We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great value and view”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Room was clean and spacious, view was spectacular. Staff at hotel were all pleasant and helpful, would definitely stay there again and recommend to a friend. Pay a bit more and stay on the 3rd floor....well worth the small extra amount.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kiva09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    308
    95
    25
    14
See reviews for
193
331
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very clean with a standard room. The grounds are well maintained and the view of the volcano from your room is breathtaking! The food at the restaurant is okay but pricey. Nearby there are some local sodas but better dining can be found by taking a short cab ride into La Fortuna. We stayed over Christmas as a family and there was not much for the kids to do (young teens). We took a tour to Can Negro near the Nicaraguan border that was very well done through Desafio Adventures. Saw lots of wildlife on the tour but no wildlife near the hotel as it is in the middle of a town. I would probably stay on the outskirts of town for this reason although the view from our room was spectacular.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel located just outside La Fortuna was disappointing. The lighting in the rooms, especially the bathroom, was poor. Our ground floor room required us to keep the drapes pulled shut from the walking path outside. Because there was no pull wand or cord, our drapes had been pulled off the top track. We had to put a chair in front of the window to hold the drapes closed. They do not provide facial tissue and the toilet paper is poor quality. The reception personal were not helpful. The meals were average. Two nights here was a long time.

Room Tip: Go to a different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verene p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Enjoyed my stay here. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. The location and staff were great and the volcano view was amazing. I would definitely come back here again.

Cons. pool lounge chairs were very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lsime674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is well-maintained and very clean. All the rooms have a superb view of Arenal Mountain. There is a nice swimming pool with wet bar, situated in nice garden setting. The rooms are clean and must we well sound-proofed as we heard no traffic noise. There is a restaurant which we only used for breakfast but it was fine. Staff were attentive and if you wanted to do a tour, that could be arranged at the front desk. I chose the bird watching and it provided me the chance to see toucans and other beautiful birds. The hotel is well-located, an easy walk into the village of La Fortuna.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quentin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Staff is super friendly and accomodating. Rooms have great view of the volcano. The hotel has nice restaurant with great food. Free breakfast includes: fresh fruit, omlette station, sausage, pancakes etc. If you can, upgrade to the junior suite. These rooms have a jacuzzi inside. The pool outside is really clean and they also have a swim up bar. Hotel is right at the edge of town, so if you want some peace and quiet, this is the place to go! Have a great time...we really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel was perfect, food, customer service, the area, the place. Everything was excellent. I will always select this hotel when I will do to fortuna in Costa Rica. I will always recommend this place because this people really know.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the perfect view to the Arenal Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,287 reviews
2.0 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing