We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at Magic Mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good stay at Magic Mountain”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

The Hotel Magic Mountain is a clean, moderately priced hotel in the Arenal Volcano area. The rooms are probably on par with a Holiday Inn type room in the USA. They rooms are all very clean, perhaps a bit on the smallish side, but they all gave great views of the volcano (not the active side so you will not see lava flows). The location is terrific - literally a 3 minute drive to the town of La Fortuna. We also went to the Baldi Hot Springs, which were maybe 3 minutes in the other direction. So the location is great and if you do an organized excursion they will pick you up at the hotel anyway.

The pool was nice and they even turned on the heater for the jacuzzis. The breakast in the morning, which was included, was a full breakfast and that was a terrific perk. There is also a computer in the lobby if you want to check emails (free). So I would say that this is a great basecamp for those who want a safe, nice (but don't expect luxurious) room with terrific views and close proximity to both the Arenal Volcano and the town of La Fortuna.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    317
    96
    25
    14
See reviews for
199
339
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Magic Mountain Hotel was absolutely beautiful (and very reasonably priced). Rooms are large, comfortable and clean. Great swimming pool and jacuzzis (two). Staff was extremely nice to deal with and very accommodating; no insects whatsoever. AC, cable TV, modern bathroom, nice restaurant (breakfast was included). Really a great place, near the volcano,. hot springs and town.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My spouse and I found the hotel very clean, with a great swimming pool. We had it all to ourselves. Our room had a balcony, where we could sit out at night and watch the Arenal Volcano. The complimentary buffet breakfast was the best we have had in terms of choice compared to other hotels in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etkolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We traveled a total of 10 days and stayed at a total of 6 different hotels. I can honestly say that the entire group loved the Magic Mountain the best. The view was INCREDIBLE. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was quite good and the location was just a short walk from some restaurants and shops. It was an easy cab ride into La Fortuna and all of our excursions were very close by. The pool was really neat too, very beautifully landscaped. I loved that all of the rooms had a balcony and a great view of the volcano and pool area. There were 2 jacuzzi's as well. The pool closes at 10pm but they didn't say anything to us when we stayed past that. We were being pretty quiet though, out of consideration for the other guests. They have Wifi in the lobby as well as a free internet enabled computer that you can use. We ate at the restaurant one night and it was pretty good, very well priced. I really hope to go back to Arenal some day and I'd DEFINITELY choose this place again. I really cannot stress how amazing this place was.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyJ826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We loved this hotel! From the delicious breakfasts to the comfy room and balconies that overlooked the volcano--it was all magic from beginning to end. We had two suites, 505 and 506, which looked to be the best in the hotel and had a jacuzzi and wet bar. The staff was professional, friendly, and helpful. Erika booked our rooms and her father, Gabriel, picked us up at the airport. All wonderful! The food in La Fortuna and at the hotel was excellent--we all loved it. There is so much to do, and the rain forest is amazing and full of exotic life and sounds. You can swim at the pools near the waterfall, zip line at sky trek and view lava at night. The weather was clear our entire stay. My advice--go now and stay at this charming hotel. You'll love every minute!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripmama18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We loved the MM. The drive from SJ is not the best--the curvy roads were no fun. The hotel couldn't have come soon enough! We went by several hotels during our stay in Arenal. Many were further from town (closer to volcano) but we felt we were right at the volcano too and loved being so close to town. When we got to hotel we upgraded as was suggested on this site and glad we did. Our room w/jacuzzi, great view and bigger size was awesome and well worth a little extra. Pool was nice and enjoyed reading on the balcony with a really great view. Cloudy or clear, the volcano is beautiful. The welcome drink was good too. The upstairs bar with pool table was fun too. If you don't feet like going out or the weather is bad you can always eat up there and have some good food. The breakfast at MM was really good. The buffet had everything you could want, and if you ordered off the menu it was really good too. All in all it is a newer hotel that was great for us.

Went to town to eat pizza at Luigi's in town. It was really good and a good price. There is a tour stand right there and the man (Jimmy) that worked there was a great help in setting up our tours. We even needed to go to the bank and he walked us there. He also suggested going to the hot springs and we loved that too. There is always a debate here about which one to use (Tabocan, Ecothermal or Baldi) and he told us about the pricing and made recommendations. Tabocan was $85 inc buffet and Baldi $25 w/buffet. We just couldn't reconcile it being worth $240 more for our family. I'm sure Tabocan is great, but we loved Baldi. The springs were really neat and the kids loved the water slides. The buffet was just ok but still did the trick.

We ended signing up w/Jimmy to do the mambo combo with Desafio (canyoneering/rafting) while at Arenal. Without a doubt, the canyoneering was the coolest thing I've ever done (and I've bungee jumped, scuba dived, ziplined, etc). It was a truly incredible experience, and my husband and 13 and 9 year old boys totally agree. I'll never forget it. The rafting on the Balsa (class 2-3) was great too. A lot of family fun. Our guides were absolutely awesome. We especially loved Marvin in the canyon--he was fun, helpful and eager to get to know us and help. All the canyoneering guys were great. We felt totally safe and had a great experience. On our rafting trip, we were guided by Michol. He was a great guide and the leader of the group. We loved that experience too. We could have stayed longer in Arenal--totally loved it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cutler Bay, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Hello, just got back from our trip to La Fortuna. Wanted to share our feeling about our stay here as we have used this site to research for our trips and have always found real people reviews far more helpful than some of the guide books.

Let me start with there are abundant choices in this area for places to stay. While we were there, I'd say they were all 80-90% EMPTY!!! That surprised us and had me wondering why I didn't try to negotiate a better rate at some of these places. We went by The Springs Resort and it is magnificent!! The road up to it is another story. But it was nearly empty! We would have loved to stay there but there internet rates were too much for us. But I don't get why hotels would rather have soo many empty rooms instead of discounting their rate and getting traffic into thier hotel and having guest spend money on food and services there?!?!? Didn't make sense to me.

For us, I'd say Magic Mountain Hotel is about 3.0 - 3.5 Star Hotel. It was clean, the bed was firm and comfortable and the shower nice and hot. The service throughout was polite and friendly. The included breakfast was either buffet or made to order from a small menu and always quite good. In fact to our surprise our best meal in the La Fortuna area was at Magic Mountain for dinner one very stormy night that we decided to stay in and not brave the weather. By the way, we realized that you don't go to Costa Rica for the food.

Anyway, the hotel is solid in most regards but misses on some details. A few examples: in the shower there was only a liquid soap dispenser that trickled small amounts of soap for each jab. No Shampoo?! Towels were 'motel thin'. Also no tissue box, so if you had to blow your noise, you had to grab toilet tissue. Again, not a huge deal but an inexpensive detail that bothered us. The room, in fact all the rooms, have a terrific view of the volcano. There is a pool and seperate hot tub with that same view but both are small and not very intimate when every room looks down onto this area. It didn't seem like an inviting area to spend time if you wanted to stay on the hotel grounds. The room AC had to be turned on with your room key inserted into a power slot. So if you were out all day, once you opened the door to your room the hot, humid air was not very welcoming. But we understood the energy saving reasons for this and didn't mind soo much as the room did cool within a reasonable amount of time. The luggage rack provided was situtated to sit under a ledge that held the room safe but made getting things out from the luggage difficult because the ledge sat too low and thus you couldn't open your luggage without pulling it. Not easy when it's heavy, not on wheels and right by the entry way into the room , so narrow as well.

The hotel was a short 1.5 mile drive into the center of town with plenty of food and simple shopping options. Some hotels like Tabacon are quite far from town, and that Tree House Hotel is way off and in the middle of poor neighborhood. Those seemed considerably inconvenient for the sake of variety.

There is plenty to do in this area and many, many tour companies to choose from. We used Desafio and they couldn't have been nicer or more fun. Plus they will pick you up from your hotel. They made our trip to this area very memorable.

But getting back to this review, like I stated above, Magic Mountain was a solid "good", not great. If I came back to this area I would look for a hotel with hot spring access on the grounds and a choice of two or more place to eat. Some hotels have their zip line tours, that's a must-do acitivity and I'm sure cheaper for those guest staying at that resort. There just wasn't much to do at Magic Mountain outside of your room. It's not jaw-dropping property like The Springs but it's a third the price!

The lobby was small with a simple PC with internet access for guest to use. Nothing grand but again got the job done when wanting to communicate with home. Parking out front was fine and safe but would have definitely not accomodated a hotel with 50% occupancy rate.

So it's all a matter of what's important to you and your priority list. Good Luck! We'd definitely come back to La Fortuna.

Some factors to consider:
1. Budget
2. Proximity to center of town
3. If you have a car or will have to rely on Taxi service
4. Activities at the hotel location
5. Food choices at hotel
6. What factors are most important to you

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
2.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,435 reviews
7.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
821 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing