We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Costa Rica Volcano Arenal area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Costa Rica Volcano Arenal area”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel was superb. The view from every room was breath taking all rooms have a sliding door facing the volcano. the rooms are clean and there is plenty of room. the pool was excellent and the happy hour at the pool was magnificent. The lady bartender was very friendly and knowledgeable. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel but I recommend venturing out in the town to find a variety of foods. The restaurant does have a theme dinner, Mexican, Italian, etc.
If you want over easy eggs in Costa Rica you are not going to find them unless you motion to the cook to turn over the eggs. LOL. Costa Rica's best resource are its very friendly people.

Room Tip: Ceviche at Nene's restaurant is magnificent. Ceviche is a local delicacy consisting of shrimp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    307
    95
    25
    14
See reviews for
193
330
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location for being able to visit the national park and hot springs and also close to town making local restaurants and a local supermarket walkable. The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. The buffet breakfast was solid. Only negative was that the hotel rooms while clean were a little dated. The view of the volcano and hotel's accessibility made up for that but not the most plush rooms we've stayed in while in CR.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hotel was very clean, comfortable and a great value (of course, we were there in May). Balcony view of volcano and pool area is beautiful, unfortunately for us too many low clouds. Shower had good flow.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor for a better view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Magic Mountain in November, just 6 months ago, and enjoyed it so much we rebooked for this trip. Something has changed with management or ownership and this visit was not as enjoyable. First, I recommend you do NOT prebook. We originally booked 1 room for 4 people. On arrival we decided to get a second room, giving them extra business. Unfortunately, the premium for the room for 4 is not refundable, apparently because of the booking company commissions. On arrival they offer a complimentary drink and assistance with luggage. While this is great, staff should be aware of their guest to avoid overwhelming them - some people arrive very tired and or having to use baños. The first packet of coffee in the room is complimentary but we were told additional packets cost extra. What about a 1 night stay versus 3 nights? The room rates are the same! One day we asked the hours of a local hot spring company and we were encouraged to stay at Magic Mountain and use their services. Turns out the pool side bar service was closed because the bartender took a few days off. Meanwhile the adjacent restaurant servers were not busy and only started serving the pool area after we went and inquired. The room keys and or door locks need replacing - they fail quite a bit and it is worrisome if you arrive at your room after 10pm and there is no staff to assist. Towel and facecloths are not supplied in accordance with the number of people in the room. The elevator was not functioning properly and was not fixed after 3 days - visitors on the second floor could not go up to the 3rd unless you went down to the first. On arrival the wireless internet did not work. They worked quickly to fix it, however; by the second day it was so slow that I had to tether from my Claro 3G service to connect to servers to do some important tasks for work. Don't get me wrong, this is a lovely property with comfortable clean rooms and a view of the volcano. For this visit, they were either too busy or too short staffed to provide service we expected compared to a visit 6 months ago.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice clean rooms. Great view. Great breakfast buffet. Way better than expected. Tv's are a little small butt hey swivel and can be seen from anywhere in the room. Overall a great experience. Quick access to the volcano.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the jacuzzi. Its worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdJohnston33040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It's an excellent option for enjoying the activities in the area of La Fortuna and El Arenal. The staff was very helpfull. Thanks to them my friends and I could enjoy of the canopy lines at Sky Trek and Sky Walk. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rocio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We recently enjoyed a little family stay at this hotel. We got the junior suite on discount and I just had to ask to get a better price quote. Upon arrival we were greeted with a fresh juiced cocktail.

It's a good place to rest and relax, not too far from town and all the attractions in La Fortuna.

We'll go back.

Room Tip: The building has pretty good elevator so you can ask for a room on the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Santiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.0 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing