We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Magic Mountain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Hotel Magic Mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Hotel Magic Mountain is at the foot of Arenal Volcano in La Fortuna. It is clean, and beautiful, with a wonderful view of the volcano. A buffet breakfast is also provided.There are many activities and tours that can be done right from the hotel.

If you are coming from Liberia, plan for a 3-4 hour drive. Have plenty of gas in your car, and drive during the day. The roads are pretty treacherous sometimes, and may not be good for people with back/neck problems. Pay attention to any signs. They are tough to see. The signs are few and far between. Have snacks, because there are very few places to stop to get food. It is cooler near the volcano, than at the beach. Have a jacket at night. Lake Arenal is not a small lake. You must go almost all around it, to get to the other side. There are good hiking spots between the volcano site, and Liberia.

Room Tip: Get a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    301
    94
    24
    14
See reviews for
188
325
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We had a suite with a jacuzzi and a great view of the pool and volcano. The jacuzzi took a while to warm up, but after that it was great. We also had a nice balcony. The bathroom was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. We were close to La Fortuna and not too far from the hot springs and the volcano. The breakfast was plentiful but usually cold or room temperature by the time we ate. The pool looked very nice but it wasn't really warm enough to swim in. Wi-fi is available in the hotel lobby only.

Room Tip: Definitely get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leahhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

As a woman traveling alone to a place I've never been, I felt perfectly safe. The staff was wonderful and very patient. I made a mistake and booked the same tour twice, they made every effort to rectify the situation and get me on another tour asap. The food was good but a little too salty in the main restaurant and a bit more expensive than I expected.The buffet breakfast was wonderful with plenty to choose from and lots of local fresh fruit. The spa was beautiful and the Swedish massage very relaxing as well as the mini facial. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizqueenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Check in was very smooth. Front desk staff spoke good english and were very helpful our entire stay. They called the tour company to verify tours we had arranged prior to arrival. The hotel was extremely clean. The flowers around the pool made for a beautiful view from our balcony. The breakfast was good and allowed us to eat authentic Costa Rican food. Hotel was quit and relaxing this time of year. I loved the glass elevator and the view of the volcano from this property. LaForunta seemed like a safe town and we were not bothered by people trying to sell us stuff or take advantage of us as tourists.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We got in around 1am, and there was no one at the desk, so security let us in room. He didn't speak any English but we got it figured out. There was no safe in our room, but after some issues with the door, decided not to bother to ask to switch rooms the next day. Rooms in the suite are very nice with jacuzzi in room (which we never used). the outdoor hot tubs were not very hot, but pretty. We really didn't hang around the hotel much in the three days we were there. One very nice gentleman at the desk (can't think of his name tho). The others not very exuberant. Breakfast was decent, but as someone else said, not much variety when you are there several days. I thought beds were very comfortable, and bathrooms large. They don't quite tell you on the brochures that the volcano only comes out to be seen 70 days a year. We caught a glimpse of it while on a hike, but not from the hotel. (ok, one night with a full moon we see a great shadow of it.) We went on two GREAT excursions including one on a hike around Arenal that then took us to The Hotsprings where we soaked and had dinner. HIGHLY recommend that one. And then went on a hanging bridges tour of the rain forest. Who can complain about such a lovely area! We really liked La Fortuna and wished we had gone into town more than just one night. We ate at Nenes? I think and it was off the beaten path but worth it. Try the Heart of Palm salad! It was end of rainy season, but seemed to clear up in the afternoon. Not very many people around that time of year tho, so that was a bonus! We didn't drive in Costa Rica, and are really GLAD we didn't. Doesn't seem to be many rules of the road and they are narrow and winding!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coppermoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This hotel is not a "showy" place but it is very nice and clean. Ants will not be a problem if you ensure all food is closed and sealed.
We had a Volcano view from our Junior Suite (which had a jacuzzi in the room). The view was wonderful!! We ate the buffet breakfast in the hotel every morning and it was good, however it was the same food, every other day. One day scrambled eggs, the next day poched eggs, then back to scrambled the next. The bed was wonderfully cozy to snuggle in after a long day.
The hotel is within walking distance to the town of LaFortuna (and a grocery store which was a big plus!).
. If you take a cab to town, the ride is only $3. The local soda's have amazing Costa Rician food! We had the best meals at La Tipica and Los Nemes (?). The locals are very friendly and helpful and most do speak English. American money and credit cards (Visa) are accepted.
We booked our tours through the hotel and our guide "HIDO" was very knowledgable and alot of fun! We actually requested him for another adventure the next day. The Bali hot springs are one of the best.
I would recommend this hotel and would return for another visit!

Room Tip: Get a Volcano view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I stayed here for three nights for vacation with my husband. My main complaint is that the sheets and pillows on the bed had a off smell also the bed was very uncomfortable. The view of the volcano is amazing and the location was great. We had no wireless internet in the room as mentioned in the website.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,688 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing