We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little bit overrated”
Review of Hotel Gran Arenal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gran Arenal
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a little bit overrated”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

after reading the reviews here (especially the last ones) i was a bit disapointed. this is a nice hotel but defenetly not the best. (i can't compare to other places in la fortuna but in comparison to other hotels we've been to in our trip)

first i must say - luis the owner is the best! he is the most helpfull and nice person we've met in this trip!

if you don't have a car location can be a bit of a problam - walkig to town takes about 20 minutes and most of the time it's extremely hot outside. other option is taking a taxi which costs around 2$

rooms are big and comfortable but no TV and decoration can use a little improvment

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting La Fortuna. It is tucked a way off of the main road, about 5 minutes outside of La Fortuna. It backs up to the owner's private farm, and has a breathtaking view of the Arenal Volcano from all areas of the property (when the clouds are not surrounding it). We were so impressed with the attentiveness of all staff members working on the property, and with the beautiful rooms each private bungalow offered. The rooms are air conditioned, there is free WiFi in the "lobby" cabana, delicious breakfast that you take with views of the Arenal volcano and surrounding region, hot showers and very clean bathrooms.

The rooms are very reasonably priced for similar establishments in La Fortuna; however, you can't beat the privacy and personality of the Hotel Gran Arenal. It feels exactly like rooms in Costa Rica should feel, and we will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Every room is exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlove17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta Ga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I have stayed in many hotels in Arenal including many 4 star hotels and the Gran Arenal is clearly my favorite. The view of the Volcano is perfect. The location seems peaceful and serene like you are 20 km away from town when you are really within walking distance. The cabinas are only like 2 years old and are all very nice and clean. There is more wildlife hear then anywhere else we visited. We say toucans, sloths and iguanas galore. The free breakfast is cooked to order and great. Luis will attend to your every need. And the rates cannot be beat. THIS IS DEFINITELY my go to hotel next time in Arenal. We were a family of 5 and had a tremendous amount of room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srockrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

La Fortuna is a great place overall and this hotel was amazing. The grounds were immaculate. Grounds keepers work on them all day and into the evening hours as they carefully work around the bunny rabbits! The bungalows have clean tiled floors, a rustic stone shower and clean comfortable beds. You have flowers and long hot showers. (Hey that rhymes!) The restaurant has a great menu, wonderful food and turned out to be one of the best values in the three weeks we were in Costa Rica! It had a buffet for breakfast with tons of great food which was included in our price. Dinner offered menu service which ended up being about $10 per person for dinner. A group of tourists in a big tour appeared to be eating even better!! (Costa Rica is fairly pricey for a Central American country which surprised us...don't be fooled into thinking it's a cheap place to visit!!) The pool was sparkling clean with romantic lighting, a small waterfall effect, a swim-up bar AND views of the smoking volcano! It had the OMG effect. You will love it.
Oh and even the gift shop had some nice values. I'm glad we purchased some things there and didn't wait for the rest of our trip (this was our second night in Costa Rica). The lady working there was as gracious as the ground keepers, the restaurant waiter, the breakfast server and the concierge! As you drive around La Fortuna, you will see many new, fancy hotels on large estates. Many of them may be very nice as well, but this place was excellant for a very reasonable price. We didn't get a chance to visit the Gran Tabacon Spa Resort and I wish we had, but all in all this place was just amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellHeeledTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

A 10-minute walk from downtown La Fortuna, this was a great place to stay! We stayed in a private villa for 5, which was very reasonably priced. The room was large, clean, and we had an all-around comfortable sleeping experience.

The grounds were neatly kept, and the pool was great. Breakfast served in a really awesome group dining area. Every place on the grounds had a view of the volcano.

The man at the front desk spoke immaculate English, and was exceptionally helpful, providing us with a map, restaurant and activity recommendations, and transportation arrangements.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shootahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This hotel is pretty far out of town, but a taxi into La Fortuna is only 2000 colones or so, or you can walk. I loved that each room is it's own separate house. Our room was nice and relaxing; there were flowers on the little table when we got there. The pool is nice- not very big, but certainly not small. Breakfast is included, which I liked a lot, but we had to wait for the eggs and rice and beans to be refilled every morning, and there wasn't always fruit.

The owner really cares, and it shows. Also, he speaks perfect English, which is not that common among hotel owners in Costa Rica, as we found out.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embabe514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

This place is AWESOME! The man that runs the place really made our stay special. He went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. He even took time to show us some wildlife in the hotel grounds. We even saw a sloth!

The cabins were large, they had 2 queen beds! The rooms and bathrooms were spotless. There is even a refrigerator in the room. The swimming pool and breakfast area have a GREAT view of the volcano.

If you are going to visit the Arenal, I cant recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevodadevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rabfer
Hotel Arenal Rabfer
#43 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Volcan
Hotel El Volcan
#53 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#34 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
#20 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Arenal

Property: Hotel Gran Arenal
Address: 1.3 Km North of National Bank, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Number of rooms: 319
Also Known As:
Gran Arenal Hotel
Hotel Gran Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing