We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”
Review of Hotel Campo Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Campo Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Waxahachie
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My sister and I really enjoyed staying here- there are 10 private cabins, each with wonderful views of the volcano and surrounding area. The front office staff was so helpful in assisting us booking excursions and adventures! (and a massage) The breakfast staff was wonderful and attentive and you were given three yummy breakfast options to choose from. The little finishing touches on the bed and in the bathroom were nice too. Would definitely stay here again if we ever venture up this way! The room was very large and so was the bathroom!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    148
    19
    5
    9
See reviews for
102
199
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We enjoyed your stay at Campo Verde. The room was spacious and clean.
The breakfasts were really good and various. It was very surprising that everyday the room was cleaned and the clothes was tidy.
Attention: animals and birds wake up very early

@the staff : thank you for your welcome!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiknam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

this a great place to stay - but if you dont have a car its hard here to find food as you have to take a taxi each way into twon 13$ each way. amaxing views of arenal and great staff.

loved it but have to arrange taxis into town

A great tip I'd like to give out for anyone traveling to Costa Rica is the name of the tour operator we used - we used a gentleman named Erik Hidalgo who arranged everything for us from Tortuguero to Arenal to Monteverde for much less than any other tour operator I found and for less than I could have done myself including all transportation. This was for a family of 9 and some of it was rather last minute. He did a great job and we will use him again to come to Costa RIca - he can arrange anything anywhere- a life saver. - his company is CostaRica Trip guide 1-888-324-9326

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hemant n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Arenal Volcano! It was not fancy, but very clean. The view from our patio was amazing, and the hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating. It was a short drive from the Arenal Volcano Park. We booked a hiking tour with the hotel with a hot springs visit, and the tour arrived on time, and our tour guide was great!

Great place to stay, and very reasonably priced, compared to other hotels in the area.

If you are looking for fancy accomodations, this isn't the place for you, but if the view and atmosphere is important, definitely check this one out!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyM819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We loved the quiet cabin. It was spacious and so clean. Great location for all of the activities. Perfect breakfast for us. We were in cabin 6 which although it was in the back row, had a great view of the volcano. We would return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked with Campo Verde rather than one of the larger, "luxury" hotels in the area, and we couldn't be happier with our choice. Campo Verde felt like we had our own private house at the base of the mountain. The rooms are huge and well-maintained, and we loved sitting on our porch and watching the sun come up. Breakfast was also terrific. It's easier if you have a car (or have people pick you up for tours), since it's about 7-8km outside of La Fortuna, but other than that it's perfect. Also can't beat the price!

Room Tip: Try and get as far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jphmoney99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Incredible views at the edge of an active volcano. Monkeys swinging in the trees behind the hotel. Lots of flowers & birds. Comfortable and clean room. Breakfast could be a little better, but that was minor... Great deal overall. We'd stay there again (wish we were there right now).

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWithCaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
4.2 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Verde

Property: Hotel Campo Verde
Address: La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campo Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Verde designed for the enjoyment of couples and families, located right in front of one of the world's most active volcanoes, the Arenal Volcano, just 10 minutes from the beautiful village of La Fortuna. The hotel is run by their owners, distinguished itself by its dedication to responsible sustainable tourism, and its personalized, quality service and attention to detail, making all the difference in our customer’s satisfaction.Hotel Campo Verde is a place where life is the purest of nature, with spectacular views of both the volcano and the mountains that surround it. The guest can enjoy the majestic volcano from their rooms. The Volcano´s ash explosions and lava flows, at night, give the impression of fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Campo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campo Verde Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing