We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value for money”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Great value motel, very clean and direct view of the volcano. Jenny was really helpful and booked some trips for us which gave us a discount. The restaurant next door was good too. You can walk into La Fortuna from this hotel but it is quite a long way.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiem315927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    87
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
89
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

The place could be sorted a little better but for traveling is great. Fantastic location and the staff was marvelous very helpful and caring. Great choice . Breakfast was nice and great for organizing tours and activities around the area. Overall it has been a good surprise.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TV-candles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My two young children and I stayed there one night. Jennie at the front desk was very welcoming and informative. The other gentleman in the front office was also very friendly and helpful with unloading our luggage. Jennie made phone calls to line up hotel reservations, zipline tours, etc. for me. This hotel has a breakfast arrangement with the restaurant just across the driveway. The restaurant owners were cordial, and their food was delicious. Internet and cable are available in the rooms. The hotel in conveniently located across the street from a supermarket, so it was easy to walk over there and stock up on snacks and drinks for the road. There was some road noise inside the room, as is probably the case with all of the hotels that line the road to La Fortuna. The noise did not bother us while we slept. The only unfortunate thing was that the jacuzzi was cold. However, with Baldi, Tavacon, and the bridge natural hotsprings just a few minutes away, there's no real need for a jacuzzi. By the way, Baldi day use tickets (From 10am-10pm) are only $30 if you buy them from Hotel Vista del Cerro. I had mistakenly purchased them from another hotel for $38. If you buy them Baldi directly, they're $49.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

we stayed at vista del cerro late April 2012. There was 6 of us in our party. The hotel has friendly staff willing to give you good tips on "what to do" during your stay in La Fortuna. We took their advice and were very happy with our 2-day long visit in La Fortuna! the hotel is on the main street leading out to Arenal, so expect to hear road noise in the morning. We had our free breakfast at the Soda attached to the hotel, food was good, and people were friendly. overall, a wonderful trip, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdkinyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I found this hotel on this website while searching for a good but affordable place to stay in La Fortuna, Costa Rica. I was traveling in a group of 4 students, including myself, who are in Costa Rica for some time studying abroad. Because of its reputation and variety of activities, a few weekends ago brought us to the beautiful town of La Fortuna, where we were lucky enough to stay in this wonderful hotel Vista del Cerro.
The staff, although they don't speak much English (not a problem for us-- we're Spanish students), are incredibly friendly and hospitable. They were more than happy to find activities for us to do, such as rafting, repelling down waterfalls, hot spring resorts, etc. They booked it all for us with an affordable, discounted price that left us with no worries and limited damage to our bank accounts. The entire time there was so worry-free, we could not help but enjoy ourselves.
The rooms were simple, but very clean and welcoming. From our room we had the most perfect, breathtaking view of Arenal Volcano. They even opened the free breakfast for us an hour early so we could get some food before our 6:50 am departure to canyoneering.
A more family-like, friendly, and accommodating hotel could not be found for such a low price. Its central location made getting around town easy.
The only down-side is that it's a mostly cash-based operation and we had to do some convincing to use credit cards. Other than that-- I can't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Get one on the top floor so you can have a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chico, california
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We were given a recommendation to stay at this hotel by a relative of the owner. The hotel itself is very ordinary and on a busy street. We were shown a room and then given another upon checkin. There were no other patrons at the hotel. When asking for ice I was told to go across the street and buy some. And when asking about the possiblity of a rollaway was just told no. Three strikes. We paid the maid fee, left, and had a much more positive experience for the same rate up the road nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbyhall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Great staff although most do not speak English but very willing to assist. On main road (only road in town really) and can be noisy in morning with people going to work. Breakfast next door is nice with a few options (and the restaurant male owner was the nicest person I met in the whole country). Small and cold pool. Great views though from upper levels. There were some small bugs in our room but did not bother us. About a 10 minute walk to downtown La Fortuna. Grocery store across the street and some small soda stores in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top level for the view of Arenal. Would assume less critters too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bballer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
114 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#35 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#29 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
149 reviews
1.3 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
614 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#43 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista del Cerro

Property: Hotel Vista del Cerro
Address: Miles West From la Fortuna 2 | (on the way to arenal volcano), Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista del Cerro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Cerro is located in La Fortuna San Carlos Costa Rica, one of the most wonderful areas of the country.We offer very comfortable and spacious rooms where you can enjoy the most relaxing rest, while admiring spectacular eruptions of the Arenal Volcano, from the commodity of your room. In addition, we offer nature lovers a large variety of activities such us the La Fortuna Waterfall, ATV tours to the Arenal River, hot springs, or the fascinating Caño Negro Wildlife Refuge and for those who prefer thrilling adventures we have Canopy Tours and White water rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vista del Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Cerro Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Cerro Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing