We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, not very charming or fancy. If you can, book the bungalow.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at this small hotel along the road to the Arenal Park. The place is spotlessly clean, but without charm. Great views of the volcano, but many other places here have the same view. Take the bungalow if you can. I would spend a little more money next time and stay at a more charming place.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. We chose it based on lonely planet and liked the location and the rooms. The hotel stuff was very helpful with information and any request we had.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Our large family (8 people) stayed for 3 nights. A week earlier 1/2 of our group had stayed at this hotel and received a free breakfast for each person as was advertised. This second week with a larger group, not only did we pay more for the rooms ($70/night) because of the large number of people (which is fair), but we also had to pay per person ($10/pp) for the breakfast which a week earlier was free. We did not get any specials like free breakfast, 3 nights for 2 or anything else. Otherwise the view of the volcano was awesome, rooms clean, and breakfasts filling.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mexi-Can8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Went with my family (hubby and 2 kids) and I'm always looking for great value at a great price......and found it at this little hotel. Although very small (only 11 rooms) and rooms are very basic, it served our needs to the tee. We had 2 double beds, small TV and A/C, room very clean and tidy. The pool was not very big but it was very clean and temp was great. The view, to DIE for.....right in front of the volcano!!!! The day we got there, the volcano was covered by clouds, but the morning after had an awesome, complete view.....it was smoking!!! Only complaints (which we did bring up to the manager) were that the WI-FI needs to be fixed (as I could only use outside of the room) and that the hot water was not working well (apparently there was a switch and had to have hubby stand-by to keep switching it back on while we showered). Otherwise, breakfast was delicious and the service.....SUPERB!!! Pablo, manager on duty the morning we left, was so nice, full of information and very open to opinions to better the hotel for future guests (i.e signs stating wifi availablity, putting phones in room , etc) I would definitely recommend and I most certainly would stay there again when I go back to Arenal.

Room Tip: Ask manager about excursions.....they give at discounted prices!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jg10304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed here for a night due to a great package deal that they were offering at the time. Rooms very clean, not much to them, but very nice. The Staff were SUPERB!. Only gripe, when we checked in, we were the only people in the place. Later that afternoon, 3 people checked in, and they put them in the room right next to ours. Of all the 10 or 11 rooms that are in this place, they had to be right next to us?!? Personally, I thought that was in poor form, especially as they were loud and obnoxious (in my opinion).
That being said, we still enjoyed our stay, mainly due to their Staff and the restaurant Benedictu's, which is joined to this motel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABall518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Beautiful rooms, great hot water, view totally incredible. We negotiated breakfast with room and we were glad we did. Like living in a beautiful garden with a nice pool. Wi fi router could use a more powerful one . Very friendly staff I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I loved the Sueno Dorado! The staff were super friendly, and helpful. The attached restaurant, Benedictu's Steakhouse was fantastic, with an awesome staff, and great food! My room was very clean. The location has an AMAZING view of the Arenal Volcano. I woke up every morning, and Arenal was just outside my door. Walking distance to the amazing Baldi Hot Springs. For the price, this place is fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadb1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.6 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
87 reviews
5.8 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#19 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,482 reviews
4.4 mi away
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#30 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs

Address: West Of la Fortuna On the Way To the Arenal Volcano 5 km | 5 km west of la Fortuna on the way to the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sueno Dorado Hotel)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 59 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £75 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are facing the imposing Volcan Arenal in Costa Rica, surrounded by lush nature and places very close icons attraction is as hot Baldi, places Kalambu Water Park, where exotic animals are observed in the incredible tropical vegetation that characterizes us, enjoys a great view of the volcano with our warm hospitality, spacious and comfortable rooms offering amenities to rest and relax in our pools thermo-mineral waters volcanic owned and taste of our food high in our beloved Costa Rica ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing