We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gran Arenal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gran Arenal
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GREAT place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

A 10-minute walk from downtown La Fortuna, this was a great place to stay! We stayed in a private villa for 5, which was very reasonably priced. The room was large, clean, and we had an all-around comfortable sleeping experience.

The grounds were neatly kept, and the pool was great. Breakfast served in a really awesome group dining area. Every place on the grounds had a view of the volcano.

The man at the front desk spoke immaculate English, and was exceptionally helpful, providing us with a map, restaurant and activity recommendations, and transportation arrangements.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shootahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

This hotel is pretty far out of town, but a taxi into La Fortuna is only 2000 colones or so, or you can walk. I loved that each room is it's own separate house. Our room was nice and relaxing; there were flowers on the little table when we got there. The pool is nice- not very big, but certainly not small. Breakfast is included, which I liked a lot, but we had to wait for the eggs and rice and beans to be refilled every morning, and there wasn't always fruit.

The owner really cares, and it shows. Also, he speaks perfect English, which is not that common among hotel owners in Costa Rica, as we found out.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embabe514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

This place is AWESOME! The man that runs the place really made our stay special. He went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. He even took time to show us some wildlife in the hotel grounds. We even saw a sloth!

The cabins were large, they had 2 queen beds! The rooms and bathrooms were spotless. There is even a refrigerator in the room. The swimming pool and breakfast area have a GREAT view of the volcano.

If you are going to visit the Arenal, I cant recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevodadevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Our trip to Costa Rica started poorly, but the owner at Gran Arenal did every thing in his power to make it better. Our luggage was lost by the airline and we had no idea of when we would get it back. We traveled to La Fortuna with the promise that our luggage would follow. We arrived at the hotel late Monday night and checked in with no luggage. On Tuesday afternoon I spoke with the owner who advised that he would look after our luggage. He wanted us to go and enjoy our vacation. He called the airline and found out when our luggage would arrive. He also directed my wife to stores where we could buy interim supplies. He also offered to loan me his shaving kit. I think he was more upset that our vacation had started so poorly than we were. The hotel had individual cottages for us to stay. The amenities were comfortable and very clean. Our needs and questions were addressed as well as the staff could handle. The owner spoke fluent English... the staff not as much. We really should have brushed up on our Spanish before we left. We are planning a return trip. Amazing view of Arenal volcano

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfmcfade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

While travelling for two weeks in Costa Rica, this hotel provided us with one of the best experiences. First, the price is very reasonable for a room with two beds. An excellent breakfast is provided, and coffee in the afternoon. The location is close to downtown La Fortuna, as well as a short walk to Ecocentro Danaus, a beautiful nature center. The manager at the hotel was very helpful, even calling to book reservations for us for our various activities. But the absolute best part of our stay at the hotel was the view. Say good morning to Volcano Arenal from your bed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Nebraska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

I have to admit, we were pretty nervous as our taxi pulled into this hotel. It's on a gravel road out of town, surrounded by farms! However, we were pleasantly surprised as we walked into the complex of bungalows--so serene and quiet, with an A+ volcano view!

The groundskeeper was exceptional--worked all day tending the many exotic plants and flowers, and went out of his way to show us interesting wildlife (alligators, tiny frogs, sloths, Jesus Christ lizards!).

In addition, I really appreciated the way the staff handled an issue we had. We had booked a rafting trip one day, and the company never showed up! Through many phone calls, Luis and his staff tracked down the right people and sent us on our way rafting. They really went the extra mile to make sure we got the service we had paid for (and we hadn't even booked this excursion through the hotel!).

A few items to be aware of:
First, the HSIA was not working during our 3 night stay. (the SuperMega in town has free Wifi that we utilized instead!)

Second, the rooms are very simple, with no phone or TV. This was not an issue for us (who wants to watch TV when there is a giant volcano you can watch from your bed??), but definitely something to take into consideration.

Finally, the credit card machine was down during checkout. Luckily, we had enough cash on hand to scrounge up our balance.

Bottom line: come here for the gorgeous nature and friendly staff--not for the technology!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

If you are on the search for a great hotel in La Fortuna then look no further because Hotel Gran Arenal is it! I had looked at pictures reviews and pictures online, but once I arrived I saw that it is 10 times more amazing than I thought it could be. The landscaping is beautiful, the pool is beautiful, the breakfast area, front desk, hotel rooms- all beautiful. I'll break down my likes/dislikes below:
Dis-likes:
-1.3 km outside of town. I was planning on walking to town, but it's down a gravel road surrounded by farms. I ended up taking a taxi which only cost $3 (or $1 on one occasion...cabby was driving super fast!)
-Water pressure in the shower wasn't the greatest
Likes:
-Pool, landscaping, front desk, breakfast area, hotel room- all amazingly beautiful
-Luis, the owner, is super nice and helpful. He'll go the extra step to make sure your stay is perfect.
-the price/night is a great steal for what you get
-private porch with volcano view

When I return to La Fortuna I will definitly be staying at the Hotel Gran Arenal again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rabfer
Hotel Arenal Rabfer
#45 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Volcan
Hotel El Volcan
#53 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#34 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Arenal

Property: Hotel Gran Arenal
Address: 1.3 Km North of National Bank, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Number of rooms: 319
Also Known As:
Gran Arenal Hotel
Hotel Gran Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing