered to & could relax in non pretentious comfort, without the riffraff. Being seasoned & not easy to impress travelers, we found this place to be a very impressive find. We sure hope to have the opportunity to visit again, and to share this gem with our favorite people because it is a very special place, one NOT to miss!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJen1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing