We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view of Arenal volcano and comfy beds!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of Arenal volcano and comfy beds!!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part o the Caravan tour of Costa Rica. The hotel was clean, comfortable with a wonderful pool area and fantastic spa!! The massage was perfect for winding down after a day of climbing and the hanging bridges!! A short walk to the supermarket and some incredible woodworking shops made this stay even more enjoyable. The view from our room was incredible and only would have been better ad the cloud cover lifted earlier in the day. A short distance to the hot springs at Baldi made our stay in Fortuna even more enjoyable. Caravan Tours rock.

Room Tip: They all face the volcano!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeDana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    317
    96
    25
    14
See reviews for
199
339
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

You may have fun at a picnic, but you still have to put up with a few flies. Magic Mountain is just the same. It is nice and very clean but over the course of our three day stay we found several irritants that took away from the magic. We were in room 301 on Feb 15-18, 2012. There was no hair dryer, even though it was listed as an amenity. There were no instructions on how to use the room safe; nor did the front desk want to send anyone to our room to teach us. The room key worked intermittently and we heard other people ask about their keys not working too. Their was one lamp at the bedside-apparently my husband does not get to read at night-I moved the lamp to my side of the bed. Also, the lamp and the clock were not plugged in, maybe that is a cultural thing to not plug in electronics until you use them. Two light bulbs were burned out in the room and one in the bathroom which made things quite dark at night. The hot tub wasn’t hot. The drain in the bathroom didn’t drain. No tissues in the room, no literature regarding the restaurant or pool hours. We asked if the pool was open, the front desk said yes but actually discouraged us from using it; it was 2pm in the afternoon, he did not offer pool towels that were directly behind him. The room was clean and tidy. The pool area was beautiful and the landscape lovely. If you have binoculars scan the trees for tropical birds. We are not birders but found several bright birds worth watching. The breakfast buffet offerings changed daily but overall the food service was average even with a few local items. One morning the restaurant was not ready for breakfast and they turned us away; they opened about 10-15 minutes late. We did not eat lunch or dinner at the hotel restaurant and preferred the restaurant next door called Delicatessen. We ate three meals at Delicatessen and really enjoyed local dishes. This hotel is overpriced and over-rated. I would gladly have spoken to the front desk but the list was getting so long it became apparent that management choose to operate the facility this way.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captain_parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is a nice, mid-priced hotel in the area offering great views of the volcano from all of the rooms. All of the rooms have balconies or patios. Our room was on the third floor and although not spacious, it was well maintained and large enough for the two of us. The staff was polite and helped us book a safari float trip but didn't seem to be completely knowledgeable about the area, such as the location of the #1 ranked restaurant. (NY Grill). The hot dishes at breakfast were served from a buffet and were subpar. We also had difficulties getting clean coffee mugs one morning. Our biggest complaint though were the very uncomfortable lounge chairs at the pool which made it difficult to enjoy the pool. Since this problem has already been mentioned by others, one would think the owner would take action, if no other reason to encourage cocktail purchases from the swim-up bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnGalt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The staff was very attentive to our needs, Although there were a few issues they were resolved quickly. We had a safe that did not work a few times but each time they would come to replace or fix it. The pool area was lovely and the rooms have Volcano views. Also, the hotel is situated in a nice area between the town and the hot springs. All the activities are just a stone throw away. The room was spacious with balcony and large bathroom. Breakfast was very good. Rooms were very quiet. WIFI in the lobby along with a computer. The hotel is not large so there is plenty of room for everyone. Overall good hotel. We were three in a room and it was large enough for us.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertsTrvlTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I am in my late 20s and my husband is in his early 30s. This was our first adult trip outside of the US. We are beginners at traveling...so we don't know what things to pay attention to. WHat we can say: the front desk staff was friendly and informative. The room was clean, spacious, and QUIET. We really appreciated that because at another hotel during our vacation, there was always some sort of noise. The beds were comfortable and the curtains were thick enough to darken the room mid-day when we wanted to nap after ziplining. The bathroom in general and the vanity countertop aren't very spacious but we made use of the "shelf" under the bar where we hung our clothes. The view off the balcony was beautiful even while covered in fog and the pool/wetbar area were nice. The restaurant was great to eat in. I thought the food tasted fine (we ate breakfast buffet) and the fact that the reastaurant is open (no walls toward the back) to the rainforest gave it a certain ambiance that was quite welcome. our only complaint was that the hot tubs weren't hot. we really wanted to make use of them but each of the 3 days we were there, they were just lukewarm or even cold on some days and there was not control dial in site. Other than this, great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kepani816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed at the Magic mountain hotel January 3 and 4th, the front desk was very helpful cannot complain about room quality or service however on the 4th i opened and used my make up bag that was sitting on the dresser, we checked out at 5 am on the 5th and took private transportation to our next destination, in the mini van i went to use my make up and SURPRISE both of my estee lauder foundations 37.50$ each ( different shades almost new), my Mac primer 39.50$, and two almost new lipsticks from Mac 16$ each are missing!!!!!!!!! I emailed hotel they said they checked with housekeeping and they didnt find it in the room! I find it hard to believe I used my make up day before and now its gone! they refused to make it right and I am highly upset! besides that we payed 125 a night plus taxes almost 150$ and then paid another 28$ each to enter Baldi hotsprings which is an Arenal MUST! and then later found out that Baldis rates are only 150 a night double occupancy includes unlimited entrance to park and hot springs and is much nicer than Magic Mountain! I would NEVER reccomend Magic Mountain for any reason Stay at Baldi you will be happy and they may not appear on major hotel search engines i would contact them directly

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dovdorati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Hotel Magic Mountain is at the foot of Arenal Volcano in La Fortuna. It is clean, and beautiful, with a wonderful view of the volcano. A buffet breakfast is also provided.There are many activities and tours that can be done right from the hotel.

If you are coming from Liberia, plan for a 3-4 hour drive. Have plenty of gas in your car, and drive during the day. The roads are pretty treacherous sometimes, and may not be good for people with back/neck problems. Pay attention to any signs. They are tough to see. The signs are few and far between. Have snacks, because there are very few places to stop to get food. It is cooler near the volcano, than at the beach. Have a jacket at night. Lake Arenal is not a small lake. You must go almost all around it, to get to the other side. There are good hiking spots between the volcano site, and Liberia.

Room Tip: Get a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,505 reviews
2.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,883 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
7.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
817 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing