We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Hotel Vista del Cerro is a great little hotel for a great price. The room was spacious and clean with a wonderful little pool area. The owner, Melania, was very helpful with organizing local tours. I would highly recommend the canopy tour and the volcano/baldi springs combination tour! Breakfast at a restaurant next to the hotel was also included and was very good with an incredibly friendly owner. If you're looking for a clean and cheap hotel, look no further! One word of wisdom, do not leave any food out or you will end up with tons of little red ants!

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amychar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    86
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
88
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2008

This motel provided excellent service and excellent value for the $48/night double we paid. The room and balcony outside were so clean you could have eaten off the floor. The bathroom door locks from the outside, offering an extra level of security if you want to put bags in there during the day when you are out. Melania and her family are wonderful and go out of their way to make sure you have what you need to be comfortable. Coming from Canada, being able to access the Internet and call home free of charge was a real perk as our son was moving to the other side of the country whle we were away and our cell phone wasn't working. As Melania said "I provide this service because I know if travellers can call home and know that everything is okay they will have a much better vacation". So true.
The pool area is well kept and breakfasts served by John and his wife were excellent and included in the price of the room. The beds and pillows were comfy and the A/C was quiet and we had a magnificent view of the volcano from our room. We also made use of the grocery store across the street when we ran out of beer and wine. Very convenient!
My only issue is with the noise as the place is right on the highway. We were a bit surprised about the location when we arrived as we thought the place would be more off the beaten track from the hotel's web site. It was, however, convenient to everything and with a set of earplugs we slept well. We would definitely stay there again and recommend this hotel to others who want a clean, friendly and affordable place to use as a base.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendliness of staff, service and free calls to North America
  • Disliked — Traffic sounds
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aylmer_QuebecAylmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

The hotel is small, clean and very comfortable, with no bells and whistles, which is just what we wanted to fit our budget. We were very pleased with the accommodations, but even more so with the friendly staff and delicious breakfast included.

Melania and her family go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and at home. They can book all of your tours for you, and in most cases, can save you some money. This is what I recommend in low season, but perhaps in high season I would book in advance directly with the tour company -- just to ensure you get what you want, when you want. Melania booked a bungee jump for my brother and then she and her family came with us to watch him. It seemed that they were sincerely interested in making our stay as memorable and pleasant as possible.

Also worth mentioning is the wonderful restaurant next door that partners with the hotel. John, the cook, is outstanding and is extremely friendly. His meals were among the best we had while in Costa Rica.

I highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant and would definitely return should we ever go back to that part of Costa Rica.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and restaurant personnel
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ablove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

This hotel is basically a motel set on the main road through La Fortuna. The town is a dusty, touristy place not very charming. The hotel is about 2km away from town and a bit isolated if you don't have your own car. Being right on the main road it is quite noisy and despite being at the back of the small hotel we could hear the road. There is a nice little pool with jacuzzi out back, but this is very small and not secluded. Rooms are simple and bare, with a TV and 2 queen sized beds. Ultimately you get what you pay for and if your budget is ~$50 this is ok. However, you can spend little more $80-$100 and get a much nicer place further out of town.

  • Liked — Inexpensive
  • Disliked — RIght on the main road
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2008

This was a little oasis for us in Costa Rica. The room itself is very secure and clean. The cable TV was nice for those afternoons when it was raining. The hotel also has a nice pool and jacuzzi outside. The location is convenient between Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna, close to the hot springs, waterfall, and right across the street from a nice supermarket. Very easy to book activities, and most will pick you up right at the hotel. We rented a car, but would never rent a car in CR again. Better to use the bus and then let all the sightseeing/adventure operators pick you up at the hotel. Melania was very helpful and delightful to talk to.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ecorico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Sometimes you go on vacation to get away from it all, and end up stepping into a whole new world!

We felt as if we got a little taste of typical Costa Rican life, in addition to the usual tourist experiences. As others have noted, the hotel is owned and run by Melania and Gilberto as well as their several children, ranging in age from 6 to over 20! They really made our stay a memorable one!

First, after booking on their website, I received an email from Melania confirming the reservation. I asked about transportation from San Jose, and she was able to arrange a private taxi for our family of four to meet us at the airport. Although it wasn't extremely cheap ($30/person), it was reasonable for a private car. The alternative would have been public buses, which would have required us to make changes, etc...

Upon arrival, we were greeted at the airport by Manuel, the van driver. Speaking to him was enjoyable during the roughly 2.5 hour trip, and he pointed out various things along the way, and taught us a little bit about life in C.R. Being vegetarians, it was helpful to have him along, as he was able to explain to the waiter exactly what we wanted (it was delicious and filling!)

We arrived at the hotel, and were greeted by Gilberto. The room itself was basic but clean-- A/C, TV w/ cable, etc. There was also a nice view of the volcano from all the rooms, which was nice to wake up to.

As another poster mentioned, they have a MagicJack hooked up to their internet connection in the lobby, allowing for free calls to the U.S/Canada.

As soon as Melania arrived, we were able to plan out our next 3 days in Fortuna, and opted for the Zipline, waterfall, Canyon tour, hot springs (Ecotermales) and volcano tour. On the last night, we went to go see the lava, which was a memorable experience.

Breakfast was good, typical tico fare, and reasonably priced at a few bucks a person. We also had a lunch there on one occasion, as well as an evening snack.

The pool/garden area is fairly small, but lush and relaxing.

We also came very close to the family. On one occasion, the youngest daughter also accompanied us on the Canyon Tour!

The last day happened to be Costa Rica's independence day, although we were sad to miss out, since we were leaving in the morning. To our surprise, they had celebrations right in the middle of the airport terminal! That was a sight to see!

We would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a taste of typical tico life at a very reasonable price! We came as guests, and left as family!

  • Liked — Kindness of owners, view, value
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DesiTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville, nc
Level Contributor
290 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

The Tico family who own the hotel are excellent hosts and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. It is interesting to note that purchasing tours directly from the hotel is cheaper than going directly to the tour company. The hotel owners consistently offered us a better price than was available from other sources.

The rooms are clean and well maintained. There is air conditioning (which is not often available in this price range) and cable tv. The back of the hotel has a lovely garden with a pool and jacuzzi and gorgeous landscaping. The view of the volcano is excellent.

Breakfast can be included for a small additional cost at the restaurant next door which is also part of the family business. You can also get other meals there or in town which is only 2 kilometers away. The taxi to town is about $2.

We would happily stay there again.

  • Liked — the care of the owners for the place and the customer
  • Disliked — the noise on the street outside from vehicles
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank contradancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
146 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#35 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#43 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista del Cerro

Property: Hotel Vista del Cerro
Address: 2 miles west from la fortuna | (on the way to arenal volcano), Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista del Cerro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Cerro is located in La Fortuna San Carlos Costa Rica, one of the most wonderful areas of the country.We offer very comfortable and spacious rooms where you can enjoy the most relaxing rest, while admiring spectacular eruptions of the Arenal Volcano, from the commodity of your room. In addition, we offer nature lovers a large variety of activities such us the La Fortuna Waterfall, ATV tours to the Arenal River, hot springs, or the fascinating Caño Negro Wildlife Refuge and for those who prefer thrilling adventures we have Canopy Tours and White water rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vista del Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Cerro Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Cerro Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing