We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Okay stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Our waterfall shower had issues with warm water and we had to take off the toilet lid to plug for water. We also had frogs in the bathroom since there were holes in the roof. There are cool features but the room was just not maintained... The pool is hot springs which isn't nice in hot humid costa rica weather. The guys at the front desk were awesome and recommended great tours.

Room Tip: $65 zip line tour was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraMaeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    325
    129
    41
    36
See reviews for
326
675
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Mountain Paradise for our honeymoon in the Arenal/La Fortuna area. We had alerted them ahead of time (when we booked) that it was our honeymoon and that anything they could do to make it special would be appreciated. When we got there, we were warmly greeted on check-in by Daniel who kindly escorted us to our room, brought our bags and made sure we knew where everything was in the room. Since it was our honeymoon, they laid out a beautiful display on the bed with towels shaped in a heart and flowers on the bed. A really nice touch.

After eating at the on-site restaurant (which you really can pass on, plenty of better options at a lower price if you've got a rental car) we went back to the lobby where Daniel kindly booked all of our tours for us for the week.

He provided top notch service for us our entire stay. He was attentive, always willing to help, even helped us coordinate some laundry service the night before checkout to make sure it was ready for us the following morning. He sets the standard for how a host should perform.

The rooms are huge (we had a master suite) and really shouldn't be considered "rooms", they are more like personal villas. No complaints at all about the accommodations.

Two things I would ding them on are the restaurant, food wasn't very good, overpriced and uninterested service and housekeeping was inconsistent. They did a good job of maintaining the rooms, but there were two occasions that we went out in the morning for a tour/activity and came back mid-late afternoon and the rooms weren't cleaned yet. After calling it was taken care of quickly but the expectation was that we shouldn't have to call to get the rooms cleaned.

Overall, we fully enjoyed the hotel and the location. Great view of the volcano, overall a great staff (especially Daniel) and a place we will visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Master Suite, ask for a volcano view and let them know of any mobility challenges. The pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaldrichl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Hotel can use some upgrades both in facilities and staff training. First, the location is beautiful and the rooms are decent. However our room required a good thorough spring cleaning. The air conditioning vents had thick layers of clearly visible dirt. The walls were riddled with dead insects left over from prior visitors. The remote controls for the tv, aircond, lights were filthy. I can see that they were trying to go for that exotic look but they failed to think through the final details. For example the glass shower doors would bang against each other loudly each time it was closed. A simple small 1cm clear bumper less than 50 cents would have solve the problem. The staff and service was hit and miss. My biggest gripe : no wifi access except for the restaurant. The wifi access shows up on all of my devices but I couldn't get in. Other guests I've talked to had the same problem. For some of us, Internet access in the room is an important amenity. I've asked the several staff for assistance and they seemed indifferent, as if saying "why do you need wifi in your room anyhow?" staff service is hit and miss. Front desk was very friendly. Bartender at the pool always seemed cool and aloof. Not rude, just bored. Or too busy watching the playoffs. Maid staff and the shuttle drivers were friendly and good. Restaurant guy was good but good luck asking for room service; we asked for a ice bucket and had they put us on hold forever. We then had to call back after 20 minutes and they seemed really bugged by our request. Mind you this isn't a large property with lots of rooms. They were not that busy. Even if they were busy, we should be able to get some ice without any attitude. When the ice was finally delivered the guy couldn't wait to leave or some reason, even when we tried to tip him. Overall, this property has great potential but needs serious improvement in hotel management department. Summary: 3 stars at most just for the location and the lush gardens.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chubb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Wow!....this place is stunning.....beautiful rooms and grounds. The whole family loved it. The only regret is wishing we had more than one night here. Big comfy beds, waterfall in the bathroom, breathtaking views.....I want to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msaprilx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is a beautiful property, with amazing volcano views, wonderful tropical gardens and lovely rooms that include a private porch. Unfortunately, the management of Mountain Paradise is somewhat lacking. The staff is unfriendly- rarely making eye contact or greeting you. We had the maid call our room at 9 AM to ask if we were going to be out soon so she could clean.( WE were not checking out that day)
For a country that prides itself on "green", the constant racing around on a very noisy,smelly GAS
motor golf cart by staff took away from the concept. The buffet breakfast is delicious, but otherwise can be very pricey.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkansascouple31931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

It was a great relaxing stay with the family (4 days). The rooms were great (spacious).. the bathrooms superb. Having our own heated private pool was the exclamation point.

The location of the hotel is fantastic.

All around great hotel for the price.

Room Tip: We selected a two room suite with a magnificent view of Arenal Volcano. Next to our room was a field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JA_Pardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We spent four nights in a master suite (2 bedrooms/2 baths) with private pool and excellent views of the volcano. The setting is beautiful. Dinner was pricey, but there are plenty of other options relatively close by. The breakfast buffet was good and had a nice variety.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowdy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,435 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,323 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing