We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great family-run hotel with a perfect location for the area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Certificate of Excellence
LEJ45
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A great family-run hotel with a perfect location for the area.”
Reviewed 30 July 2008

My two friends and I stayed one night here. The place is clean, new, has hot water, A/C, friendly/family staff, quiet and even has a great little restaurant shack next door (also owned by the family). We had them charge us a couple of dollars more to have breakfast included and it was worth it! We enjoyed the food so much we went back for lunch. This hotel also has an amazing-looking pool, that unfortunately we did not have time to enjoy. Also, if your plan is to go the Baldi Hot Springs, buy your entrance tickets from this place! MUCH cheaper than anywhere else (about $18). Also, you need to hike up (or take a cab) to the entrance and then go in and see the Fortuna Waterfall. Gorgeous! Back to the hotel, it is definitely a great deal for the price, plus there is a computer with internet access and one of those internet phone lines so my friends and I were even able to call home!

  • Liked — The restaurant next door.
  • Disliked — Hmmm... nothing comes to mind.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LEJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    86
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
88
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2008

This place was a gem in this town. Just slightly removed from the noise of the city. Clean, neat, and super friendly. They offered FREE internet and FREE calls to the US. It was cool. The pool is really nice and the folks were great. I suggest you take a look at this if you want to see the volcano from your room, but save a penny on lodging.

  • Liked — friendly, clean, pool, location
  • Disliked — no issues
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CGENGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Malania and her family were so kind to us during our first two nights in Costa Rica, and that hospitality followed us around the entire country.

The room was perfect, with a great view of the volcano!

We did not have a rental car in La Fortuna, but Malania's husband drive us to his favorite restaurant for dinner our first night, and again to the hot springs at night.

Malania's daughter was lovely, as she ran the restaurant next door - which was delicious. You know it's good when it is 7am, and it is packed with locals on their way to work! And it was!

Jonathan, Malania's son, was super helpful to us and just as friendly as the rest of his family.

Our stay was memorable because of the hospitality and we will be back someday!

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nyc_travel_grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

From the moment we arrived at Vista Del Cerro, we knew we had made the right choice of accomodations in Fortuna. The owner's son, Jonathan, knew who we were, before we even said anything. He brought us to our room, which is simple in design...but very cozy and IMMACULATELY clean. Instantly our 6 year old son, had made a new buddy.
The next morning, we went to the restaurant next door, and met the owner, Malania. We felt like we had gone to a family members house. We had this amazing home-cooked breakfast every morning (the Tipico). Malania and her entire family was a part of us for the next four days. She is also the one and only place you need to go to arrange any tour in Fortuna that you desire.
On the morning we left, we weren't just checking out of a hotel, we were saying good bye to friends, and our son to his Tia (Aunt) Malania. You could spend more money, and go to a hotel that will give you more glitz and amenities; for us, none of that can compare to the impeccable service and attention we received at Vista Del Cerro. We will be back one day!

  • Liked — The owners treat you like friends, not just another client
  • Disliked — There's nothing not to like
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Loper051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

This hotel was great. Melania and the rest of the family are super nice, caring, and enthusiastic! They were helpful and wanted to make sure we had a terrific stay. They accomodated our every need. The room was spacious, had a great shower, AC, and cable TV. There is internet and phone access at the hotel. The pool is really cute and there is a spectacular view of Arenal Volcano. You can get breakfast for an extra 4 bucks from Melania's daughter right next store.

  • Liked — The owners are so nice and accomodating!
  • Disliked — The weather is very damp there during the rainy season. The AC was crucial in taking away the dampness of the room.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MAbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

We orginally booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for 4 nights!

This is a great motel style hotel with large, clean, air conditioned rooms with cable TV. It is just 2 km from La Fortuna which is only a $2 cab ride. The grounds are beautiful with a great pool with a small waterfall and a volcano view in the background - spectacular gardens too! The property is extremely well maintained and taken care of.

The family that runs the hotel is fantastic! Melania is great at arranging tours and giving advice on what to do in the area. Her daughter, Melanie, serves great breakfasts at the small cafe next door which is open for breakfast and lunch.

We were very glad we booked this hotel and would love to go back anytime!

  • Liked — Excellent service, great room and location
  • Disliked — close to road and can sometimes hear traffic - bring earplugs
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GreekHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

This is a great place to stay in La Fortuna - it's motel style and on the highway about 1 mile from La Fortuna.

The lady who runs it is a sensation. It is very clean, new, good air conditioning and good TV. You won't be troubled by the traffic and at $40 per night the value is exceptional.

Great base for visit to La Fortuna.

  • Liked — Value, facilities and staff
  • Disliked — 1 mile from town
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank onthegoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#36 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista del Cerro

Property: Hotel Vista del Cerro
Address: 2 miles west from la fortuna | (on the way to arenal volcano), Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista del Cerro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Cerro is located in La Fortuna San Carlos Costa Rica, one of the most wonderful areas of the country.We offer very comfortable and spacious rooms where you can enjoy the most relaxing rest, while admiring spectacular eruptions of the Arenal Volcano, from the commodity of your room. In addition, we offer nature lovers a large variety of activities such us the La Fortuna Waterfall, ATV tours to the Arenal River, hot springs, or the fascinating Caño Negro Wildlife Refuge and for those who prefer thrilling adventures we have Canopy Tours and White water rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vista del Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Cerro Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Cerro Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing